We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
2345 N US-31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Add Photo Write a Review

1,221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    778
    313
    89
    22
    19
See reviews for
334
599
27
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1221)
  • Mar-May only
    (428)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (308)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (227)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (258)
All months
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for 2 nights just prior to the 4th of July holiday. Rooms were very clean and spacious. It seemed as though a 3rd chair could have been added in the corner of the room to allow for 3 people to sit on something other than a bed. Breakfast was good and offered a nice variety. Although the weather... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ubly, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall my stay at Cherry Tree was nice. I felt some of the "extras" were a little overpriced such as the movie rentals and the wood bundles for the fire pits. I was traveling alone, Jim and Henry at the front desk made my stay a lot more fun by helping me to find some different things to do. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A clean hotel and friendly staff. Kids enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools. Everyone enjoyed breakfast, but the room seemed small for the number of guests staying there. Also, was surprised by the amount of plant life in the water and that the beach was mucky.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good morning and Happy 4th of July! Thank you for your stay! I'm glad your kids had a great time in our pools and enjoyed our breakfast. We are proud of the diversity of our beach - having a great sandy area above with fire pits, lounge chairs, and a kids playground and having a lower natural area that is... More 

Quinnesec Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice ...the hotel was located on the north end of town..so we ran into it as soon as we entered town. No need to drive all over the place ...clean comfy rooms...newer mattress ...chocolate chip cookies and hot tea... nice quiet room on the 4th floor. Loved it..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good evening! Thank you for your stay. It's great to see you had a comfy stay and you liked our location. Clean, comfy rooms are very important, of course, but I find the chocolate chip cookies are most important! :) Have a wonderful summer! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager More 

Chicago, Illinois
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice place, and we look forward to coming back soon! One thing that we loved the most was the balcony facing the water. We had a top floor suite and soaked in every minute we could sitting out in our balcony!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your stay and your trip up from the Windy City! Glad you soaked up the views from you top-floor suite. We'll be happy to welcome you back to our great town! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager More 

Taylor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For the amount of money I spent on the hotel I was expecting a nicer beach area. Everything else about the hotel was fine. I would of thought the actual beachfront would have been larger than what it was. The lack of grills and a picnic area was disappointing. As was the up keep on the beachfront.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good evening! Thank you for your stay and your review. I'm glad you enjoyed everything about our hotel except for our beach. We're proud of the part of our beach which is a natural wetlands area. This is a federally and state protected area with heavy restrictions of what we can do to it. While we do keep it clean... More 

Wheeling, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The check in staff was courteous and answered all of my questions. The room was very clean and up to date. The bedding was new. My family and I really enjoyed the breakfast. The waffles and cherry topping was yummy! Cherry coffee and cookies 24 hours a day was a nice treat. We did not use the pool but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good evening! Thank you for your stay. I'm glad that the Cherry Tree Family was courteous and answered all of your questions well. I like the cherry topping, too, but don't tell others! :) Thank you again. I hope you have a wonderful Fourth of July! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager More 

Park Ridge, Illinois
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We very much enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and engaging. Jane was great with offering tips and suggestions during our stay. The manager, Jonathan, went above and beyond to take care of the hotel guests. Beautiful water views. There are no restaurants at the hotel but the hotel is only a few miles to the downtown area. My... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good evening! Thank you so much for your getaway to TC and our hotel! I'm happy that you Jane and the team were so friendly and engaging (one of my favorite things to say to them is, "Don't just say, "Hi," and "Have a good day"! ENGAGE the guest. Find out what they are doing in the area; find out... More 

Livonia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was very nice and clean. We had a basic room, but did have a balcony that overlooked the water. Beds nice, bathroom clean, coffee in room and also a fridge and microwave, although we didn't use them. Very loud ac/fan that I turned off to sleep. I would be disappointed if I came here to spend time at... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good evening! Thank you for your stay and your review. I'm happy that you enjoyed the room and our cleanliness. We do have 400 feet of water frontage. The lower portion is a federally and state protected wetland that we are unable to add sand or do much other changes to it due to heavy restricitions, though, we still offer... More 

Ann Arbor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall I was pleased with the stay for a family vacation. The room was average size for a suite with second room for the master bedroom. The room could definitely use updating, but was clean. The lighting in the bedroom was poor (light blocked by opened door) and poor air circulation in the bedroom, which became quite warm overnight if... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good evening! Thank you for traveling to T.C. with your toddler. I'm happy that you enjoyed our amenities, but I'm sorry for that room you had. It sounds like you had one of our Walloon Lake Suites. We are working on ways to improve the air circulation in those. We do have 22 different room types that I think you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

811 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (188)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
2:14
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (570)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Elk Rapids Studio (48)
Viewed
Harbor Springs Suite (70)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (22)
Viewed
Leelanau Suite (69)
Viewed
Leelanau Suite with Wraparound Balcony (65)
Viewed
Mackinac Island Suite (81)
Viewed
Mountain Studio (54)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)
Viewed
Wood Suite (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay