We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City

1870 N. US Hwy 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3746 (Formerly Super 8)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    17
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
22
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in town for the Bayshore Marathon, so we were only spending one night here. We probably would not have stayed here for 2 nights. The room was fairly clean, but the chair had several large stains on it, not sure what they were! Also the outside screen to our window fell out, so we couldn't really keep our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

We stayed here a few years back. It was originally a Super 8 but it's now a Borders which is a definite upgrade. The rooms are still small but their are updated and clean. During our stay the road was undergoing major construction so we got an awesome price. They have the usual free breakfast but because of the small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

The room itself was comfortable and clean enough. The hotel calls itself 'pet-friendly' yet you must stay with your pet the entire time, which it does not advertise on the website. You must sign something saying you agree at check in, this needs to be on their website. Who goes on vacation and wants to stay in the room the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Would you mind letting me know what website you booked through? We do try to make sure that all guests traveling with pets make advance arrangements with the hotel before arrival. At that time we do inform guests of our pet policies. If the request for advanced arrangements wasn't conveyed through the site... More 

Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

The site mentions it was newly remodeled, however everything from the front desk to our room was anything but new. We had a chair in our room was stained and gross. The television was placed on a wall so that the only way to watch it was to sit on the floor at the foot of the bed. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - we will use it to help make our property better! We do have an ice machine on first floor right next to our Pepsi and snack vending machines. We added it in January of 2015. More 

London, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We booked two rooms. They were both clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but was good for the money charged. The rates were great. Breakfast was nothing special but was more than expected. There was nothing wrong with it at all. Friendly staff and quick check in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your time in Traverse City! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

The Hotel Staff were very rude, and disrespectful to my husband!!! I walked through the lobby to take my puppy out and the cleaning assistant said she wanted to ding my car because the exhaust was too loud. I alreted my husband to this. We left shortly after to go to the mall which pets aren't allowed, we left our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do our best to make sure that all of our guests are happy and comfortable in their stay. More 

Richmond, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

A great value, great room, very nice, clean, good amenities. would stay here again totally! We were quite pleasantly surprised at the value and niceness of the place! Front desk was friendly. Didn't make breakfast though, as it went from 6-9am, but otherwise it was super nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! More 

Kalkaska, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I rented the room with the jacuzzi tub. It was spotless. The bed was so awesome. It has the nicest pillow top I have seen since the Hyatt on the River in lower Michigan. The breakfast was wonderful as well. There is no pool, and the elevator must be waiting for its renovation, but the room was wonderful. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review

Thank you! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you visit us again soon! More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We stayed at this motel for one night. The front desk staff woman was incredibly rude and was threatening to call the police due to us being 1 hour past check out time. Very rude way to end our stay. Plus, there was hair in the jacuzzi tub and the tub in the bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review

08niejac- Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do try to accommodate late check out requests to the best of our availability. I am sorry you feel the situation with your stay was handled inappropriately - please feel free to contact me to address your concerns in greater detail. Thank you- Cindy R. General Manager More 

Boyne City
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

The title says it all. If you are looking for a boutique hotel with all the pampering and amenities, then keep looking. If you are looking for a clean room with a clean, comfortable bed-then this motel will fit the bill. Traverse City can be pricey and many inexperienced visitors have unrealistic ideas of price vs. value. This motel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay