We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City

1870 N. US Hwy 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3746 (Formerly Super 8)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
22
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room itself was comfortable and clean enough. The hotel calls itself 'pet-friendly' yet you must stay with your pet the entire time, which it does not advertise on the website. You must sign something saying you agree at check in, this needs to be on their website. Who goes on vacation and wants to stay in the room the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Would you mind letting me know what website you booked through? We do try to make sure that all guests traveling with pets make advance arrangements with the hotel before arrival. At that time we do inform guests of our pet policies. If the request for advanced arrangements wasn't conveyed through the site... More 

Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The site mentions it was newly remodeled, however everything from the front desk to our room was anything but new. We had a chair in our room was stained and gross. The television was placed on a wall so that the only way to watch it was to sit on the floor at the foot of the bed. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - we will use it to help make our property better! We do have an ice machine on first floor right next to our Pepsi and snack vending machines. We added it in January of 2015. More 

Travelers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

London, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We booked two rooms. They were both clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but was good for the money charged. The rates were great. Breakfast was nothing special but was more than expected. There was nothing wrong with it at all. Friendly staff and quick check in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your time in Traverse City! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

The Hotel Staff were very rude, and disrespectful to my husband!!! I walked through the lobby to take my puppy out and the cleaning assistant said she wanted to ding my car because the exhaust was too loud. I alreted my husband to this. We left shortly after to go to the mall which pets aren't allowed, we left our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do our best to make sure that all of our guests are happy and comfortable in their stay. More 

Richmond, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

A great value, great room, very nice, clean, good amenities. would stay here again totally! We were quite pleasantly surprised at the value and niceness of the place! Front desk was friendly. Didn't make breakfast though, as it went from 6-9am, but otherwise it was super nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! More 

Kalkaska, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I rented the room with the jacuzzi tub. It was spotless. The bed was so awesome. It has the nicest pillow top I have seen since the Hyatt on the River in lower Michigan. The breakfast was wonderful as well. There is no pool, and the elevator must be waiting for its renovation, but the room was wonderful. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review

Thank you! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you visit us again soon! More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We stayed at this motel for one night. The front desk staff woman was incredibly rude and was threatening to call the police due to us being 1 hour past check out time. Very rude way to end our stay. Plus, there was hair in the jacuzzi tub and the tub in the bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review

08niejac- Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do try to accommodate late check out requests to the best of our availability. I am sorry you feel the situation with your stay was handled inappropriately - please feel free to contact me to address your concerns in greater detail. Thank you- Cindy R. General Manager More 

Boyne City
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

The title says it all. If you are looking for a boutique hotel with all the pampering and amenities, then keep looking. If you are looking for a clean room with a clean, comfortable bed-then this motel will fit the bill. Traverse City can be pricey and many inexperienced visitors have unrealistic ideas of price vs. value. This motel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oregon, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

This hotel was one of the only places with rooms left. The room was in need of updating, it was clean enough but other hotels provide much nicer rooms for the same price. Pet friendly came with an additional charge and did not allow pet to stay in room while we went to dinner. Had it not been so busy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We stayed there on Oct 11, 2014. Halls are filthy. Bathroom tub was grungy. Room was subpar. Never took my socks off, not even to sleep. Will never stay there again and would never recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay