We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast

Hotel website
244 E. 8th Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much at this beautiful old home. It immediately reminded me of the house I grew up in. We felt very welcome as we arrived, and while our room was small, it was dominated by a gorgeous four poster bed that was extremely comfortable. Breakfast each morning was delicious and Julie was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank nostromo53
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

Disappointed in the amenities but it is walking distance to downtown which is the draw. Hammond Room is tiny, poorly decorated, and rather hodge-podge in construction. I would stay here only if you can't find anything else. Breakfast was OK, good juice both days.

Helpful?
1 Thank J W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

I can't begin to describe how great the location is. Walking distance to all of downtown Traverse City. But that's not all. The manager, Julia, was sweet, and extremely helpful (she was willing to bake a cake for my wife's birthday at a VERY reasonable cost...and it was AWESOME!). The common areas of the house had a kind of earthy,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey M
Franny B, Manager at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It was so much fun to be part of the surprise party you arranged for your wife! More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Oviatt House was the perfect bed and breakfast experience for first-timers. The host Franny is AMAZING, so friendly and makes you feel so comfortable. The breakfast is amazing and big, with many options. Be sure to tell any food preferences/avoidances on your check-in. The house is located in perfect walking distance to downtown TC, and was the best possible homebase... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephmk777
FrannyBluhm, Manager at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Oviatt House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have central air, and you are right, the Lewis Room is poorly ventilated. To fix that problem, we have a stand alone air conditioning unit in the closet of the Lewis Room. Due to cool... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

From reading the other reviews, we were a bit unsure how this was going to turn out. In the end it was much better than expected! Franny was so awesome, that by the end of the stay we considered her our, "vacation Mom"! She was warm, friendly and super informative about places to eat and things to see. We stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael G K
TheGardener44, Manager at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review! You were a fun couple to get to know. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Franny O that runs/owns the place is a gem. She is as nice as it gets. Just wonderful. But the place itself is really pretty bad. Like no A/C. Which meant open windows or suffocate. Busy street with lots of car/motorcycle noise. And every room, including our room that had its own bath and entrance, had WAY too much furniture,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Eugene L
TheGardener44, Guest Relations Manager at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our home. We always appreciate guest input to help improve our business. To address your concerns, we do have central air conditioning, however, at this time of year we often turn the AC on and off based on weather. You may have arrived during an off period, and the... More 

Amherstburg, Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We were warmly greeted by Fran and she gave us a lot of handy information about the area. There is always coffee available and wine in the fridge. Fran warned me that the Hammond Room on the main floor was small but I was still surprised at how small it was. I wanted a room with a private bath so... More 

Helpful?
Thank nanbik
TheGardener44, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so make for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have remedied the overhead light and placed out wrapped soap for our next guest. Although unused, I can completely understand your trepidation. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Effingham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have B&B'd before, but have rarely had such a gracious stay. Every detail of our preferences and comforts was accounted for. We stayed the weekend of Cherry Festival (unbeknownst to us)--but were really there to pick our daughter up from Interlochen Summer Camp. We enjoyed the Langley Room, a second story room with a shared bath, which worked out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Altamom2014
TheGardener44, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to another visit from you next summer! More 

Monroe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience and it was awesome! We stayed in the Hammond Room which is on the first floor, has its own bathroom, and a very comfortable queen sized bed. The first morning we accidentally slept thru breakfast, but the Oviatt staff so kindly left us omelets and fresh fruit for when we woke up!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Annie L
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Hammond Room. We love to cook here at the Oviatt House, so it is nice to hear sincere compliments about the quality of our breakfasts. We look forward to another visit from you soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the last night of our honeymoon and had a wonderful time! This was our second bed and breakfast experience and we enjoyed the hospitality. It really did feel like she opened her home to us. We stayed in the grose room that had it's own bath and entrance. The room was very clean and we enjoyed all... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Greeneyedjeanne
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us. We appreciate when guests notice the small details and know the value in word of mouth advertising. We hope you will come back to visit us again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.2 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#30 of 41 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Four Seasons
#3 of 41 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 41 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities