We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mitchell Creek Inn

Hotel website
894 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686
Special Offer
Summer Special! Save 10%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mitchell Creek Inn
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Mitchell Creek Inn
Mitchell Creek Inn
Mitchell Creek Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    8
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
13
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A little overpriced, but clean and cool. The road it is on provides easy access, but as others have noted it is very, very busy and the entire area is a bit alienating to human beings - though, obviously, this is not the fault of the owners of the Mitchell Creek Inn! The welcome was friendly, the air conditioning plentiful,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

I spent 1 night here in June and was very pleased with my stay. I stayed in a 1 bedroom unit with 1 bed. The rooms are small but they are very well kept, clean and the comfort of the bed was perfect. I was a little nervous when I walked into the room thinking that I would get no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015 via mobile

I had a reservation for father's day weekend for my hard working husband and they did not have any rooms, said they were all booked! Not even an apology :-( they do not honor reservations. Very rude lady at the check in also.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda H, Owner at Mitchell Creek Inn, responded to this review

I apologize for the confusion upon your arrival. Unfortunately, there is no way to book the room though UPNorth Live online, where you recieved your special pricing. I'm sorry we got our wires crossed. However, I did provide a full refund of the purchase price you paid through UPNorth Live. I wish your weekend had gone as planned, and I... More 

Flushing
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Basic hotel for people who are looking for a place to sleep and take a shower. Very clean and conveniently located to everything in Traverse City. Will defiantly go back. Close to the road but I wasn't bothered by the noise even with road construction going on. Nice place. The only complaint I had was I couldn't connect to their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda H, Owner at Mitchell Creek Inn, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you for staying with us! I apologize for the problems that you experienced with the wifi. When you join us next, please reach out if you experience any issues. We want to resolve those as quickly as possible, because we understand the need to stay connected. We're looking forward to seeing you the next time you're in... More 

Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
320 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

This is a delightful, small, family-owned motel located right on U.S. 31 (this road is also MI 72 and MI 37) that looks out at the East Bay. When I say small, it is--it only has 15 units. It is located 3 miles east of downtown and is across the highway from State Beach Park which is a very nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Crown Point, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

No, it's not fancy. And yes, it's a motel so you can hear more road noise than if you were in a hotel. However, it was clean, comfortable and just right for our getaway. We didn't have a single complaint.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This reminded me of going to a bed and breakfast. It was a pretty view with Mitchell Creek running through the property. There was a grill out back that we used to cook dinner one night. Granted the rooms were not over the top or fancy, but I never felt like I needed more than what they gave me. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We found Mitchell Creek by chance one weekend and we are back for our 4th weekend this year! The owners, Dave and Amanda....are so kind! They keep the place neat and family friendly! This places biggest draw is it's value! Located within a few miles of downtown, you are close to everything at a fraction of the cost! Meet the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

I guess I would stay here again if other motels were not available. The rooms were clean and the owner was nice but being on the main highway was just too noisy for me. The traffic stopped about 12m-1am and resumed like clockwork at 6am.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saint Clair, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed in one of the rooms that had 2 double beds. It included a small kitchen which was nice, at tall dresser and the bathroom was small, not a lot of counter space, but was clean. One thing we noticed was that the toilet seat was broken, not that big of a deal. In the rear of the property... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.7 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,279 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cambria Suites Traverse City
Cambria Suites Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay