We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Traverse City

Hotel website
Hotel deals
417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Traverse City
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard Johnson Traverse City
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    180
    93
    44
    20
See reviews for
130
194
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (473)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (179)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Southgate
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great stay. The rooms were very affordable and accommodating to our needs. We stayed there in 2014 which made us come back. I have paid a lot more for much less at other hotels.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice location, lots of parking, friendly employees, very clean. Didn't even know howard Johnsons were still around but apparently they are and for good reason. Would recommend to anyone looking for good, close to town, clean, inexpensive motel rooms. Enjoy Traverse City! !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gladwin, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

The hotel room was clean but had a cube refrigerator but no microwave. I should have paid more attention when booking the room. Hotel staff were wonderful to work with which made up for the chintzy breakfast offerings. Cold cereal, oatmeal packets or donuts. We were on the ground floor and had an issue with people running around upstairs at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saginaw, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Everybody was a joy to talk too. They were so helpful when I needed something. The room was very clean, and loved the big shower. If you are just looking for a nice clean place and a great price, this is the place.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sylvania, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

The motel was very nice as it's been remodeled. We had several problems the unit that supplies heat close to the ceiling was difficult to get our room heated we froze the first night. Second day we get back from work the room was great, we get a call we have to room to another room they were having hot... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montague, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly. There are two things that I believe need improvement. The first, No fruit for the breakfast only cereal, bagels, and coffee. The second is there needs to be a lot better care of the sidewalks and steps. I have never been to a business where the steps were that poorly taken... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
TC-HJ, General Manager at Howard Johnson Traverse City, responded to this review

Our expanded continental breakfast is the best in town for meeting expectations with the best rate in the area to service all of our guests. In addition, we offer 10% discounts to various restaurants in the area. We have outside entrances to our rooms that we monitor and use ice melt to ensure safety on all of walkways and staircases.... More 

Whitehall, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

we were in town for the Microbrew and Music festival, great location 2 miles away from downtown (cheap cab ride there, we walked back), staff was friendly, rooms were nice and clean updated bathrooms, continental breakfast was real basic (better than nothing), for the price you can't beat it, we stayed closer to the festival last year and paid double... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
TC-HJ, General Manager at Howard Johnson Traverse City, responded to this review

Howard Johnson Traverse City rooms have all been renovated with most having nice walk in tiled showers, Cherry Wood Furniture and all rooms with Simons Beauty Rest beds and Flat Screen T.V. More 

East Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

The room was nice, and the location was great. The vending machines across from our room were empty which was a bit inconvenient. The jacuzzi was a waste of money. The stopper on the drain didn't work properly and the water kept draining out. Plus the shape was pretty awkward.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
TC-HJ, General Manager at Howard Johnson Traverse City, responded to this review

We are sorry for you experience with one of our jacuzzi tubs and have reviewed the tub and is now operating properly. To ensure the product is fresh for our customers we use only one vending machine during this time of season. Our rooms were recently remodeled to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. More 

Grand Rapids, MI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

The Howard Johnson located in Traverse City was clean and the staff was very friendly. This may seem like a strange observation, but the drains in the shower and bathroom sink drain quickly, which indicates to me that attention is paid to what most people would consider a minor detail. I would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question