We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Tawas City accommodations

Coleman's Resort

Save Saved
You added Coleman's Resort to your Saves list
1045 Bay Drive, Tawas City, MI 48736
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (16)
  • Photos (13)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Coleman's Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tawas City
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
12
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cass City, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well where to begin. We booked cabin #10 back in May. My family had went to Coleman's every summer for about 8-9 years back when I was a boy and I thought it would be great to start off my honeymoon by renting out the old cabin that held such cherished memories of my childhood. Dale assured me that cabin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saginaw, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So many things wrong with this place. -Light was broke in living room (Dark all night) -Managers said they would come back to fix and never showed -Pillows had no plastic cover and were filthy -No mattress cover -Sheets were filthy -Main bedroom door was falling off and could not shut it -Found a razor blade in the wall over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brighton, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We planned a last minute trip up to Tawas for the 4th and Coleman's had 2 nights available for Thursday and Friday night. We were so impressed with how accomidating the managers were. The cabin did not have AC but he was accomidating to all the guests with fans and stand alone AC units when asked. There was live music... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grand Blanc, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My parents took me here one week every summer for most of my childhood. I decided to take my husband away for the weekend. You can't beat the location. Its beautiful! That said, I found housekeeping to be at best subpar. The bathroom especially, there was "grime" on the shower and it didn't smell great. The manager made a comment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
South Lyon, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Went up on saturday morning to stay the weekend and kayak the Ausable river and sight see the area. We had a hotel for sat night but nothing sunday, after sight seeing till around 4 oclock we decided to drive the area of tawas and try and find a cabin on the water to rent. We found colman's had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fenton, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The owner defends the terrible mangers. Don't let the flowers fool you. The place stinks! The cabins were very dirty, smelly and in poor repair. The managers were rude, uncooperative, and confrontational with paying guests. The managers, Dale and Lori had so many family and friends hanging out that there was little room for paying guests to park, place there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dennis T, Owner at Coleman's Resort, responded to this review

No one wants negative reviews, they hurt and often are not fair. It is a shame that most people who are happy and satisfied just don’t feel the need to leave comments. Because of our concern over the negative feedback we recently received from a small group of guests over the 4th of July we took time to call, at... More

Lansing, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My Mother and I decided to take a vacation and went all throughout the UP and on our way back down to Lansing we decided to stop and stay one more night. After a terrible incident at a hotel in Mackinac we were very skeptical. We pulled in and were greeted immediately by the hotel manager welcoming us in, she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Charlotte, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed a Coleman's for about ten years. I am well aware the cottages are old, doesn't bother me. They need repair and updating, because of the cost mildly bothers me. I have stayed in every cottage throughout the years but but 4 and 5. Cottages 2 and 3 have always had a mildew smell. Last year when I first meet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dennis T, Owner at Coleman's Resort, responded to this review

No one wants negative reviews, they hurt and often are not fair. It is a shame that most people who are happy and satisfied just don’t feel the need to leave comments. Because of our concern over the negative feedback we recently received from a small group of guests over the 4th of July we took time to call, at... More

Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was my 40th year (12th yr renting my own cabin) at the resort. We've always had highs and lows with different managers, so this year was no different. The resort itself is beautiful and mostly well kept. The cabins unfortunately are not. While they are very old and rustic it's no reason to be filthy. Pictures below show how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dennis T, Owner at Coleman's Resort, responded to this review

No one wants negative reviews, they hurt and often are not fair. It is a shame that most people who are happy and satisfied just don’t feel the need to leave comments. Because of our concern over the negative feedback we recently received from a small group of guests over the 4th of July we took time to call, at... More

Newark, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My family and I have stayed at Coleman's a few times because it has been a vacation destination of my spouses family for many years. The cabins were nice, they could use some work but overall I was satisfied. Dale (manager) seemed busy taking care of the guests needs when he was there. My two disappointments were (a) there seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dennis T, Owner at Coleman's Resort, responded to this review

No one wants negative reviews, they hurt and often are not fair. It is a shame that most people who are happy and satisfied just don’t feel the need to leave comments. Because of our concern over the negative feedback we recently received from a small group of guests over the 4th of July we took time to call, at... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Coleman's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Coleman's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coleman's Resort

Address: 1045 Bay Drive, Tawas City, MI 48736
Location: United States > Michigan > Tawas City

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Coleman's Resort our goal is to provide the finest, most relaxing atmosphere on Northern Michigan's sunrise side. From our large sandy beach on beautiful Tawas Bay to nearby sports and recreation it is all here for your enjoyment. For years our reputation for being one of the cleanest, most modern resorts in the Tawas - Oscoda area has been unexcelled. Our large, roomy units provide ample space for a family to stretch out and feel at home. We strive to provide every possible convenience. Our repeat business speaks for itself - at Coleman's Resort it's the little extras that bring our guests back. Let us pamper you. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Coleman's Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer