We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country Hearth Inn

1730 South Centerville Road, Sturgis, MI 49091 (Formerly Sturgis Express Inn)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Country Hearth Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Ever see the movie "Vacancy"? Except for the snuff film part this hotel room might have been the setting. It was dirty and dark. There was mold on the tub and sink. When I turned down my sheet there were hairs on the pillow. We found a pair of dirty socks on a shelf. The shower head had some power... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pam R
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are trying very hard to improve the standards at our hotel for the safety and satisfaction of all guests. We will continue to diligently work towards that goal. We hope you will give us another chance in the near future to... More 

Colfax, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

We found the hotel online. Checked in at about midnight after a long day of driving. We really should have kept driving. Very run-down; crumbling foundation; broken locks on the door. We really should have kept driving. Room was dank, dark and damp. My wife wouldn't take her shoes off in the room, fearful of actually touching the carpet. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jugglery
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are trying very hard to improve the standards at our hotel for the safety and satisfaction of all guests. We will continue to diligently work towards that goal. We hope you will give us another chance in the near future to... More 

Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Do not use this hotel until they clean up their act and their rooms. Website does not reflect issues there. Based on a Saturday night stay under unusual conditions we had people staying there. Area hotel availability was at a premium but we found rooms here. Bugs in the sink and more than 5 condemned rooms (signs on doors.) Cannot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are trying very hard to improve the standards at our hotel for the safety and satisfaction of all guests. We will continue to diligently work towards that goal. The signs are there in place only temporary for precaution only and there... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Checked in after a long days drive. Went to eat and gas up and when we entered the room we were immediately hit with a stale, moldy smell. There were flies in the room, but house flies and nats. We opened a drawer and found multiple roaches. The rancid looking carpeted floor was wet in spots, but not near the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert N
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are trying very hard to improve the standards at our hotel for the safety and satisfaction of all guests. We will continue to diligently work towards that goal. We hope you will give us another chance in the near future to... More 

Owosso
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Well we got there and immediately could tell it was a joke. It just looked run down. After a long days work we got our rooms and went into our rooms to shower. Only to find mold in the shower and nails/screws sticking out of the tac strip in the carpet. Even trying to charge your phone was hectic. There... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Birchmet
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your stay at our property. Since your stay at the hotel, we have updated the hotel policies so this does not happen again. Furthermore we have took the necessary steps to eliminate any pests or bugs in the guest rooms. We are sorry for the bad experience at our hotel and we hope you... More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the dirtiest motels I've stayed in. It smelled musty and smoky. The window to the courtyard was broken and didn't lock. We asked for a different room when the first one reeked of smoke despite the clerks protest that it was non smoking. The room she sent us to had a bad lock on the door.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

I want to thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and I am disappointed to find that you did not have a pleasant stay at our hotel. We have since your last stay here, fixed all the issues you mentioned and have renovated the guest rooms with new furniture and bedding and linens to ensure that it does... More 

Wayland, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked our reservation here through Booking.com because it was a pet friendly hotel with a pool, free breakfast and spacious rooms. My BF was taking a class in the area and this would be a nice place, we thought, for me to spend the time while he was in class. When we got to the hotel, we noticed that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

Our sincerest apology for the mistake on our part. We have changed our listing with booking.com to not advertise a pool and have updated pet policy. We have also better trained all staff members so this does not happen again. I apologize for the bad experience at our hotel and we hope you will give us another chance in the... More 

Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel was probably pretty nice in the 60's. I don't think anything had been changed or updated since it was originally built. On checking in, I filled out a slip (again much like was done in the 50's and 60's) which served as my receipt. The motel consists of 2 separate buildings separated by a covered walkway. The one... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank St_Nick61
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

I want to thank you for your review and since your visit at our motel have done several renovations to upgrade the property atmosphere. We are constantly doing small and big upgrades at the property and try to make the stay safe and enjoyable for all guests. We have taken the necessary steps to make sure that this type of... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've stayed here a few times while traveling throuh the area. There is free wifi available. Always a good place to stay. Very clean and a great value. Friendly service and very accommodating. Enjoy this small hotel being close to everything you would need on a everyday basis. Super walmart and all shopping centers are walking distance to this hotel.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank April S
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us whenever you happen to be in this area. More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I had the unfortunate experience of staying at the motel for one night because my first choice accommodation in nearby Shipshewana, Indiana was overbooked. From the outside the motel is a very droll dark brown colour. On checking in I was met by Tejal who found a room at the far side of the motel. The room had a horrific... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Nimapolice7
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not have a pleasant stay at our hotel. We are trying to improve the property by doing extensive renovations to improve overall customer satisfaction on all areas of our hotel. We have taken measures at the property so this type of situation does not arise again. Thank you and we hope you will give us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgis
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Sturgis
Travelodge Sturgis
#2 of 6 in Sturgis
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturgis-Lagrange Area
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Howe
Super 8 Howe
#3 of 4 in Howe
3.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay