We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Sterling Heights hotels

Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33400 Van Dyke Rd., Sterling Heights, MI 48312
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
72%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014
MikeS50267 Delaware, Ohio
  • Overview
  • Reviews (109)
  • Photos (19)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    31
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
10
13
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stay here only if you want an outdated movie guide, a room that's been heavily smoked in, a broken coffee maker, no toiletries, no hair dryer, no do not disturb signs, no cleaning service, cigarette burns on counters, front desk staff that can't tell you how to fix your tv, staff that can't tell you why they are wearing a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Tracie - The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. This is a non-smoking hotel and housekeeping is offered once a week for guests staying 8 or more nights. We are very sorry if our property did not meet your expectations. In response, our staff is working to deep clean your room and also improve their services moving forward.... More

Delaware, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

we stayed at this hotel for two night 6 and 7th of June 2014. the receptionist i believe her name was Teanta if I recall it right, very friendly face and smiling all the time. very helpful, breakfast should improve.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with the service provided by our great staff. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team. Still, I apologize that you were not satisfied with our grab-and-go breakfast. Your comments will be useful... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I love this hotel. Toni was really nice and friendly. She helped me a lot even before I left London, United Kingdom I was called her twice n she assured me all will be ok. She delivered n my room 232 was superb. Love u for that. Close to eatery n Walmart. Well done guys n is 5/5 for me.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Kingsley - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the great customer service provided by Toni. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with her. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for... More

Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I needed a month long stay, suddenly and unexpectedly. I was fortunate enough to meet Teanta, at the front desk. She normally works at the Roseville facility, but was filling in for the weekend. She helped me get a very fair rate for the month, and my concerns regarding where I would be for the next month were assuaged. Excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Jonathan - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service our staff provided. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Hotel was old, outdated, and in need of repair. Room was clean. No breakfast provided as promised. Could not use luggage cart because there was a huge step from front porch to parking lot......Stupid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Michele - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We Appreciate the kind comments about how clean your room was; however, we apologize that you missed our breakfast and were unaware of your handicap ramps located at each entrance. To prevent this from happening again, my front desk team will go over breakfast times... More

Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

#1 Toni was rite on top of every concern my fellow travelers had! Not only was that person making the guest smile also co-workers! plz pat Toni on the back, (and give a raise) Nathan was rite on top fixin coffee! 4 me one day (he was doin his job well!) Lachiae was cleanin this place and 4 a small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grayling, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week, and it was horrible! My room was on the third floor which constantly reeks of pot and cigarette smoke. The first room I was given was dirty and had trash on the counters, the new room they gave me seemed to be clean. There are people wandering the halls day and night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Amanda - I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise levels and the level of cleanliness in your room. As well, I’m sorry to hear that our level of customer service did not meet your expectations. In response to your feedback, I will meet with the staff to review our guest... More

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Room was not clean. and room amanity was very basic. Trash under the bed. There was not any hanger and I called to front desk and asked it but he did not anything. Kitchen cabinets & Drawers were dirty. I don't recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the level of customer service and the cleanliness in your room. I am working with the housekeeping staff to improve our cleaning procedures to ensure your experience is not repeated. Also, I will meet with the staff to... More

Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

*Carpet is filthy and had large burned marks. *Trash under the bed *Trash on the pull out couch *The ONE dresser they have was dirty. All the drawers were NOT cleaned. I could NOT put clean clothes in there. *Kitchen cabinets & Drawers were dirty. No point on having a kitchen when it is filthy. You can see the black... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the level of professionalism displayed by some members of our staff and the level of cleanliness in your room. I am working with the staff to improve our cleaning procedures to ensure your experience is not repeated. Also, I will meet with the staff to... More

Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I would recommend that the hotel owner do renovations to this hotel before giving a 2 star rating. The star rating should be more like a 1/2 star or 1 star. My husband and I stayed here for a weekend and the first room we were given had no headboard for the bed, and the towels and linen were dirty.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Sally – The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff during your visit. Still, I apologize that the cleanliness and condition of your room did not meet your expectations. I will be meeting with our housekeeping staff to review our cleaning standards and procedures to ensure your experience is... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Address: 33400 Van Dyke Rd., Sterling Heights, MI 48312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Sterling Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Sterling Heights
Sterling Heights Extended Stay

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
116

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer