We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Sterling Heights hotels

Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33400 Van Dyke Rd., Sterling Heights, MI 48312
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    35
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
10
15
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (118)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly effecient staff rooms are very good 'management must be commended a welcome exception I go to many places I will always come back here as long as itvretains this quality.If you are the metro detroit area try this hotel a true winner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here back in September 2014 with my grandmother, we were visiting family in Sterling Heights. Although the hotel itself looked and felt a bit run down it still had a very homely feeling to it and this was very important as I was travelling with my Grandmother who had never really left Scotland much, she absolutely loved the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel. I'm so pleased to hear that the staff made you both feel so welcome. Customer service is one of our top priorities, so I am glad to hear that we met your expectations. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

I am baffled as to how this hotel even had remotely good reviews. Apparently the place is going through renovations so I should excuse the unkempt appearance of the lobby and elevator, however the room was disgraceful. The look of it was unimpressive but didn't look dirty, and we were exhausted so went ahead with it. The shower did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable . I discussed your comments with the team, and we are going through our entire stock of blankets to ensure that... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Great customer service by the hotel staff. Prompt when needed.Very accomidating with brand new rooms with new beds and all new furnishings. Under construction at this time but still very clean and cozy for a hotel doing major renovations. Convientely located near affordable shopping and dining. Will definitely be staying again when we return to Michigan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. We are also glad that our staff provided you with quality service. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Got to the hotel a bit late. When I got there, the reclining chair seemed broken. The manager tried to get me another chair but after we went to several rooms and found other broken chairs in worse situation, I decided to keep that one which was a little bit broken. I was very tired and the last thing I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed having a kitchen in the room and the Grab-N-Go Breakfast. Please accept our apologies for the state of the recliner, please know that all of our rooms have recently been renovated and each room now has a brand new recliner. Thank... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I enjoyed my stay michael was so nice. he was extremely helpful and so funny. He attended to my every need while i was there. I was sad no more days was available for sweeties day weekend. I was so comfortable in that room and wanted to stay more days.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you had such a comfortable stay with us. I am proud of my staff for providing me with such helpful and accommodating service. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the... More 

Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

I stayed in Extended Stay hotel in 2008 when I had to travel to US for my business trip. I stayed there for about a month. Best part was that I had to pay only$10 a day as I stayed more than a month thus I was able to save quite a lot over a time. Room was nice, clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you found your room to be clean and quiet. As well, I'm happy that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to... More 

Mackinac Island, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Good check-in, very friendly and courteous. However, there was only one cup in the room at check-in. And, although there is a refrigerator, there was no ice in the freezer. And, the hotel does not have an ice maker. I need a drink! Staff was very prompt and pleasant regarding the cup and apologetic regarding the lack of ice. Great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel. I am glad to read that you were pleased with your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the issues you encountered regarding ice and kitchen supplies. We are sorry for these issues, but are happy to read that we provided you with a pleasant stay. Thank you... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I read some pretty scary reviews here before we arrived so I was fearing for the worst. I was relieved once we saw the hotel that it wasn't as bad as the reviews make it out to be. We booked very last minute using Hotwire. Arrived at the hotel around 9:30pm on a Saturday night and was checked in by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our free Wi-Fi and your clean room; however, we are disappointed to hear that you were not notified of our customizable kitchen packs and that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. We store our kitchenware in a clean, sterile... More 

Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stay here only if you want an outdated movie guide, a room that's been heavily smoked in, a broken coffee maker, no toiletries, no hair dryer, no do not disturb signs, no cleaning service, cigarette burns on counters, front desk staff that can't tell you how to fix your tv, staff that can't tell you why they are wearing a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Tracie - The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. This is a non-smoking hotel and housekeeping is offered once a week for guests staying 8 or more nights. We are very sorry if our property did not meet your expectations. In response, our staff is working to deep clean your room and also improve their services moving forward.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Address: 33400 Van Dyke Rd., Sterling Heights, MI 48312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Sterling Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Sterling Heights
Sterling Heights Extended Stay

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay