We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sterling Inn

34911 Van Dyke Avenue, Sterling Heights, MI 48312
Hotel amenities
Sterling Inn
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
sandracU6492QJ Pontiac, Michigan
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    125
    67
    66
    62
    60
See reviews for
222
23
7
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (380)
  • Mar-May only
    (99)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (90)
All months
Pontiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel was equip to handle a convention. They open new renovated rooms that's was not ready. They had sheets on the window. There was no remote in the room. They did come up and bring a remote the also put some dark table cloths up to the window so that it could be darker. They tried but they need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

this hotel is in desperate need of major upgrades. The tub was stained with dirt, the carpet was filthy with a big hole in it. The Ice bucket was dirty. The let out bed mattress was visibly dirty the mattress was too old and worn out. I felt the support bars while laying in it. The couch was something that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Sterling Heights hotels

Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed at Sterling inn and the room was dirty, tub and sink was dirty. mold in bathroom. remote did not work with TV. front desk did not care on my concern and said they will be renovating soon. Wanted me to fix the remote and change the batteries at 11 PM at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room was average. Pool area closes very earl as well as arcade so plan other events for your family after 9pm. Kids very pleased with pool area and i had a toddler and pre teens. Door knob broke in our room to get out but soon as i called maintenance arrived within 5 minutes. Nice stay no riff raff. Felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The worst hotel i've stayed in in a very long time. I was tucking in the sheet when a candy wrapper fell out from the mattress. I lifted up the mattress and found chips, napkins, more candy wrappers and dead bugs. Some bugs were black and others looked liked large lice. The whole hotel part smell of mold and pee.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Run away! Horrible place. Worked with them for 10 months planning my wedding which was held May 16th. We got a decent refund for all the things they messed up so much!!! I think we should have gotten more $ back but I was beyond upset and was done fighting with them. Besides how can you compensate making a bride... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Saginaw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dirty linens where outside our door upon arrival. The last guest's garbage was still in the shower as well as some mold. There was a "foreign substance" on the bathroom tile. Bathroom ceiling had a crack in it all the way across, looks like someone slapped some mud on it and called it good. There was litter all the way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dan D, General Manager at Sterling Inn, responded to this review

Dear cheermom70 Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel. Certainly the experience you had with your guestroom was a disappointment to you and is to us as well. I can assure you that the cleanliness of our property has become our number one priority and your satisfaction and those of all of our guests is imperative to our... More 

Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were ok, upgrading needs to be done. The main attraction here is the pool. The main problem includes pool rules and security. All of the children in the pool had wristbands on. Adults watching their children, but not swimming in the pool, did not have wristbands on. Now, security at the entrance allowed adults without wristbands as long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dan D, General Manager at Sterling Inn, responded to this review

Dear 9Superstar9 We are so appreciative for you providing us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Thank-you for recognizing the quality of our rooms - we are doing improvements to all of our guestrooms and we know it will be well received. You are correct the waterpark is our main attraction and so we do take our security... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our non smoking room had a strong smoke smell. Remote control didn't work properly, cobwebs in the corners of bathroom, had no soap and had to go to the desk and ask for some. The sleeper sofa was ancient and worn out. If we hadn't been with a large group who had booked many rooms we would have left immediately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dan D, General Manager at Sterling Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jayne H, Thank-you for taking the time to provide us detailed information regarding your recent stay. It is very disappointing to hear of the concerns you experienced. Although it does not replace the stay you had, I am happy to let you know that our guestrooms are under complete renovations and because of valuable feedback from guests such as... More 

Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The bathroom was dirty - hair everywhere on the floor and shower. The front desk clerk was great! Very friendly and helpful. We went to the café to eat but decided to eat elsewhere after we found out the coolers weren't working. Then, my credit card was charged more than it was suppose to be. Be careful and check your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dan D, General Manager at Sterling Inn, responded to this review

Dear rtt997, I was very sorry to hear about the cleanliness of your bathroom. I can assure you we have addressed this with our housekeeping team as it certainly is an expectation of all of our guests upon entering all of our guestrooms. I appreciate the kind words for our front desk team as they put a lot of effort... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
2:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay