We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center

Hotel website
Hotel deals
17201 Northline Rd., Southgate, MI 48195
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    38
    22
    9
    14
See reviews for
36
15
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Fulton, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a beautiful hotel. Magnificent lobby, excellent staff, and there is both a bar and a restaurant on site. You can check in and there's no need to go anywhere else during your stay. The restaurant uses local products in the restaurant. I had Dearborn ham and a Sauders Bumpy Cake for dessert. Hands down, this hotel has the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I started of well here,there was a lot of people and I settled in. After a day I had a problem with the Key Card, happens I go to the reception and ask for it to be reporogrammed. I return and it does not work I call them on the house phone and they send the maintenance who explains to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear Bustrav, Thank you for stay with us. Thank you for your feed back and your business. I am very sorry for the lack of professionalism by my staff. I assure you I will address this issue with them. I make no excuses for lack of taking care of your issues and will take the proper measures to make sure... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked 4 night stay despite the poor reviews on TripAdvisor. We needed to be in the area. We didn't experience any of the problems described but it is a bit worn and dog eared. Time for a renovation. We found the staff very obliging and the meals were fine. Lady driver on the shuttle was very helpful with her advice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear GrantHay, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We greatly appreciate your business and your feedback. We are always up grading and up dating our hotel. We hope that you would choose us again. Have a great summer. Sincerely, Theresa General Manager More 

Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

The rooms are dated and smell badly. Someone obviously smoked in my room previous to my stay. I usually don't stay at Holiday Inn because the brand is inconsistent across the board and Delta Air forced my hand as I missed my connection in Detroit. The service is poor but it's due to training issues. The staff tries hard but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear PlatinumStatusorBust, Thank you for your Platinum status with IHG. We are very sorry for your disappointing stay with us. Thank you for bring all of these issues to our attention we will make sure all of these issues are addressed. We greatly appreciate your business and your feedback. We are always striving to learn from our mistakes and become... More 

Travelers are raving about these Southgate hotels

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Sent here by Delta because of flight issues. Waited and waited for shuttle at Detroit airport. Call hotel 3 times and told they are on way. Finally had Delta call. Driver shows up after an hour! Says hotel didn't tell him until almost an hour to get us! Front desk is rude on arrival. Poor young woman who is in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear KimberlyMJ, Thank you for your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry that we disappointed you with our customer service. We share a shuttle service with our sister property and we will address the issues you had. Would also like to let you know we did accommodate the lady that was flying to Europe with a late check... More 

Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during an overnight stop. Mimi at the front desk was so much help and very sweet. Originally I asked for a king room thinking there was a pull out sofa bed. When we got to the room and found there wasn't, Mimi quickly changed our rooms without any hesitation. The rooms were spacious and clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear Jamie W, Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Southgate. We greatly appreciate your business and the recognition of our staff. we are always string to give great customer service. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great summer! Sincerely, Theresa General Manager More 

Bowling Green, Kentucky
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

We chose the Holiday Inn in Southgate over the Holiday Inn Express in Woodhaven due mostly to the hype of "Charlie's Chophouse". The draw of having a nice on-site restaurant to eat in following several hours on the road with a 5 year old was what sold us. Unfortunately, we learned that their weekend hours left a lot to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear Alisa, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Southgate. We are very sorry for disappointing you and your family for not serving food after 1pm the days you were here. Thank you for bring the issues you had to our attention. We take all feedback very seriously and we will have them addressed. Sincerely, Theresa General Manager More 

Rawson, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Large facility, with nice bar/restaurant. Loved the free evening drink and snacks. Rooms were not too bad, only issue was bathroom floor was not cleaned very well, there was hair all over. Learned there were stairs for easier use than lone elevator.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear Jill B, We appreciate you sharing your experiences with regards to your stay at our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and it is nice to read that you have enjoyed the free evening drinks and snacks. It is also nice to read you have regarded the large and nice facilities.... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

I won't go into the entire ridiculous story; let's just say we slept two nights with NO SHEETS on the bed (and yes I did request bed linens several times) - not to mention being double charged after the manager promised a refund. I don't like to be negative but I just couldn't let this one go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca H. Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Southgate. We are very sorry for the issues you encounter at our hotel. Thank you for your feedback, we do take any issue our guest bring to our attention very seriously and are always striving to make things better for our guest. If you would like to... More 

Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Drive up, and wonder what is in store. Once inside, you will be happy with your stay. Rooms are updated. Big pool and Jacuzzi. Complimentary breakfast, at least the weekend we stayed. Great place for families.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (166)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (50)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southgate
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Southgate
Comfort Suites Southgate
#3 of 7 in Southgate
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Greenfield Inn
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay