We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Southgate hotels

Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17201 Northline Rd., Southgate, MI 48195
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Southgate
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
GreekGolfingGod Dyer, Indiana
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    33
    15
    7
    11
See reviews for
30
11
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Dyer, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is a solid choice for staying the Detroit area. Good access to downtown (15 min), Greenfield Village (10-15 min), and numerous businesses in the south and west side of Detroit Metropolitan area. They have a fresh and hot breakfast buffet included with your stay and access to the YMCA next door. The YMCA has an outdoor pool area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This property has lovely common areas! Having read the reviews about the rooms etc. we were a little worried. Checking-in was a little challenging since there were some people from a wedding party looking for other people - all excited.... Reception handled them with courtesy and efficiency and thus we were able to check in, finally. As we were anxious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in on a Wed. with the plan of staying 6 days. As we where going to our room we had to step over large hoses and machines where apparently they where having a flooding issue. ( must have been a bad issue because the hoses where there all three days we were.) On Friday there was a large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear SCSODREW, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Southgate. We would like to apologize for falling short on our promise. Unfortunately the power was out in our area for four days, but that doesn't excuse the fact that anyone on my staff would give you a time that the power would be on. I would also like to apologize... More

Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As Platinum IHG members, we have experience to recognize a great hotel and this one fits the bill. All the facilities and our room were very clean and well maintained. We ate in the restaurant and the bar, great choices and quality, food and drinks. However it is the staff that sets this hotel above most. The girls at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear PA32pilot, Thank you so much for all the great things you had to say about our hotel. We take great pride in taking care of our guest. We are like one big family here and we like our guest to feel the same. We look forward to seeing you again, when your in the Southgate area. We greatly appreciate... More

Hartford
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
92 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

On 8-26-14 I made a reservation on the IHG website for this hotel to stay the week of 8-9. When I got to the Detroit Airport and tried to contact the hotel for a shuttle pickup. After waiting over an hour, I was told that my reservation was cancelled due to no electricity in the hotel and that I should... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear steve375, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to address your experience further, and have sent you an... More

Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Overall-we still enjoy this hotel, after staying there several times over the years. However, the hotel is in a general state of decline. There appears to be long-term neglect. For instance, the hallway carpet is worn & dirty, public areas except for the main lobby appear to be worn. Our room was pretty clean, but not spotless. The clientele has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear 4248MI_Traveler, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to... More

Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
11 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Such a disappointing property physically. Reserved room on west side as they are larger and the bathroom is more private in the room. I was told that as long as I stated my preference on my reservation it would be honored if available. I checked in and was give a smaller less desirable and when I asked about it I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear wblu, Thank you very much for sharing your comments online. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services. I am disappointed to read that your experience was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had and for the shortfalls you have encountered. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter... More

Eastern NC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel due to the proximity of an event that we were attending. The location is quite convenient but road work that is taking place nearby made access and egress from the hotel somewhat difficult. The hotel was clean and quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just returned from a family function and really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and the hotel lobby was beautiful. The breakfast buffet was very good and the location was convenient to many area attractions. The only negative thing was that little tiny bugs (nats, maybe) kept getting in the room. They seemed to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just returned from the Detroit area, Greenfield Village, Motown and the Henry Ford and stayed at this hotel. This hotel had everything we needed for a three day stay. The front desk staff was very friendly upon arrival and the lobby was clean and inviting. After the first night we encountered some space issues with our teenage sons and us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center

Address: 17201 Northline Rd., Southgate, MI 48195
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center 3*
Number of rooms: 339
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Hotel Southgate
Southgate Holiday Inn

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center