We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Southgate hotels

Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17201 Northline Rd., Southgate, MI 48195
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center to your Saves list
67%
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Southgate
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014
4248MI_Traveler Naples, Florida
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    15
    6
    11
See reviews for
30
10
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Hartford
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
94 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

On 8-26-14 I made a reservation on the IHG website for this hotel to stay the week of 8-9. When I got to the Detroit Airport and tried to contact the hotel for a shuttle pickup. After waiting over an hour, I was told that my reservation was cancelled due to no electricity in the hotel and that I should... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear steve375, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to address your experience further, and have sent you an... More

Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Overall-we still enjoy this hotel, after staying there several times over the years. However, the hotel is in a general state of decline. There appears to be long-term neglect. For instance, the hallway carpet is worn & dirty, public areas except for the main lobby appear to be worn. Our room was pretty clean, but not spotless. The clientele has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear 4248MI_Traveler, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to... More

Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
11 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Such a disappointing property physically. Reserved room on west side as they are larger and the bathroom is more private in the room. I was told that as long as I stated my preference on my reservation it would be honored if available. I checked in and was give a smaller less desirable and when I asked about it I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear wblu, Thank you very much for sharing your comments online. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services. I am disappointed to read that your experience was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had and for the shortfalls you have encountered. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter... More

Eastern NC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel due to the proximity of an event that we were attending. The location is quite convenient but road work that is taking place nearby made access and egress from the hotel somewhat difficult. The hotel was clean and quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just returned from a family function and really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and the hotel lobby was beautiful. The breakfast buffet was very good and the location was convenient to many area attractions. The only negative thing was that little tiny bugs (nats, maybe) kept getting in the room. They seemed to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just returned from the Detroit area, Greenfield Village, Motown and the Henry Ford and stayed at this hotel. This hotel had everything we needed for a three day stay. The front desk staff was very friendly upon arrival and the lobby was clean and inviting. After the first night we encountered some space issues with our teenage sons and us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here again on a recent vist. The hotel is dated and needs much renovation and updating but the staff if very friendly and nice, the beds are very very comfortable. Good value and convenient location. Breakfast buffet is great and our servers were Rebecca and Allen and they were outstanding and soooo nice. We had dinner there and our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Visited the Detroit area Memorial Day weekend for a wedding. The hotel does not look like much but, looks can be deceiving. This hotel is close to Detroit Metro(Wayne County) Airport. U.S. Interstate 75 is easily accessible. Entrance is in front of hotel. Hotel has ample meeting room space for a small conference in my opinion. The swimming pool area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear Tredawg94, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, breakfast option and location of the hotel. I am sorry that our facility did not live up... More

Ames, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I am fed up with staying at expensive 'Inn and Suites' hotels that may have big rooms and may be brand new but have no services. The Holiday Inn, Southgate has everything I need for a stay. The staff here are very friendly and helpful, in fact, the breakfast staff are some of the best I have come across in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louisville, Ohio
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I really don't know what to say to help this hotel. I have tried to share my experiences with management, but it has not solved the problems. This is a nice hotel with friendly employees and it is in a nice location, but if the only way for a room to be actually clean is for two managers to detail... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review

Dear Mike E, Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your experiences in our property. It’s good to know that our location suited your needs and I appreciate your kind words intended for our staff. I am so sorry to see you overall experience was not 100% satisfactory. We’d like to obtain some additional detail... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center

Address: 17201 Northline Rd., Southgate, MI 48195
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center 3*
Number of rooms: 339
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Hotel Southgate
Southgate Holiday Inn

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay