We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Nichols

201 Center Street, South Haven, MI 49090
Hotel Nichols
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
19
24
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Coldwater, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Staff is rude and lazy and they have no customer service at all. They have no heat in the rooms and you have no thermostat to adjust so your stuck with whatever heat they may give you. Rooms have no closet so if you have hang up clothes they will lay on the chair. Breakfast is a joke with old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We were traveling up the west coast of Michigan and was going to stay over but had no plan yet. While visiting South Haven we came across this 142 year old hotel. We have been trying to stay in these century old hotels over the past few years. As a walk in the manager knocked the price down to $100... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
46 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I cruised town when I arrived and spotted the places I wanted to visit, now I needed a base. I called some of the Bed and Breakfast Hotels, a news flash, your parking lots empty, after Labor Day, time for a deal! I called here, negotiated a flat fee and checked out a room. The Blue Roon in the picture... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

The management at this location is rude and inconsiderate. We where moving out luggage in at 1030 pm. We all understand the need to be considerate to the other guest but the lady came up insinuating that we had at least 12 people in out room, when in all actuality we had 8 which was what the room held. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JOEY21, Owner at Hotel Nichols, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I believe that your party stayed in apartment A during the Labor Day Weekend. After 2 noise complaints from other rooms we found it necessary to check for safety reasons. I apologize now as we did than but safety, security and respect to... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

My husband and I had a rough start to our vacation in Saugatuck. We were so disappointed with our accommodations at the Sandpiper Cottage, rented through MillPond realty, that we left after just one night without reservations anywhere else. We drove to South Haven and were directed to Hotel Nichols by the Visitor's Center. The location was perfect! Close to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JOEY21, Owner at Hotel Nichols, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Anna More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The other reviews were correct park your car and you really don't need to move it again. Walk to beach was a half mile plus. Anna and rest of staff was great. Hotel has great history and a bed and breakfast feel. Plenty of books and board games available in lobby and our room. We will be back again sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a great time in south haven and really enjoyed it stay at Hotel Nichols. It is such an interesting, authentic building. Each room is decorated so uniquely. Being in the heart of downtown was also great. Could walk to everything. We would definitely go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My experience at Hotel Nichols was horrific that my fiancé and I did not stay for the weekend. When I checked in the receptionist who is the owner was rude and disrespectful. When I asked where my room was she said upstairs and down the hall. After walking into my bedroom which was not large enough for two and still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
JOEY21, Owner at Hotel Nichols, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Our staff as well as our website (and our confirmation letter) encourages all guests to look at pictures of all of our rooms on our website. Yes, indeed we are 2 very small rooms and we do not hold that as a secret. We also have large rooms, adjoining room... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My stay at Hotel Nichols was excellent. The hotel is ran by a mother/daughter team formerly of Britain who are delightful to talk with and very hospitable. The hotel is very charming, located just across the street from the movie theater and next to the toy store, while across the street is a row of shops and restaurants. The bedroom... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
JOEY21, Owner at Hotel Nichols, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We cannot wait to have you visit us again. Just to let you know all of our rooms have full bathrooms. We completed the last one about 4-5 years ago. More 

Elmhurst, Illinois
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a nice, relaxing stay at Hotel Nichols this weekend. Would definitely recommend this quaint, historic hotel for a piece of nostalgia in the heart of South Haven. It was close to all shopping, right across from the movie theater, and a short walk to the beach.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question