We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway

Hotel website
Hotel deals
240 West Portage Ave., Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
A recent review
Add Your Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    104
    80
    49
    24
See reviews for
93
123
8
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (336)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (119)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The front desk staff were great - quick, courteous, friendly. But no amount of smiles could make up for the quality of the room. Although we do understand this is considered a "historical" hotel, the accommodations would be better classified as outdated and worn. It screamed "remodel"! The room we stayed in had peeling/torn wall paper, peeling paint around window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. We are in the process of updating our rooms for a more modern feel but will still maintain the historical elegance of the hotel. This will greatly improve the experience for our guests. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Sault Ste... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for a banquette and the room was good. The food and the service were exceptional. I would recommend The Ramada Plaza to anyone that would enjoy a unique experience. There is also a great view of the Sainte Maries River and the Soo Locks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. So often people are quick to point out the bad but never the good. We hope you will visit our grand historical hotel in the future. More 

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We like to stay in Bed and Breakfasts and this hotel was the closest thing. It had character, it had charm and an historic feel. Breakfast was delicious, even though we sat for over five minutes before any staff came out of the kitchen to greet us. The view from the restaurant was beautiful. Some issues we experienced were problems... More 

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your experience. I would like to apologize for the mix up on your reservation. Sometimes, booking online, this does happen. It is no one's fault directly, just sometimes the communication from one computer to another does get lost. We strive to do our upmost to resolve these issues as... More 

Port Sanilac, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Unless you want horrible service and overpriced ho hum food. The waitstaff is worse than inattentive...from no drinks, no butter with the bread, no steak knife, uncooked cold steak, no steak knife, no coffee, no dessert(which conveniently was complimentary with the overpriced crappy meal. No excuses. It was not busy! Go anywhere else. If you want to freighter watch, get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding the restaurant. We apologize that your trip was less than perfect. We had many very positive comments regarding the restaurant and we are very sorry yours was less than perfect. I would ask that you contact us directly so we could be given to make things right with you. More 

Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Last week, a friend staying in another room was electrocuted due to a faulty lamp plug. Burned finger and loss of feeling in lower arm for about an hour. Notified management and filled out an incident report. It was several days later before anything was done to the faulty plug. No effort made to contact my friend while staying there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The situation with your friend was dealt with directly by the hotel General Manger. Again, thank you for your review and I do apologize for the other guests knocking on the door near you. Your comments regarding the stairwell have been addressed with the appropriate personnel. More 

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Stayed at this hotel recently. The room was plastered in flowery wallpaper that looked like it was from the 1960's, and the carpet matched for sure. I'm not one to normally care about interior decor of a room but something about this one in particular was very off putting. Aside from the hideousness of the room, the walls are paper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are a historical hotel which opened in 1927 and we pride ourselves on maintaining the historical feel and decor of the hotel. When you step in the doors it is like stepping back in time. While we continue to update modern amenities like flat screen tv's,... More 

Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Overall we enjoyed our stay, however for a group of our size to be in the Hotel Friday night and to not have the Restaurant staffed to handle breakfast was a disappointment. We will attempt to communicate our requirements better next time, but this should and could have been avoided.

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for the short staff in the restaurant for your breakfast. We always try to be prepared and to make each visit a perfect one for every guest. Your comments are taken very seriously are being addressed. Again, thank you for your review and we look... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question