We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
4404 I-75 Bus. Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Comfort Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014
JeffreyTravel Clarkston, Michigan
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    19
    9
    21
See reviews for
16
13
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Housekeeping staff were extremely rude. I heard them gossiping about each other in the hallways. The head of housekeeping was also rude. Room was okay, but nothing special. The biggest factor was the rudeness towards myself and my family. I expected a lot more, for what l paid. Will not be staying at this hotel again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

0/5. Hotel is dirty had to stay here for work. Would have paid to stay somewhere else. Hotel didn't have hoy water in the morning. Kids are loud defintly don't stay in one of the rooms by the "pool" they will keep you up. Tried to nap and that didn't happen. Don't stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 via mobile

Positives: rooms were pretty clean. Staff was friendly. Negatives: make sure you don't get a room near the pool if it's loud, you won't get any sleep. TV didn't work in our room. I called to have someone come and look at it. He said he'd come and didn't. Place is very dated. We were in town for a basketball... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our rooms near the pool are convienent for guest wishing to keep an eye on their family while they swim and do it from the comfort of their own room. During the day, some noise can be heard from the pool area in these rooms. Our hours of operation for... More 

Big Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

I honestly went into this hotel stay expecting the worse, considering the run-arounds and rudeness our group had when reserving individual rooms. It wasn't a horrible stay, but it certainly wasn't anything to brag about. The staff I encountered were pleasant and professional. I personally didn't have any unpleasant encounters during the stay. First off, the layout of the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

First I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered when making your reservation. Due to the fact that the group leader you were booking with failed to sign and return the group contract, all reservations under that group technically would have been canceled. However the reservations were honored and we did our best to accomodate the other individuals... More 

Grand Haven, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

The toilet in my room didn't flush completely from the moment I got there, I would pour extra water down it to get it to flush completely. Maintenance looked at it once and turned the water level all the way up, but it didn't do any good (which he knew), so when I told housekeeping a second time I wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Comfort4404, Owner at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Since all the specific issues you mentioned were already addressed by the manager in his communication with you I won't go through them again. Please be aware that the housekeeping staff took pictures of your room before cleaning it and those are on file as evidence for the legitimacy of... More 

Rapid River, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Our employer booked our room for us and I would've paid the extra to stay someplace else. The room was old, needed obvious maintenance and updating. The beds only had a fitted sheet and a flat sheet (and pillows) along with the comforter and we all know that comforters aren't washed regularly. Bed was also as hard as a rock.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that your stay was anything less than perfect. You are correct that the hotel was in need of some maintenance and updating and those projects are now underway. In order to uphold the Choice Hotels standard we are making many improvements to the property and guest rooms. All new bedding and beds will be in place this... More 

Clarkston, Michigan
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
55 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed one night in August. It is right off the expressway. There is a strip mall right behind it and an Applebee's next door. I was warmly greeted at the front desk and was quickly checked in. The room needs to be redone and updated. They still have the old style TV. They have not updated to a flat screen.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that your stay was anything less than perfect. You are correct that the hotel was in need of some maintenance and updating and those projects are now underway. In order to uphold the Choice Hotels standard we are making many improvements to the property and guest rooms. All new bedding and beds will be in place this... More 

North America
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I had to make a last minute reservation in the area and they were happy to accommodate. With mixed reviews I was a little skeptical but there were few choices for a last minute decision. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff was very nice and went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. The hotel has gone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minocqua, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

There is nothing good to say about this hotel except for the great girls at the front desk. It is run down and obviously has had no maintenance since it was built in the 70's. The room was 125.00 a night and it wasn't worth any more than 39.00 a night. The bed was hard and bottom sheet didn't stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Comfort4404, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments regarding the hotel. Please be aware that the property is under new management as of the first of June and renovations are being scheduled for this fall. We are very sorry that your stay was less than perfect and we welcome the chance to show you the changes we've made. More 

Orland Park, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have stayed here many times in the past and this will be our last visit. Some construction in the hallways gave it an urban warfare look. Elevator out of order, ice machine out of order. Many items out at breakfast and nobody at the front desk at checkout. Discomfort Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding the property. Please be aware that the hotel is under new management and I am working to correct many of the issues that have been neglected. We are scheduled to begin renovations this fall which will address a wide range of concerns. We hope to have our property at or above Choice Standards by... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question