We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4404 I-75 Bus. Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
42%
Ranked #13 of 19 hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
2FarAwayFromHome North America
  • Overview
  • Reviews (66)
  • Photos (20)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    18
    7
    17
See reviews for
14
13
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North America
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had to make a last minute reservation in the area and they were happy to accommodate. With mixed reviews I was a little skeptical but there were few choices for a last minute decision. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff was very nice and went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. The hotel has gone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minocqua, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is nothing good to say about this hotel except for the great girls at the front desk. It is run down and obviously has had no maintenance since it was built in the 70's. The room was 125.00 a night and it wasn't worth any more than 39.00 a night. The bed was hard and bottom sheet didn't stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Comfort4404, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments regarding the hotel. Please be aware that the property is under new management as of the first of June and renovations are being scheduled for this fall. We are very sorry that your stay was less than perfect and we welcome the chance to show you the changes we've made. More

Orland Park, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have stayed here many times in the past and this will be our last visit. Some construction in the hallways gave it an urban warfare look. Elevator out of order, ice machine out of order. Many items out at breakfast and nobody at the front desk at checkout. Discomfort Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding the property. Please be aware that the hotel is under new management and I am working to correct many of the issues that have been neglected. We are scheduled to begin renovations this fall which will address a wide range of concerns. We hope to have our property at or above Choice Standards by... More

Neenah, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

As of spring, 2014, this property is no longer part of the Choice Hotel chain. That's why they do not show up on the Choice.com website. They answer the phone "Sault Saint Marie Comfort Inn", as compared to "Comfort Inn" in the past, but are not part of that chain any more. I stay here 10-12 times per year and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I do apologize for the less than perfect representation of our property. I would like to verify that, due to a clerical error, our property was not listed through Choice Hotels for a short period of time. Please feel free to verify that this situation has been rectified. The hotel will also be undergoing renovations this fall to improve the... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have stated at this hotel several times on business over the last year I have noticed ever increase decline in service including the front desk. Staff and poor breakfast . They are no longer part of the choice program so I can book on line nor do I receive any reward points. I could not cancel my current reservation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I would like to verify that, for a brief time, we were not on the Choice Hotels website for online bookings. Due to a clerical error which has been rectified we slipped from the Choice line. All reservations in our system were still honored and all points were still given for the stay during this brief interruption. As for the... More

Orlando
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

the hotel is next a shopping plaza and food courts. Good for short stay. Heater works fine and its quiet inside. The staff are friendly. The breakfast is fine and coffee always available. and of course there us an indoor clean swimming pool

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zeeland, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Not a good experiance at all! Room was decent and clean but the front staff, other than when I checked in, were not very helpful. I booked a room for 2 nights while attending my Aunt's funeral. While at the funeral there were 6 differant charges for a total of $710 on my debit card. Ryan the manager never returned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I would like to first of all apologize for your previous stay. The individual mentioned in your review is no longer the General Manager of this property. In order to make some much needed changes to the service and quality of stay for our guests, the owner has opted to bring in new management. Our staff is currently undergoing a... More

Mesick, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights 3/21 and 3/22/2014. My debit card was charged 3 times for an amount that wasnt even reflected on my receipt. When asking the front desk about this issue they had NO answers. I called 3 times to speak to the manager "Ryan" who NEVER once called me back. I had to dispute these charges with my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

First of all I would like to apologize for the nature of your stay with us back in March. In order to facilitate some much needed changes, the owner has opted to bring in new management. Problems such as what you encountered are being addressed and the individuals responsible for such mistakes are being re-trained or replaced. Also we are... More

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel itself is fine, they are currently doing upgrades so some hallways are construction zones (which is not a problem). Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, especially Melissa! Will definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

There was nobody at the front desk when we were checking in - had to wait 10 minutes. Elevator/Ice machine were broken. Our non-smoking room reeked of smoke. TV had 1 channel. Hallways were freezing and had exposed wires hanging from the ceiling. The set up is a giant maze. Ran out of milk at breakfast. Water pressure in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the less than perfect nature of your previous stay with us. In order to avoid further issues such as the ones you encountered, the owner has opted to bring in new management to correct these and other issues. To address some of your concerns, the missing celling tiles were removed to facilitate the installation... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 4404 I-75 Bus. Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Comfort Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Comfort Inn

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sault Ste. Marie with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfort Inn, a Sault Sainte Marie hotel near Lake Superior State UniversityThe Comfort Inn® hotel is located in beautiful, historic Sault Sainte Marie, MI and minutes from the St. Mary's River and the International Bridge, which provides easy access to Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario. Located within three miles of the hotel are the Soo Locks, Agawa Canyon Train Tour, and many restaurants and museums. The hotel is only 18 miles from Chippewa County International Airport (CIU). We are located off Interstate 75, right next door to Applebee's Neighborhood Grill and Bar, Buffalo Wild Wings, and only two miles from Lake Superior State University (LSSU). We offer you the finest lodging needs at the most northern point in the Eastern Upper Peninsula (EUP). Snowmobilers have direct trail access via a nearby groomed trail during the winter months. Bowling teams can visit Dondee Lanes bowling center, just one-half mile away. This Sault Sainte Marie hotel has free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, a private courtyard and picnic area, and a large elegant lobby. Additional hotel amenities include: •Exercise room •Indoor heated pool and hot tub •Meeting room •Pets welcome •Interior corridors Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Coffee makers, irons and ironing boards are included in all rooms. Some rooms come equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Large suites with partially divided sleeping and sitting areas are offered. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service while you enjoy our Comfort Inn hotel in Sault Sainte Marie, known as "The Gathering Place." ... more   less 
Number of rooms
86

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer