We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4404 I-75 Bus. Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Comfort Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014
JeffreyTravel Clarkston, Michigan
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    19
    8
    18
See reviews for
14
13
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Grand Haven, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

The toilet in my room didn't flush completely from the moment I got there, I would pour extra water down it to get it to flush completely. Maintenance looked at it once and turned the water level all the way up, but it didn't do any good (which he knew), so when I told housekeeping a second time I wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Comfort4404, Owner at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Since all the specific issues you mentioned were already addressed by the manager in his communication with you I won't go through them again. Please be aware that the housekeeping staff took pictures of your room before cleaning it and those are on file as evidence for the legitimacy of... More 

Rapid River, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Our employer booked our room for us and I would've paid the extra to stay someplace else. The room was old, needed obvious maintenance and updating. The beds only had a fitted sheet and a flat sheet (and pillows) along with the comforter and we all know that comforters aren't washed regularly. Bed was also as hard as a rock.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that your stay was anything less than perfect. You are correct that the hotel was in need of some maintenance and updating and those projects are now underway. In order to uphold the Choice Hotels standard we are making many improvements to the property and guest rooms. All new bedding and beds will be in place this... More 

Clarkston, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed one night in August. It is right off the expressway. There is a strip mall right behind it and an Applebee's next door. I was warmly greeted at the front desk and was quickly checked in. The room needs to be redone and updated. They still have the old style TV. They have not updated to a flat screen.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that your stay was anything less than perfect. You are correct that the hotel was in need of some maintenance and updating and those projects are now underway. In order to uphold the Choice Hotels standard we are making many improvements to the property and guest rooms. All new bedding and beds will be in place this... More 

North America
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I had to make a last minute reservation in the area and they were happy to accommodate. With mixed reviews I was a little skeptical but there were few choices for a last minute decision. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff was very nice and went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. The hotel has gone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minocqua, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

There is nothing good to say about this hotel except for the great girls at the front desk. It is run down and obviously has had no maintenance since it was built in the 70's. The room was 125.00 a night and it wasn't worth any more than 39.00 a night. The bed was hard and bottom sheet didn't stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Comfort4404, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments regarding the hotel. Please be aware that the property is under new management as of the first of June and renovations are being scheduled for this fall. We are very sorry that your stay was less than perfect and we welcome the chance to show you the changes we've made. More 

Orland Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have stayed here many times in the past and this will be our last visit. Some construction in the hallways gave it an urban warfare look. Elevator out of order, ice machine out of order. Many items out at breakfast and nobody at the front desk at checkout. Discomfort Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding the property. Please be aware that the hotel is under new management and I am working to correct many of the issues that have been neglected. We are scheduled to begin renovations this fall which will address a wide range of concerns. We hope to have our property at or above Choice Standards by... More 

Neenah, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

As of spring, 2014, this property is no longer part of the Choice Hotel chain. That's why they do not show up on the Choice.com website. They answer the phone "Sault Saint Marie Comfort Inn", as compared to "Comfort Inn" in the past, but are not part of that chain any more. I stay here 10-12 times per year and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I do apologize for the less than perfect representation of our property. I would like to verify that, due to a clerical error, our property was not listed through Choice Hotels for a short period of time. Please feel free to verify that this situation has been rectified. The hotel will also be undergoing renovations this fall to improve the... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have stated at this hotel several times on business over the last year I have noticed ever increase decline in service including the front desk. Staff and poor breakfast . They are no longer part of the choice program so I can book on line nor do I receive any reward points. I could not cancel my current reservation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I would like to verify that, for a brief time, we were not on the Choice Hotels website for online bookings. Due to a clerical error which has been rectified we slipped from the Choice line. All reservations in our system were still honored and all points were still given for the stay during this brief interruption. As for the... More 

Orlando
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

the hotel is next a shopping plaza and food courts. Good for short stay. Heater works fine and its quiet inside. The staff are friendly. The breakfast is fine and coffee always available. and of course there us an indoor clean swimming pool

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zeeland, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Not a good experiance at all! Room was decent and clean but the front staff, other than when I checked in, were not very helpful. I booked a room for 2 nights while attending my Aunt's funeral. While at the funeral there were 6 differant charges for a total of $710 on my debit card. Ryan the manager never returned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I would like to first of all apologize for your previous stay. The individual mentioned in your review is no longer the General Manager of this property. In order to make some much needed changes to the service and quality of stay for our guests, the owner has opted to bring in new management. Our staff is currently undergoing a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 4404 I-75 Bus. Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Comfort Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Comfort Inn

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay