We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silver Beach Hotel

2.0 of 5
100 Main Street, Saint Joseph, MI 49085
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Beach Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Silver Beach Hotel
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    72
    72
    58
    114
See reviews for
122
110
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (354)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (204)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We get into our room and there is no comfortable spread on the bed. My girlfriend is so cold but will not allow me to complain. This room sucks as we'll as the hotel bar. It is very dark and would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Front Office Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry for any inconvenience, but like most hotels and chains we have switched to not putting bed spreads on our beds in our rooms. We have found this to be more hygienic and environmentally friendly, we would always be happy to bring you as many blankets as you needed for your stay. We hope next time if... More 

Oregon, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Stayed on a Wed. night so it was quiet enough. Front desk lady was very nice and I got a room for $65. Rooms are a bit dated and a little run down but they are clean. The breakfast was tasty. Close to the beach and downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
South Haven, MI.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Booked a room(#423) for N.Y.E with the party bundle for $100. The desk mang happens to share the same bday as mine. Quick check in. My room was nice, from the reviews, its like I got lucky. Everything was up 2 standard for me, and the price couldn't be beat with admission for N.Y.E. 2 resturants across the street, Jets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I honestly do not understand why people complain about this place.. Nice staff-awesome location-amazing exercise room-swimming pool. I enjoyed the balcony- I liked the rooms.. We had a nice time here-they were so helpful. Breakfast is good.. We will for sure return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Missouri, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

Loud & obnoxious thugs kept us up from 2-after 3 am... Reported the 3X's !!! I'd never recommend this hotel to those who's like a good night's sleep ! Location is great ..., but again , if your purpose was to sleep , or you have a family , then this is a poor choice

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Front Office Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We're so sorry you didn't have a good night's rest this Saturday! We did evict the other guests, but of course that doesn't quite make up for their disturbing behavior. You're a repeat guest, so we'd love to have you come back. We'll make sure you have the most quiet, best room that we have available, and as always, we'll... More 

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

This is a sad, yellowed, dilapidated building. As I pulled up I realized I would not be getting my $225 worth, as I was greeted by cracked plaster, grimy tiles, shattered light fixtures, etc. The hotel staff looked tired and overwhelmed, especially by the computer, which was probably an Apple IIe. The room smelled of stale tobacco, probably because it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

What a missed opportunity to have something great here. So much potential, just needs some upgrades to the pool area, breakfast area and the TVs in the rooms. Otherwise, love that we could walk everywhere and enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I agree with kimrager. It was definitely not worth the price we paid. The hotel needs updated badly. I had to run the water 4 minutes before it was warm enough to even think about taking a shower. Also the temperature had to be adjusted constantly while taking a shower. Two rooms have a common balcony with only a 3... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The hotel is not an historic landmark. It is a short walk to the beach and Amtrak station. It was a great value for the money compared to expensive B and B close or on the beach. The American breakfast is good and plenty nothing fancy. The staff members are helpful, friendly, professionals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

The only reason to stay in this hotel is because it's near the water and the shops. But this hotel is old and worn, the mattresses are uncomfortable, curtains falling down, sinks scratched etc. The cost is too high for the outdated beat-up atmosphere. If they would fix this hotel up, it could be awesome because of the location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question