We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silver Beach Hotel

100 Main Street, Saint Joseph, MI 49085
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Beach Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Silver Beach Hotel
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    71
    71
    57
    114
See reviews for
122
108
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (350)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (204)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Missouri, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loud & obnoxious thugs kept us up from 2-after 3 am... Reported the 3X's !!! I'd never recommend this hotel to those who's like a good night's sleep ! Location is great ..., but again , if your purpose was to sleep , or you have a family , then this is a poor choice

Was this review helpful? Yes
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Front Office Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We're so sorry you didn't have a good night's rest this Saturday! We did evict the other guests, but of course that doesn't quite make up for their disturbing behavior. You're a repeat guest, so we'd love to have you come back. We'll make sure you have the most quiet, best room that we have available, and as always, we'll... More 

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

This is a sad, yellowed, dilapidated building. As I pulled up I realized I would not be getting my $225 worth, as I was greeted by cracked plaster, grimy tiles, shattered light fixtures, etc. The hotel staff looked tired and overwhelmed, especially by the computer, which was probably an Apple IIe. The room smelled of stale tobacco, probably because it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

What a missed opportunity to have something great here. So much potential, just needs some upgrades to the pool area, breakfast area and the TVs in the rooms. Otherwise, love that we could walk everywhere and enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I agree with kimrager. It was definitely not worth the price we paid. The hotel needs updated badly. I had to run the water 4 minutes before it was warm enough to even think about taking a shower. Also the temperature had to be adjusted constantly while taking a shower. Two rooms have a common balcony with only a 3... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The hotel is not an historic landmark. It is a short walk to the beach and Amtrak station. It was a great value for the money compared to expensive B and B close or on the beach. The American breakfast is good and plenty nothing fancy. The staff members are helpful, friendly, professionals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

The only reason to stay in this hotel is because it's near the water and the shops. But this hotel is old and worn, the mattresses are uncomfortable, curtains falling down, sinks scratched etc. The cost is too high for the outdated beat-up atmosphere. If they would fix this hotel up, it could be awesome because of the location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

After I booked this hotel for a overnight business trip, I read more of the reviews and got really nervous. I actually tried to call and cancel my reservation, but couldn't get through to the hotel. I am actually glad I didn't cancel. It really wasn't as bad as everyone was making it out to be. I booked through their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014 via mobile

Our visit was for our son's wedding held at a local venue. The hotels' location was perfect. I found the staff to be professional and courteous. This hotel needs updating, some in our party had lumpy beds, some found long hairs on there beds and/or in the tubs. Tubs are stained and have many scratches. In the tub/shower there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was brief since we were there for a wedding, but for the cost of the room I expected something beautiful. For $200-something a night, this hotel was run down and in major need of updating. The staff was fine and the cleaning ladies were sweet, but the facility itself was more like an $89-100 room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cincy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

old property, AC was noisy and sub par. Breakfast ok, the staff worked to ensure the food was sufficient Room was clean but drab and old not close to the beach or anything else I would book a different hotel if returning to this area

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Hot tub(6)
  • Parking lot(5)
  • Holiday inn(3)

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Address: 100 Main Street, Saint Joseph, MI 49085
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Beach Saint Joseph
Hotel Silver Beach

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay