We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silver Beach Hotel

100 Main Street, Saint Joseph, MI 49085
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Beach Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Silver Beach Hotel
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    73
    73
    59
    114
See reviews for
122
111
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (357)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (204)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room was large...bathroom was so small you barely had room to turn around. Breakfast was terrible, but it was free, so I guess you get what you pay for. Found a cute little bakery about half a block away that served breakfast, so did not have to deal with the hotel breakfast again. Very convenient to the downtown area, nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ortonville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here 1 night for a wedding reception. Ample parking in the rear for guests but staff was congregating outside on their breaks I presume. Tried to check in at 1pm and they said our room was not ready but we could have a room on a different floor from our party. We opted to wait and joined our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Saint Joseph hotels

Dowagiac, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

4 of us stayed for the BBQ Blues Fest ...the staff was friendly and very helpful. Our rooms were comfortable enough and clean. Breakfast was great and they made sure everything was kept full. I would stay again. The bar is dark and not much fun for an early crowd ...not sure about later after 10.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We get into our room and there is no comfortable spread on the bed. My girlfriend is so cold but will not allow me to complain. This room sucks as we'll as the hotel bar. It is very dark and would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Front Office Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry for any inconvenience, but like most hotels and chains we have switched to not putting bed spreads on our beds in our rooms. We have found this to be more hygienic and environmentally friendly, we would always be happy to bring you as many blankets as you needed for your stay. We hope next time if... More 

Oregon, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Stayed on a Wed. night so it was quiet enough. Front desk lady was very nice and I got a room for $65. Rooms are a bit dated and a little run down but they are clean. The breakfast was tasty. Close to the beach and downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
South Haven, MI.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Booked a room(#423) for N.Y.E with the party bundle for $100. The desk mang happens to share the same bday as mine. Quick check in. My room was nice, from the reviews, its like I got lucky. Everything was up 2 standard for me, and the price couldn't be beat with admission for N.Y.E. 2 resturants across the street, Jets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I honestly do not understand why people complain about this place.. Nice staff-awesome location-amazing exercise room-swimming pool. I enjoyed the balcony- I liked the rooms.. We had a nice time here-they were so helpful. Breakfast is good.. We will for sure return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Missouri, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

Loud & obnoxious thugs kept us up from 2-after 3 am... Reported the 3X's !!! I'd never recommend this hotel to those who's like a good night's sleep ! Location is great ..., but again , if your purpose was to sleep , or you have a family , then this is a poor choice

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Front Office Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We're so sorry you didn't have a good night's rest this Saturday! We did evict the other guests, but of course that doesn't quite make up for their disturbing behavior. You're a repeat guest, so we'd love to have you come back. We'll make sure you have the most quiet, best room that we have available, and as always, we'll... More 

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

This is a sad, yellowed, dilapidated building. As I pulled up I realized I would not be getting my $225 worth, as I was greeted by cracked plaster, grimy tiles, shattered light fixtures, etc. The hotel staff looked tired and overwhelmed, especially by the computer, which was probably an Apple IIe. The room smelled of stale tobacco, probably because it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

What a missed opportunity to have something great here. So much potential, just needs some upgrades to the pool area, breakfast area and the TVs in the rooms. Otherwise, love that we could walk everywhere and enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay