We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Certificate of Excellence
2.0 of 5
Hotel website
1067 North State St. / I-75, Saint Ignace, MI 49781 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront)
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
kevinmd1 Baltimore, Maryland
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    101
    72
    31
    21
    8
See reviews for
87
89
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (233)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (117)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

But didn't bother to leave enough towels. Soap in the shower would have been nice also. Breakfast was average hotel quality continental breakfast. Not enough seating though. Room was clean enough, and a decent size. Great view of Lake Huron!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel has its pros and cons, detailed below, but overall we were all pleased with our stay here.Traveling with kids and grandkids, we had 2 adjoining rooms, which worked out well. Check in was easy, staff were friendly. We loved the indoor pool, which was even warm enough for me, and that seldom happens. They have 2 hot tubs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review

While I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us, Marcia, I'm a little concerned about some of the things you wrote. I know that a good night's sleep makes a relaxing trip, so I'm surprised our beds weren't soft and comfortable for you. It's true that we are an older facility, but my team does a thorough job cleaning.... More 

West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just got back from a trip touring Michigan. Though the lakefront view was beautiful here, it was not worth the old,gross rooms. There were so many dead bugs on our walls, floor and table it was unbelievable. The hotel itself is very dated and overall just does not radiate cleanliness. I would not recommend this place especially for families... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review

While the summer season gives way to more bugs, to hear that there were so many is surprising. It's true that we're an older facility, but cleanliness is a top priority, and my team does a thorough job cleaning each room before new guests arrive. I take feedback like this to heart, so I'll be sure to follow up with... More 

Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is great to see excellent reviews still of this location. We stayed while on a summer vacation with our daughter. Two room suite was very spacious. The staff was excellent, the location was peaceful the view of the sunrise over the lake was nothing short of a masterpiece from our balcony. We would most certainly stay at the Bavarian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review

It sounds like you and your family had a pleasant stay with us, and I couldn't be happier to hear it The view is gorgeous out here, so I'm glad you had a chance to enjoy it. We look forward to seeing you again! All the best, Howard Cole, Owner More 

Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 3 nights in a 3-queen suite. The room was spacious, the beds were comfortable and the view of Lake Huron was outstanding, especially during sunrise! The breakfast buffet was better than adequate (the biscuits were cold one day - which is about the only complaint I could come up with). The kids loved the pool. The location was quiet,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review

Spacious rooms, quiet location, and a beautiful view sounds like a relaxing vacation indeed, and I'm thrilled to hear it, Dennis. I'm glad that you and your family had such a pleasant stay with us, and we look forward to the next time you're visiting from Indiana. All the best, Howard Cole, Owner More 

Mocksville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wish we could have stayed here a little longer, but this was only one night near the end of a 3-week trip. The room was large and lovely with a deck facing Lake Huron and Mackinac Island. Lovely pool and hot tub and a great breakfast room overlooking the lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review

We wish you could have had a longer stay too! But I'm glad you felt right at home with a big space and a beautiful view. We'd love to see you again when you're visiting from North Carolina, so don't be a stranger! Safe travels, Howard Cole, Owner More 

Petoskey, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a GREAT place. Rooms, staff, service, etc. were terrific. But what was really cool was the location. Located right on the water the panoramic views included the Northwest side of Mackinac Island on over to the Les Cheneaux Islands. It was fun watching the wildlife "wake up" over the water as the sun came up. Although they offer a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review

Man, Andy, this review is a treasure to read! The view certainly is breathtaking around here, so I'm glad you got to enjoy it to its fullest. It's great that you felt right at home with us, and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in the area. All the best, Howard Cole, Owner More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was friendly and helpful. This hotel was very clean and well kept. The view of the lake was spectacular. I have two very minor complaints. The first is that the refrigerator froze our food (we did not think of changing the temperature until after we left). The second was the fact that the gravy at breakfast was cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review

I apologize about the fridge and gravy -- I'm actually surprised it was cold both days. I'll be sure to look into it, so thanks for your feedback. I'm glad that everything else, however, was spot on for you! From the clean rooms to the beautiful view, it sounds like you had a wonderful trip. All the best, Howard Cole,... More 

Ann Arbor, MI
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are many hotels and motels in St. Ignace. I booked this place because it said it had a sauna. The sauna stove was broken or barely functioning and couldn't warm up the room; I didn't even break a sweat. It was like so many other forgotten hotel saunas. Other than that, the room was clean and the beds comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that the sauna didn't work for you, especially since that was your main reason for booking with us. I appreciate you letting us know -- I'll be sure to check on that so it'll be up and running. Besides that, I'm glad that the rest of your stay was comfortable. Hope the rest of your trip went well.... More 

Johannesburg, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This overnight stay was a gift to us for our anniversary. All of the staff was pleasant and helpful. Our room was very clean and the view was amazing. Our room overlooked Lake Huron and we were able to relax by the water and enjoy the clean beachfront. Nothing is better than waking up to a continental breakfast and to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review

From the continental breakfast to the amazing view, it sounds like you had the perfect anniversary! The UP certainly is beautiful, so it's great you got to enjoy the scenery. Thank you for including us in the celebration -- we look forward to seeing you next time. All the best, Howard Cole, Owner More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay