We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

America's Best Value Inn

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
1074 N. State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
America's Best Value Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    24
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (64)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very clean affordable place to stay when traveling. Friendly staff, very clean room, front desk staff made you feel welcome. The continental breakfast was above other hotels offering this ... Tasty food. Definitely would find this chain when traveling.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The biscuits and sausage gravy is good isn't it? I'm glad you found our staff so helpful and friendly. Hope to see you again! More 

Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We stopped here for a night on our way up to camp at Twelve Mile beach and because it was a great stay stopped again on our way back home. Great price, awesome staff, very clean, and comfy. The decor is a little dated but it's a hotel...the room was very clean and comfy. I always find it funny that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We hope you'll be back again this summer! More 

Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

It was recommended to us to stay at this hotel by some family members who stayed in July 2014. They said it wasn't fancy, but clean and well priced. They were right! My husband and I stayed for one night and were very pleased. The room was clean, which is my number one requirement when staying at a hotel. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I'm glad you and your family liked our place so much. We are in the process of upgrading every tv to flat screen, however, it takes a little time. I'm glad you found everything to be clean and our staff so friendly. Hope to see you again! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Stayed here on the weekend after labor day. When we went to check in, my wife's "discount card" was not eligible. But to compensate, or just to be nice perhaps, they upgraded us to a king sized room and bed at no cost. When we got to the room, I opened the door and was shocked.... This is the cleanest,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the excellent review. I'm so happy you enjoyed so many things about our motel and staff. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and appreciate the feedback. I'm glad you found our staff to be very friendly as well. Thanks for staying and hope to see you again! More 

Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Clean and quite and less than a mile from the ferries. Excellent rate especially when you join the free club. Breakfast was better than the average continental. Very friendly staff and don't forget to ask for the Chamber of Commerce money bag. It cost $10, but it has a buy one get one free Mackinac Island ferry coupon for any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We do have several opportunities to save money available for our guests. The Mackinac Money Bag is definitely a hit with our customers! Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again! More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

For the price we paid it was not bad but the room definitely needed a better cleaning job. I had to clean the room before staying and we were moved the next night. The refrigerator was dirty, table had grease on it, dead bugs on window and room wall, live bug crawling on garbage can. Room we were moved to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry you were disappointed in your first room. Anything but spotless is unacceptable and I'm glad you found that to be true when you were moved the second night. We always have someone available to our guests and am happy to hear you found them to be very helpful. Thanks for staying and... More 

Brighton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Great location for a brief stopover, rather than a resort vacation.Convenient to downtown and all the attractions. Motel style building with cars in the center forecourt means it can be noisy until everybody is in their rooms at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Like you, we enjoy our location because it is close to town yet far enough away to be out of the downtown, busy area. Our building is a horseshoe shape and the parking lot can be a bit busy at times but we rarely have issues with noise. We have someone available to handle... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The carpet was torn, the bathroom wallpaper was peeling at the seams, and the bathroom door hinges were rusty. The room was very small. The bed was comfortable though and the breakfast was good. Location was not bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm disappointed you were not satisfied with your stay. We are continuously doing renovations to update our building/business. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast and found our beds to be comfortable, however, and I hope you can try us again. Thanks for staying. More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We booked this as an express deal on Priceline. Got a fair price and had a really nice stay. Pros: The pool was great, it was a welcomed treat for us and the kids after a long car ride. The room was clean. We had a quiet stay. Friendly staff, especially the front desk lady! Good breakfast. My only complaint:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and the great review. I'm glad you liked the pool and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I'm sorry the beds were not to your liking but it is hard to please everyone when it comes to their mattress preference (some like firm and some like soft). Our front desk staff leaves... More 

Haslett, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our trip plans changed a little and we didn't have a reservation for one night in St Ignace. Every place in town had no vacancy signs. We walked I thinking we would hear no and they just had an opening as I walked through the door. The place was full but we didn't hear anyone. Very, very friendly front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review! I'm glad you found our staff friendly, helpful and everything to be clean. I'm happy we had a place for you on a busy weekend. Thanks for staying and hope to see you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay