We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Romulus Detroit Airport

Hotel website
Hotel packages
9095 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174 (Formerly Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Travelodge Romulus Detroit Airport
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Macomb
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

Checked into room 212, right away noticed makeup on the pillow cases. Receptionist apologized, gave me 312. This was worst than 212. Top sheet had huge stains in 3 places. Corner of room had cobwebs. Broken toilet seat, walls in room had visible marks and stains. The room was cheap, but that is no excuse for very unsanitary conditions. No... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jw0413
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Red Lion Inns is a fairly reputable hotel chain with high standards – at least on the west coast. Here in Michigan, at Detroit Metro airport – no so much. We had to make a last minute trip to Detroit and need a room at a hotel close to the airport. Being fairly familiar with Red Lion and their high... More 

Helpful?
Thank catriona120
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

This hotel is fairly well located near to Detroit's Metropolitan Airport, however, does not suffer from loud aircraft noise. It is not especially close to much else, though, and transport is non-existent. The people working here were nice and very friendly, and made us feel welcome. The bed was comfortable, and the room adequate, although the bathroom was a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank andrewnp
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

This is a spot with cheap inexpensive rooms. They are basic, but clean. No over the top amenities. You get breakfast, wi-fi, and a bed. If you're not happy with that, then I'd say this isnt for you. The staff was attending and it is hop, skip & jump from DTW Airport. Shuttle provided here, as well.

Helpful?
Thank MsChicara
WG48680, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Romulus Detroit Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. More 

Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

Bad, bad , bad!! One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed! Started off with a call to the hotel inquiring as to where to catch the shuttle, the clerk grilled us on where we were and said she wouldn't send it until we were outside, we were outside within 2 minutes, waited 15 minutes longer and saw several... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snowdance02
WG48680, Director of Sales at Travelodge Romulus Detroit Airport, responded to this review

Dear Snowdance, I'm so sorry that you were disappointed in your stay here. It sounds like you had a very frustrating day. We do ask a lot of questions when passengers call from the airport, but I guess I didn't realize it sounded like grilling. We ask because most persons call from baggage claim, they are getting their luggage and... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

We utilized this hotel specifically for the park and ride promotion. We stay one night and get to park the car there with free 24/7 shuttle to and from the airport. I booked a non-smoking room and upon check-in we were assigned a non-smoking room. However, when I opened the door, I was hit with the most awful stale cigarette... More 

Helpful?
Thank Masako W
WG48680, Director of Sales at Travelodge Romulus Detroit Airport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We do have a strict non-smoking policy here, and all of our rooms are non-smoking rooms. Sometimes a guest disregards policy and breaks our rules. When this happens, we treat the room with a substance designed to eliminate the odor, but apparently, it did not work very... More 

Taylor, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

Stayed 3 weeks and had an excellent stay. Hotel Staff very friendly and helpful whenever I needed anything. A smile from staff workers makes a difference like they actually care about their guests! Recommend this hotel anytime.

Helpful?
Thank georgann51
WG48680, Director of Sales at Travelodge Romulus Detroit Airport, responded to this review

Dear Georgann51, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here with other travelers! You were a pleasure to host right from the first moment you checked in. Good luck in your new home! Sincerely, Rebecca Connolly More 

Flat Rock, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

Got a discount from Groupon, stayed two consequetive Fridays. I wouldnt pay full price. Rooms were decent. Stayed there to collect my benefits from a fwb relationship. Beds not so comfy, pillows were fluffy. Room was clean. No shampoo/conditioner included. Nice folded edge of TP. Has fridge big enough for a couple sixers. Stayed on bottom floor to allow for... More 

Helpful?
Thank springbreakfluffer
WG48680, Director of Sales at Travelodge Romulus Detroit Airport, responded to this review

I respectfully decline to respond to this review. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I booked this hotel, online and didn't know what to expect. Rebecca was amazing and friendly. Professional and showed a great interest in our needs and comfort. Rebecca made sure everything was perfect and our room was very nice. We love the all natural bathroom products as well. Fine service and fine staff. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Theodore W
WG48680, Director of Sales at Travelodge Romulus Detroit Airport, responded to this review

Dear Theodore, Guests like you are the reason I love my job!! You were a true pleasure to work with and we're so glad you were pleased with your stay. Congratulations on your move, and please stay with us any time!! Sincerely, Rebecca Connolly More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

Booked it via a last minute secret deal on Hotwire. So, this was a 'surprise'. It's right next to the Wyndham which made me comfortable going into hotel for the first time. The beds, bathroom was clean. Was happily surprised to find a microwave and mini-fridge. Would have liked an iron in the room. I called for one at 11pm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pooja J
WG48680, Director of Sales at Travelodge Romulus Detroit Airport, responded to this review

Dear Pooja, I am glad you were comfortable here and felt like you got a good value! I'm sorry that I was unable to provide an iron at the time that you requested it, but we loan them to guests and they are returned at the guest's convenience. I am having maintenance check the heating unit in the room you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn Romulus Airport
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Romulus Detroit Metropolitan Airport
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Romulus/Detroit Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay