We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport

Hotel website
Hotel packages
9095 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    11
    9
    14
    10
See reviews for
11
17
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
California
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is disgusting. Room #1 smells of smoke and has damaged window that doesn't open/close properly and on ground floor, so security concerns cause us to move. Room #2 Linens have weird stains (So So So So gross), tub faucet leaked (ALL NIGHT LONG), mildew smell, just gross. Tub is a corner-style so if you enjoy relaxing in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a prime example of the old phrase, "you get what you pay for." The room was clean, but basic amenities that one would expect at this price range (coffee maker, etc.) were not included or available. Our room did not have wifi and we were denied a room change. Many of the reviews point out the poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We do have coffee makers on order for each room, and a limited number of spares available on request. As far as the wifi, we have experienced some intermittent outages by our carrier (a hazard near the airport, alas) and did not have another room available due to flight issues on the date of your stay (also a... More 

Rocklin, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Red Lion Inn of Romulus sits just under the flight path of planes arriving at Detroit International Airport. It is a smaller hotel where when we checked in were surprised to find the receptionist concealed behind a very high reception desk. Sitting behind the desk the clerk made no attempt to welcome us to his establishment and only got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, It sounds like you expected much more from us than you got. I will say that I'm sorry that you were not greeted warmly by the front desk, and that the room you were assigned had a plumbing malfunction. One I will address with staff, and the other is an occasional hazard which I can simply apologize for.... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,195 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 652 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent one night here, our first since it was reflagged from a Ramada to a Red Lion Inn & Suites. Was surprised check-in agent was sitting in breakfast area watching TV when we arrived. Was more surprised when she demanded a copy of our driver's license ("We keep it for 30 days, you know.") received room 123, king n/s, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Saranger, I feel compelled first to say that you are right, we are NOT a full service hotel. We do not proclaim to be such. Nor have we ever been branded Ramada. We were most recently a Red Roof Inn, branding changed in December. I do apologize for the coffee maker situation. Currently we are awaiting a shipment, but... More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was friendly & easy check in. Delta had given me a voucher for a one night stay. I was sent to the Wyndham Gardens. After 2 rooms & mold & filth, I was sent across the parking lot to Red Lion. The staff was waiting for me when I arrived. The room was somewhat clean. The tiles in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share your observations with us. We take all guest comments to heart as it is our desire to exceed your expectations. It sounds as though we didn't quite master that this time. I'm sorry about that, and have passed your remarks on to the housekeeping staff about the tissue and the... More 

Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

I rate this hotel high, because i had clean, quiet, secure, comfortable room, at low rate. What more could anyone ask for. Hotel is located close to Detroit Metro airport, & is hard to find at first, but is minutes from I-94, about twenty minutes from downtown Detroit, & maybe ten minutes from Ann Arbor. Breakfast is simple & high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here with other travelers! We appreciate your kind words very much. I am sorry that you had trouble with the WIFI connection.... Your notes are so thorough, and we loved your feedback. Yours is exactly the type of experience we strive to give our guests! Thanks... More 

Romulus, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015 via mobile

My stay here was great. It was quite and relaxing. I like how they redid the hotel. The bed was comfortable and i like how they have red on the wall (red being my favorite color). Overall i enjoyed my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review our property. We're glad you like the renovations. (and we like red too!) Please come and stay with us again! Sincerely, Rebecca Connolly More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

this is the best hotel for the money you would be absolutely crazy to go someplace else after three experiences with area hotels I Luckily fell upon this one ( thank you price line) The staff was excellent, the room and bathroom were clean and smelled good. All and all I was very happy

Was this review helpful? Yes
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so glad that your internet browsing brought you to our door! Customers like you are the very best advertisement for us and we hope you will come back soon and often! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and share your experience with other travelers! Best wishes to you, Rebecca Connolly More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 via mobile

Was here for 5 days room got clean 2 out of 5 days and trash can was not emptied. Can here other doors open and close making a lot of noise. Towels and wash cloths are very rug and had makeup stained recommend changing laundry products.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am so sorry about your experience with us, and want to apologize from the entire staff. We had a miscommunication regarding the servicing of stayover guest rooms. We have a few long term guests who are on an arrangement to service Monday and Thursday only. One of our new housekeepers thought that was the normal routine for... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

I'm here on work from Florida the staff here has been great. Rooms very clean rooms and the staff is very helpful their breakfast bar and coffee is fresh and hot I would recommend the Red Lion to any of my friends as they went out of their way to make me comfortable I give him 10 all across the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you so much for your kind words. We really do work tirelessly to assure that our guests have a pleasant experience when they stay with us and it's gratifying to hear that you enjoyed your experience here! Please come again, anytime, and we'd be delighted to welcome your friends, family and business associates! Sincerely, Rebecca Connolly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay