We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport

Hotel website
Hotel packages
9095 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    13
    11
    14
    10
See reviews for
13
17
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and it was worth the price. They let me check in early, and gave me everything I asked for. It was quiet, the bed was comfortable, and I got a good night's sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Candace, Thank you so much for your rating and review comments. The staff here at Red Lion do our very best to make each guest comfortable. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Sincerely, Rebecca Connolly More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With the Groupon promotion, we manage to get two nights at the Red Lion hotel near the Detroit Metro airport. It costs us about $80 for both nights and it is probably the most affordable hotel in that area. This hotel is good for budget sensitive travelers. It is only a few minutes from the airport and they also offer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Jamie, We want to thank you for your review and rating. We are sorry that your peace was disturbed by another guest, and that we were unable to control the other party. We do, however appreciate your understanding over that situation. Your remarks are much valued, and I will pass your compliments along to housekeeping and the desk staff.... More 

Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

1. Location is good, only 5~10 minutes drive from DTW airport. Shuttle is available from/to DTW, which departs from the hotel at top of the hour. 2. Room (bathroom, bed) is spacious. 3. Breakfast is as simple as it can be. 4. Laundry is availble. 5. Other than that, nothing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear MWOkey, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our hotel. We are not fancy, but we do our best to deliver on the basic, pleasant housing you would expect. Our shuttle service is a convenience most of our guests enjoy, and it actually runs on the hour and on the half hour, 24 hours a day!... More 

Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

I stayed here overnight to collect my son from a red-eye flight from San Francisco. My main reasons for picking it were low price, and airport location with 24 hour shuttle. It met my needs and expectations perfectly well. I asked for and was given a ground floor room next to an entrance to the parking lot, as I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear ClimbnRide, Thank you so much for taking the time to do such a thorough assessment of our property. I am glad that you found us hospitable and comfortable, and a good value for your travel dollar! We appreciate all feedback, and the no-nonsense style you use is just the kind of thing most people want to read to get... More 

California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

This place is disgusting. Room #1 smells of smoke and has damaged window that doesn't open/close properly and on ground floor, so security concerns cause us to move. Room #2 Linens have weird stains (So So So So gross), tub faucet leaked (ALL NIGHT LONG), mildew smell, just gross. Tub is a corner-style so if you enjoy relaxing in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear David B., My understanding is that you spoke with our General Manager prior to leaving the property and voiced your concerns. Thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, Rebecca Connolly More 

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

This hotel is a prime example of the old phrase, "you get what you pay for." The room was clean, but basic amenities that one would expect at this price range (coffee maker, etc.) were not included or available. Our room did not have wifi and we were denied a room change. Many of the reviews point out the poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We do have coffee makers on order for each room, and a limited number of spares available on request. As far as the wifi, we have experienced some intermittent outages by our carrier (a hazard near the airport, alas) and did not have another room available due to flight issues on the date of your stay (also a... More 

Rocklin, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

The Red Lion Inn of Romulus sits just under the flight path of planes arriving at Detroit International Airport. It is a smaller hotel where when we checked in were surprised to find the receptionist concealed behind a very high reception desk. Sitting behind the desk the clerk made no attempt to welcome us to his establishment and only got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, It sounds like you expected much more from us than you got. I will say that I'm sorry that you were not greeted warmly by the front desk, and that the room you were assigned had a plumbing malfunction. One I will address with staff, and the other is an occasional hazard which I can simply apologize for.... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,289 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 671 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

Spent one night here, our first since it was reflagged from a Ramada to a Red Lion Inn & Suites. Was surprised check-in agent was sitting in breakfast area watching TV when we arrived. Was more surprised when she demanded a copy of our driver's license ("We keep it for 30 days, you know.") received room 123, king n/s, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Saranger, I feel compelled first to say that you are right, we are NOT a full service hotel. We do not proclaim to be such. Nor have we ever been branded Ramada. We were most recently a Red Roof Inn, branding changed in December. I do apologize for the coffee maker situation. Currently we are awaiting a shipment, but... More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

The staff was friendly & easy check in. Delta had given me a voucher for a one night stay. I was sent to the Wyndham Gardens. After 2 rooms & mold & filth, I was sent across the parking lot to Red Lion. The staff was waiting for me when I arrived. The room was somewhat clean. The tiles in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share your observations with us. We take all guest comments to heart as it is our desire to exceed your expectations. It sounds as though we didn't quite master that this time. I'm sorry about that, and have passed your remarks on to the housekeeping staff about the tissue and the... More 

Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

I rate this hotel high, because i had clean, quiet, secure, comfortable room, at low rate. What more could anyone ask for. Hotel is located close to Detroit Metro airport, & is hard to find at first, but is minutes from I-94, about twenty minutes from downtown Detroit, & maybe ten minutes from Ann Arbor. Breakfast is simple & high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WG48680, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn & Suites-Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here with other travelers! We appreciate your kind words very much. I am sorry that you had trouble with the WIFI connection.... Your notes are so thorough, and we loved your feedback. Yours is exactly the type of experience we strive to give our guests! Thanks... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn Romulus Airport
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Romulus Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Romulus/Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay