We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coloma / St Joseph KOA

3527 Coloma Road, Riverside, MI 49084
Coloma / St Joseph KOA
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Stayed there this fall and found the first site they put us in the service (elect water) was to far away so we had to pay more for a pull through. After paying $43 the pool and hot tub were closed and we didn't get Wi-Fi!!! For one night stay and a hot shower it was way over priced. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hazel Crest, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

This KOA was just ok. The spaces were ample however the first one we were assigned to wasn't wide enough so the clerk switched us and our spot was fine. This park was mostly owners that parked their trailers and I sited throughout the year. Friendly people. We walked the park and it was pretty clean. The bathroom area left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Olivet, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I love this area but this campground is not so great. The bathrooms needed cleaning the whole weekend we were there. The toilets wouldn't flush properly and there was no soap in the soap dispensers. I've been to a lot of campgrounds but this one was a big disappointment. Someone really needs to give them a run for their money... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Coloma / St Joseph KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do our best to keep all of our facilities clean but there are times where we cannot due to a large number of guests in the park and the need to close the facilities down temporarily during cleaning times. Please accept our apologies regarding their appearance though as... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We booked a last minute camping trip over Labor Day weekend. I was pleasantly surprised to get a site here, as getting into our usual state park is impossible unless you book 6 months in advance. I was a little skeptical of the koa; I usually prefer a more natural setting at a state park. But I was pleasantly surprised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Weve been coming here because of the location. We like the beaches in the area. The campsite needs updating. Worse part is the peope that own it are not very friendly. They have games for kids but they are fixed. Year after year. The owners family members always win and all the other kids end up feeling bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Coloma / St Joseph KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us regarding the games available for the children to enjoy. We apologize that you felt they were not fair for everyone involved and we will do our best to reevaluate how we conduct the activities to help make this more transparent for... More 

London, Kentucky
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was by far the WORST KOA experience we have ever had! We have stayed at several all over the US, and the campground at Coloma does NOT deserve the awesome KOA name. We had a long drive, and got started late, so we called to let them know we would be getting in late, when we called we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Coloma / St Joseph KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please accept our apologies that your recent stay with us was not up to your expectations. We do provide night registration for campers who arrive after our office is closed and do put a limited number of maps outside as well. It is possible that another camper grabbed too... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a great time here last summer so when we needed a place to stop coming back from Mackinac the choice was easy. We came in on a friday night and would have stayed 2 nights but they were fully booked on Saturday. As we started to set up the camper our 7 year old disappeared to the bounce... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Coloma / St Joseph KOA, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us during your recent vacation. Our jumping pillow, as your 7 year old quickly found out, is one of our most popular amenities! Glad to hear you really enjoyed the peace and quiet we offer for all of our campers and hope you'll find time to return and see... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My mom and sister and myself go camping in Michigan every summer- and we chose st. joe as our destination this time. We usually go to traverse city, or mackinaw city or even the UP. The area is nice, although way more crowded than up north. Silver beach is beautiful, but crowded. This is more of a party place- than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Coloma / St Joseph KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please accept our apologies that your recent stay was not up to your expectations. We do our best to enforce quiet time throughout our entire park so all of our guests can enjoy their vacation. Occasionally we do miss someone or something though and for that we do apologize.... More 

Elgin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at this KOA. It was our home base for our beach vacation to the MI Dunes. Only 10 mins to Silver Beach and 25 mins to Warren Dunes. So much to do at the campground for the kids. Spacious shaded sites and clean hot showers. And Ginter and Ursula could not have been more helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worth, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

To whom it may concern, My husband and I are first time camper trailer owners and we chose your location at Coloma/ St Joseph, MI for our very first time out with the camper. My sister and her husband who is also a first time owner as of this past year was going to meet us there so we can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities