We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Ontonagon hotels

Superior Shores Resort

Save Saved
You added Superior Shores Resort to your Saves list
26156 Highway 64, Ontonagon, MI
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (41)
  • Photos (18)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • More
Superior Shores Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Ontonagon
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ontonagon
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Take a step back in time to when lake resorts were simple, clean, inexpensive, and the important thing was the view, the beach, the waves, and the sunsets. Superior Shores takes you back to a time that's increasingly harder to find. We were delighted to spend a couple of days last week at Don & Linda’s place while we hiked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were welcomed by a very friendly owner at the desk. He offered us lots of advice on where to eat, shop, visit, and tips on staying there. Our room was a single king size bed room, with mini fridge, microwave, ironing board, and optional air conditioner that he would hook up if we wanted it (didn't need it). Best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wausau, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We initially found this place while driving along lake superior. We Stayed in the cabin that is right on the shores of Lake Superior. The cabin itself was wonderful, clean, and fairly priced. My husband and I decided to stay there twice and then asked the owner Don after our second trip in the summer of 2013 about reserving another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SupShores1, Owner at Superior Shores Resort, responded to this review

We are just dumbfounded by the ability of people to slam businesses on Trip Advisor. We would like to respond to this review. It would be nice for anyone making bad reviews to first try to resolve any problems prior to posting on social media! We have a cancellation policy of $10 no matter when you make the reservation or... More

Collinsville, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

first i rate this place a zero. please do not stay here ,pass this place by . it is by for the most dirty filthy, nasty place i have ever stepped into, the shower is a 2 foot black mold hole the bedding is bug infested and cabin itself is infested with mice and all kinds of insects, no battery... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SupShores1, Owner at Superior Shores Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unhappy and arrived at a time when there was a high volume of mosquitoes and both black and stable flies. You arrived in the early evening and we had no indication until the next morning there were any issues. You came into the office as said “we need to have a discussion buddy”. You informed... More

Newaygo, Michigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We came to this resort on 6/29 and stayed till 7/3. Check in was prompt and easy, the owners are both very nice and helpful. They give you lots of free info as well as a few really handy reference books that cover the area. We stayed in unit two which was perfect my fiancé and I. The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
New Lisbon, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Don and Linda are first rate hosts! Upon our arrival Don checked us in and gave a friendly review of the grounds rules during our stay. This is a hard thing to do gently, but it's an important reassurance that he does have rules. They are designed for your comfort and safety and they apply to everyone staying there. He... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Here away from the city life you can recharge your batteries! As long as you don't mind keeping it simple and exchanging towels when you need fresh ones in the office, you are un disturbed. We were able to enjoy Lake Superior any time of day right outside our door. Room 3 has a comfortable king size bed, a fridge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Osceola, IA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Reasonable rates and clean rooms. The location was convenient, being only a few miles from both the Porcupine Mountains State Park and Ontonagon. The best feature here is being just steps away from the Lake Superior Shore. We enjoyed walking along the beach, listening to the waves, and seeing the sunsets. The bathroom and shower stall were a bit small,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bay City, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Don and Linda are quite friendly; however, be sure to read the policy letter they give you at check in. Of note: there is no daily maid service - you must take your towels to the office to exchange for clean towels (Really? What hotel does that?) and upon checkout you must empty your own garbage. We also needed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I agree with 1776Thomas regarding Room #7. It is the room to have! We did find it a little odd to have to pass through the bathroom to go from the bedroom to the sitting room but it was only the two of us so it wasn't too bad! Sitting in the morning at the little table having our coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Superior Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Superior Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Shores Resort

Address: 26156 Highway 64, Ontonagon, MI
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ontonagon

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Superior Shores Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer