We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zellar's Village Inn

7552 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868 (Formerly Super 8 Newberry)
Hotel amenities
Zellar's Village Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015
Joseph B Escanaba, Michigan
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    14
    3
    7
    10
See reviews for
14
7
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Worst experience of our lives. We got the confirmation number on this room 7 weeks before arrival. This was a surprise suite for our 2nd wedding anniversary and they already had rented out our room!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
zellars, Manager at Zellar's Village Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you had a bad experience. We strive to do our best to give our guests the chance to experience all the beauty that the Upper Peninsula has to offer with all the comforts of home. I personally apologize for the technical glitch that created the situation where your reservation was altered and you were given a different... More 

Escanaba, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

I've stayed at a lot of different motels and hotels in the U.P. Zellar's in Newberry was exceptional. Very nice and friendly staff. The room was neat and actually clean, new bed was super comfy. The restaurant and lounge are a must if you stay here. Walking distance to lots of local activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
zellars, Manager at Zellar's Village Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your business and the great review of our hotel! We work very hard to ensure that guests have a pleasant time when they stay with us! It's nice to see that those efforts have payed off! I've passed along your praises to the staff and we really hope you choose to stay with us again! More 

Rhodes, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I tried using a 1/2 off deal through my MEA membership and it turned out to be a deal from 2008. The manager was pleased to have the information so he could update the site that was offering the outdated deal. I reserved a room for one night for my husband and I and when we got there it was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
zellars, Manager at Zellar's Village Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your business! I am delighted that you had a nice stay and you enjoyed the suite. We hope to see you again! More 

ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The location of this hotel is great it has a bar in front of it as well as a restaurant no driving after the trails. The rooms were clean and spacious they could do a little work on the continental breakfast but overall a good place to stay. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the trails.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Pictures on the websites are very misleading. Bed are old and broken down and pillows should have been thrown out a few years ago. Room was okay, but carpet and furniture was stained and in need of replacement. The latch on the door did not work at all. Most of the electrical plugs in the room needed to be replaced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

First glance room appears to be clean and well kept. Mattresses were EXTREMELY soft (worn out), sheets and towels were of very poor quality. Dinner and breakfast in their restaurant were decent, better places short drive away. If you use the restaurant, DO NOT WALK THROUGH THE OLD HOTEL HALLWAY! The floors are sinking, carpet stained, smells like death! That... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
china township
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Zellers village inn is a very nice place e to stay. Rooms were clean with mini fridge & microwave. Water was hot! Free coffee in lobby. Staff was very nice. The rates were very reasonable. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Stayed Sept 30 thru Oct 1. Only used the room and wifi. Room was clean and beds were good. Only a few people staying here so it was very quiet at night. They did not charge extra for our dog. Very friendly staff. Only down side was there was a lot of trash in the parking lot and others had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Wonderful experience with my family. We were there for volunteer service at the new kingdom of Jehovah's Witnesses at Newberry. The premises and rooms are clean. The swimming pool is also fun for my children. The small town appeal. Our overall experience is a splendid one. I fully recommend this hotel to all. I will stay again if I happen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Roseville, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent some time traveling the U.P. and stayed in a number of places, this was by far the worst. The lady at the front desk was very friendly, and we didn't think the price was outrageous, so we decided to stay. Especially after a few days of sleeping in a tent, a pool and hot tub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 8 in Newberry
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
2.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
0.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Back to top