We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zellar's Village Inn

7552 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868 (Formerly Super 8 Newberry)
Hotel amenities
Book on
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Book on
or compare prices from over 200 sites including:
Management photos
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
  • 8
  • 16
  • 4
  • 9
  • 10
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
Van Dyne, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

Stayed Saturday/Sunday nights. Very quiet. We heard no traffic. Nice to have a restaurant on premises to have breakfast, lunch and dinner. Beds were comfortable and had a nice room. They are doing some remodeling so rooms will be nicer yet!

Thank Marge W
Lake City, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

The room we had was very nice. It was suite and it was very clean and comfortable. Will stay here again. The Jacuzzi was very nice and made the room that much better. The restaurant close by was a great pace to eat Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. The employees were very friendly and helpful.

Thank ericsM4404QE
Utica, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

Room does not seem entirely clean - rate as poor. Beds are not comfortable. Noise level is worse than average but not unbearable. What bothered me most was witnessing people doing drugs in the parking lot. You do not want your kids to see this. Not a good place for families to stay. I called the police, but they didn't... More 

Thank Concerned_Citizen26
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

No heated pool, hot tub not working and the beds and pillows were not good. The only good thing was that the hotel was pet friendly. We were in the middle of nowhere so i guess it was decent, but my wife and kids wished we stayed at the comfort inn down the road.

1 Thank worldboundRu
Ortonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

We where on the road doing a UP bike trip and headed for a all day ride. The ride consisted of a very bad rain storm with 60 mph winds up rooting trees and getting us to this hotel late at night. Their parking lot is partially dirt with several water filled pot holes that had to be navigated at... More 

4 Thank mark m
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Worst experience of our lives. We got the confirmation number on this room 7 weeks before arrival. This was a surprise suite for our 2nd wedding anniversary and they already had rented out our room!!!

3 Thank Lori P
zellars, Manager at Zellar's Village Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you had a bad experience. We strive to do our best to give our guests the chance to experience all the beauty that the Upper Peninsula has to offer with all the comforts of home. I personally apologize for the technical glitch that created the situation where your reservation was altered and you were given a different... More 

Escanaba, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

I've stayed at a lot of different motels and hotels in the U.P. Zellar's in Newberry was exceptional. Very nice and friendly staff. The room was neat and actually clean, new bed was super comfy. The restaurant and lounge are a must if you stay here. Walking distance to lots of local activities.

2 Thank Joseph B
zellars, Manager at Zellar's Village Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your business and the great review of our hotel! We work very hard to ensure that guests have a pleasant time when they stay with us! It's nice to see that those efforts have payed off! I've passed along your praises to the staff and we really hope you choose to stay with us again! More 

Rhodes, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I tried using a 1/2 off deal through my MEA membership and it turned out to be a deal from 2008. The manager was pleased to have the information so he could update the site that was offering the outdated deal. I reserved a room for one night for my husband and I and when we got there it was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Thank DeannaMeissner
zellars, Manager at Zellar's Village Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your business! I am delighted that you had a nice stay and you enjoyed the suite. We hope to see you again! More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The location of this hotel is great it has a bar in front of it as well as a restaurant no driving after the trails. The rooms were clean and spacious they could do a little work on the continental breakfast but overall a good place to stay. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the trails.

2 Thank ohiopostman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Pictures on the websites are very misleading. Bed are old and broken down and pillows should have been thrown out a few years ago. Room was okay, but carpet and furniture was stained and in need of replacement. The latch on the door did not work at all. Most of the electrical plugs in the room needed to be replaced... More 

7 Thank jrk45
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (10)
Room/suite (6)
Hotel & grounds (3)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 8 in Newberry
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
2.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
0.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay