We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Evening Star Motel

7511 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868
Evening Star Motel
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    15
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
14
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
East Jordan, Michigan
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We decided to stay here for one night July 1st. Wanted to have a pool for the kids. Motel was clean and we had a room with two beds. We needed microwave and fridge. They were tiny but adequate. Beds were hard and must have been old. Overall we were very happy with our stay and the great price! Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,011 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice mom and pop motel, located right in the middle of Newberry. Easy access to other businesses. My room was in the main building where you register and get your breakfast. Simple room with good WI- FI, decent TV channels, comfortable bed, very clean. No phone in room. Excellent rate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

My family and I stay 5 nights up in Newberry every year at the park a way ever since I can remember. The rooms are always clean and the pool area is great. Dale the owner is always welcoming and willing to fix anything that may happen in the drop of a hat, just ask. The remodeling being done is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shawano, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We stayed on the Park-A-Way side for 2 nights, room was clean, a little dated, but overall was a nice stay. Very nice for the price that we paid, hotel was quiet and allowed us to get the rest we needed. Would consider staying again if we were in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Munising
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Very nice people, they serve as your community guide! This is a great location with all of the amenities at an affordable price. Ideal location in that you have access to all the shopping, eating establishments as well as close proximity to Taquemenon area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

A little apprehensive when we drove up, but was recommended by a friend that is a former resident of Newberry. We were pleased with this motel. In a quiet town, comfortable & clean. Not a "name brand" motel but very reasonably priced. Holiday convience store & gas station across the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

reserved room in April of 2014 with owner, requesting a two bed room with kitchen. Upon arrival, staff checked us in within five minutes. I was surprised to see that one bed was in back in kitchen area. No chairs in room except two kitchen chairs. We propped ourselves on pillows to watch TV. Previous reviewer showed pics of dirty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Realize that you are staying at a non-chain, older decor (not run-down, though) motel and you will be happy. The rooms were clean and we slept great. The prices are great. Our kids spent hours in the pool house, which appears to be recent construction and is kept very clean. We came in late and were able to get help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
mt clemens mi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

we travel as a group on motorcycles.... we only got 3 rooms this trip. the rooms were wonderfully clean, large and the beds were nice and the showers were great. priced very good. dale the owner went out of his way to make things comfortable for us. good parking, nice pool this will be a repeat place for this group... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed 3 nts on parkaway side in room 15. Not nice. Smelled old and musty. Beds old, need replaced. Box spring was showing and was extremely dirty. Chairs at the table weren't fit to sit on. They were filthy. (pic posted) Bathroom was a joke. Worst feature of the place. When you sit on toilet your knees hit vanity.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take all customer feedback seriously. I was horrified when we received your review, and believe me, we looked at everything that you mentioned in your review. I'll try to address all of your comments briefly here. 1) Musty smell: I didn't notice a smell when I went into the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities