We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Newberry hotels

Evening Star Motel

7511 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (37)
  • Photos (2)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • More
Evening Star Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mt clemens mi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we travel as a group on motorcycles.... we only got 3 rooms this trip. the rooms were wonderfully clean, large and the beds were nice and the showers were great. priced very good. dale the owner went out of his way to make things comfortable for us. good parking, nice pool this will be a repeat place for this group... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nts on parkaway side in room 15. Not nice. Smelled old and musty. Beds old, need replaced. Box spring was showing and was extremely dirty. Chairs at the table weren't fit to sit on. They were filthy. (pic posted) Bathroom was a joke. Worst feature of the place. When you sit on toilet your knees hit vanity.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take all customer feedback seriously. I was horrified when we received your review, and believe me, we looked at everything that you mentioned in your review. I'll try to address all of your comments briefly here. 1) Musty smell: I didn't notice a smell when I went into the... More

Elkhart, IN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had to call to get a reservation, but the price was good. We stayed two nights. We were in the Park Ridge motel part, next door (all owned and operated by same people). PRO: * Room was clean. * Room was neat. * Room was quiet. CON: * Nobody at front desk after 11PM, and no way to contact... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! They really do help us improve. I'm sorry you had to wait for the WIFI password. Since your review we are discussing posting the password in the rooms for our guests convenience. I agree that the rooms can feel crowded, as we add more amenities to the rooms, (Fridge, micro, desk, desk chair, sitting chair,... More

Belding, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice motel. Very clean managers were nice. Pool was VERY CLEAN. Could use some towels in the pool area. No complaints from us! Will defiantly stay again! Close to everything in town. Beds were nice and comfy

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review! Just wanted to let you know that after reading your review, we are now stocking pool towels at the entrance to the pool building. We had gone back and forth over it, and your comment pushed us to make it happen. Thanks again! Best regards, Dale S Owner / Operator More

Cornwall On Hudson, New York
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
160 hotel reviews
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a little trepidation when we drove up, but all was fine. We were in the front building where the office is located. room was small but comfortable. Very clean throughout...nice towels...comfortable bed. Owner pleasant. This place is fine for an overnight stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm so glad that you mentioned our towels. We supply rather expensive towels for a non-chain motel, and I was starting to think that it was an extravagant expense that went unappreciated. Our rooms are smaller than what you might find at a larger chain Hotel, but we believe that... More

Kentwood, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here because of all the positive reviews on tripadvisor. Made a reservation a month in advance and it was never saved by the motel. Plenty of rooms were still available though. The front counter lady was nice and helpful. The rooms need major updating and cleaning. The t.v. remote did not work and could barely see a picture in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review, yours was particularly helpful. After reading your review I went and checked your room, and found that you were correct about the television being full of static. We tracked it down to a signal amplifier from the cable company, which they have since replaced. Regarding the remote, they are programmable, and someone pushed the... More

Volant, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Spent 9 nights. Room was nice and modern. Clean and bright room. Refrigerator and microwave in the room. Was here for snowmobiling and very convenient to get on the trails from the hotel. Owner has spent much effort to keep property maintained and updating continuously.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review! We always look forward to your big group from P.A. every year! Best regards, Dale S Owner / Operator More

West Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here during a late summer trip through the U.P. We choose this location because of the TripAdvisor reviews and the fact that it had a nice pool for us to test our snorkels in. We were not sure of our exact schedule and were not sure of when we would be arriving. The owner spoke with us over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review, they are always helpful. I believe that we must have somehow been unclear during our phone conversation, because August is actually our busiest month of the year here in Newberry, and is in no way our off season. We were also blessed with a very busy summer during 2013 due to many large construction... More

Lancaster, WI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just passing thru & needed motel for 1 night. The owner is a very nice man & the outside of property looks taken care of. But the room we stayed in was in much need of updating. It was hot & humid when we stayed here & the humidity brought out the stink in the very old carpet. Mattress needs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our guests input really helps make us better. It's been a while since your review, but I wanted to let you know that we do listen to what our guests have to say. Since your stay here, and in no small part due to your review, we have purchased and... More

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

No table or desk in room for computer or at which to eat the breakfast cereal we brought along. Bathroom vanity large enough for our toiletries. Only 1 towel bar - too close to the vanity for even the hand towel! Fine for an overnight stop but would miss horizontal surfaces/drawers for much longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, they are always helpful. It has been a while since your review, but I wanted to let you know that we are listening. Since your review we have begun adding desks and desk chairs to our single queen rooms, since they don't have the bistro tables and chairs like the doubles. I still... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Evening Star Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Evening Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evening Star Motel

Address: 7511 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868
Location: United States > Michigan > Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Evening Star Motel to your Saves list