We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Newberry hotels

Evening Star Motel

Save
You added Evening Star Motel to your Saves list
7511 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868
Hotel amenities
Evening Star Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
14
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I stay 5 nights up in Newberry every year at the park a way ever since I can remember. The rooms are always clean and the pool area is great. Dale the owner is always welcoming and willing to fix anything that may happen in the drop of a hat, just ask. The remodeling being done is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shawano, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We stayed on the Park-A-Way side for 2 nights, room was clean, a little dated, but overall was a nice stay. Very nice for the price that we paid, hotel was quiet and allowed us to get the rest we needed. Would consider staying again if we were in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Munising
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Very nice people, they serve as your community guide! This is a great location with all of the amenities at an affordable price. Ideal location in that you have access to all the shopping, eating establishments as well as close proximity to Taquemenon area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

A little apprehensive when we drove up, but was recommended by a friend that is a former resident of Newberry. We were pleased with this motel. In a quiet town, comfortable & clean. Not a "name brand" motel but very reasonably priced. Holiday convience store & gas station across the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

reserved room in April of 2014 with owner, requesting a two bed room with kitchen. Upon arrival, staff checked us in within five minutes. I was surprised to see that one bed was in back in kitchen area. No chairs in room except two kitchen chairs. We propped ourselves on pillows to watch TV. Previous reviewer showed pics of dirty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Realize that you are staying at a non-chain, older decor (not run-down, though) motel and you will be happy. The rooms were clean and we slept great. The prices are great. Our kids spent hours in the pool house, which appears to be recent construction and is kept very clean. We came in late and were able to get help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
mt clemens mi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

we travel as a group on motorcycles.... we only got 3 rooms this trip. the rooms were wonderfully clean, large and the beds were nice and the showers were great. priced very good. dale the owner went out of his way to make things comfortable for us. good parking, nice pool this will be a repeat place for this group... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed 3 nts on parkaway side in room 15. Not nice. Smelled old and musty. Beds old, need replaced. Box spring was showing and was extremely dirty. Chairs at the table weren't fit to sit on. They were filthy. (pic posted) Bathroom was a joke. Worst feature of the place. When you sit on toilet your knees hit vanity.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take all customer feedback seriously. I was horrified when we received your review, and believe me, we looked at everything that you mentioned in your review. I'll try to address all of your comments briefly here. 1) Musty smell: I didn't notice a smell when I went into the... More 

Elkhart, IN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I had to call to get a reservation, but the price was good. We stayed two nights. We were in the Park Ridge motel part, next door (all owned and operated by same people). PRO: * Room was clean. * Room was neat. * Room was quiet. CON: * Nobody at front desk after 11PM, and no way to contact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! They really do help us improve. I'm sorry you had to wait for the WIFI password. Since your review we are discussing posting the password in the rooms for our guests convenience. I agree that the rooms can feel crowded, as we add more amenities to the rooms, (Fridge, micro, desk, desk chair, sitting chair,... More 

Belding, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very nice motel. Very clean managers were nice. Pool was VERY CLEAN. Could use some towels in the pool area. No complaints from us! Will defiantly stay again! Close to everything in town. Beds were nice and comfy

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review! Just wanted to let you know that after reading your review, we are now stocking pool towels at the entrance to the pool building. We had gone back and forth over it, and your comment pushed us to make it happen. Thanks again! Best regards, Dale S Owner / Operator More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Evening Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evening Star Motel

Address: 7511 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868
Location: United States > Michigan > Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay