We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Newberry hotels

Evening Star Motel

Save Saved
You added Evening Star Motel to your Saves list
7511 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (7)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • More
Evening Star Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

reserved room in April of 2014 with owner, requesting a two bed room with kitchen. Upon arrival, staff checked us in within five minutes. I was surprised to see that one bed was in back in kitchen area. No chairs in room except two kitchen chairs. We propped ourselves on pillows to watch TV. Previous reviewer showed pics of dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Realize that you are staying at a non-chain, older decor (not run-down, though) motel and you will be happy. The rooms were clean and we slept great. The prices are great. Our kids spent hours in the pool house, which appears to be recent construction and is kept very clean. We came in late and were able to get help... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
mt clemens mi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

we travel as a group on motorcycles.... we only got 3 rooms this trip. the rooms were wonderfully clean, large and the beds were nice and the showers were great. priced very good. dale the owner went out of his way to make things comfortable for us. good parking, nice pool this will be a repeat place for this group... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed 3 nts on parkaway side in room 15. Not nice. Smelled old and musty. Beds old, need replaced. Box spring was showing and was extremely dirty. Chairs at the table weren't fit to sit on. They were filthy. (pic posted) Bathroom was a joke. Worst feature of the place. When you sit on toilet your knees hit vanity.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take all customer feedback seriously. I was horrified when we received your review, and believe me, we looked at everything that you mentioned in your review. I'll try to address all of your comments briefly here. 1) Musty smell: I didn't notice a smell when I went into the... More

Elkhart, IN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I had to call to get a reservation, but the price was good. We stayed two nights. We were in the Park Ridge motel part, next door (all owned and operated by same people). PRO: * Room was clean. * Room was neat. * Room was quiet. CON: * Nobody at front desk after 11PM, and no way to contact... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! They really do help us improve. I'm sorry you had to wait for the WIFI password. Since your review we are discussing posting the password in the rooms for our guests convenience. I agree that the rooms can feel crowded, as we add more amenities to the rooms, (Fridge, micro, desk, desk chair, sitting chair,... More

Belding, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very nice motel. Very clean managers were nice. Pool was VERY CLEAN. Could use some towels in the pool area. No complaints from us! Will defiantly stay again! Close to everything in town. Beds were nice and comfy

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review! Just wanted to let you know that after reading your review, we are now stocking pool towels at the entrance to the pool building. We had gone back and forth over it, and your comment pushed us to make it happen. Thanks again! Best regards, Dale S Owner / Operator More

Cornwall On Hudson, New York
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
164 hotel reviews
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a little trepidation when we drove up, but all was fine. We were in the front building where the office is located. room was small but comfortable. Very clean throughout...nice towels...comfortable bed. Owner pleasant. This place is fine for an overnight stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm so glad that you mentioned our towels. We supply rather expensive towels for a non-chain motel, and I was starting to think that it was an extravagant expense that went unappreciated. Our rooms are smaller than what you might find at a larger chain Hotel, but we believe that... More

Kentwood, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here because of all the positive reviews on tripadvisor. Made a reservation a month in advance and it was never saved by the motel. Plenty of rooms were still available though. The front counter lady was nice and helpful. The rooms need major updating and cleaning. The t.v. remote did not work and could barely see a picture in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review, yours was particularly helpful. After reading your review I went and checked your room, and found that you were correct about the television being full of static. We tracked it down to a signal amplifier from the cable company, which they have since replaced. Regarding the remote, they are programmable, and someone pushed the... More

Volant, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Spent 9 nights. Room was nice and modern. Clean and bright room. Refrigerator and microwave in the room. Was here for snowmobiling and very convenient to get on the trails from the hotel. Owner has spent much effort to keep property maintained and updating continuously.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review! We always look forward to your big group from P.A. every year! Best regards, Dale S Owner / Operator More

West Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here during a late summer trip through the U.P. We choose this location because of the TripAdvisor reviews and the fact that it had a nice pool for us to test our snorkels in. We were not sure of our exact schedule and were not sure of when we would be arriving. The owner spoke with us over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dale S, Owner at Evening Star Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review, they are always helpful. I believe that we must have somehow been unclear during our phone conversation, because August is actually our busiest month of the year here in Newberry, and is in no way our off season. We were also blessed with a very busy summer during 2013 due to many large construction... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Evening Star Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Evening Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evening Star Motel

Address: 7511 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868
Location: United States > Michigan > Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Newberry with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Evening Star Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer