We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 New Buffalo hotels

O'Brien Inn & Resort

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11539 O_Brien Court, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Hotel amenities
O'Brien Inn & Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added O'Brien Inn & Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    3
    5
    28
See reviews for
14
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
There are newer reviews for O'Brien Inn & Resort
See the most recent reviews
IN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

After reading the less than stellar reviews on Tripadvisor, out of curiosity, we decided to check out O’Brien’s on the way to St. Joseph for a 2-night stay. We were traveling with a dog and O’Brien’s is pet friendly. We asked the desk personnel if we could look around. They were more than accommodating, gave us a room key, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
obrieninn, Management at O'Brien Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank-you for your comments. Please visit us again if you are in the area! More 

indianapolis
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel some years back when it was a franchise while we visited the New Buffalo area for the beaches and resort style town. I must say, I hesitated when I saw the negative reviews here, but in my opinion the O'Brien Inn is much better now. My room was a king suite with a big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chicago
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

The day I left the resort I realized that I left my business phone behind but was already to far to turn around. When I got back to my house and called immediately. They said they have it and it will cost $10.00 to ship it back. I gladly gave my credit card number and the front desk lady said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
obrieninn, management at O'Brien Inn & Resort, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the untimely return of this guest's package, however I would like to assure that this package was mailed out by our main office as soon as they were available to do so. More 

Lasalle County, IL.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

I just stayed at this motel and I cant say anything bad about the staff or the rooms...I even thought the $118 for 2 nights for a jacuzzi room was a bargain! I did feel very spooked out! I got no sleep because I constantly kept waking to dark blobs and down right scary feelings...I am wondering if anyone else... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fenton, MI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

We were looking for a place with our Garmin, which unfortunately does not give reviews. When I called the number, the woman gave me a spiel about being able to give me this great rate just for tonight. When we arrived, she was doing the same with another caller, and I didn't realize why until we had committed to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
shar75, Hotel Manager at O'Brien Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Hello. I am the manager of this property and would like to post a response to this review as follows. I am assuming this guest stayed during the week when we are sometimes not as busy for him/her to say it is a ghost town.It could be true that the hotel was not packed if it was a weekday or... More 

cincinnati
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Unfortunately I did not read any of the other reviews before booking a one night stay at this hotel. The website is misleading. I could not connect to the internet, the two televisions did not work, the pool was filthy and the deluxe continental breakfast turned out to be doughnuts and coffee. After complaining to the manager, she said she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
obrieninn, management at O'Brien Inn & Resort, responded to this review

In response to this review I would like to first state how sorry we are this guest was not satisfied with his recent stay at O'Brien Inn and Resort. Since this date we have installed a brand new and updated television system. The televisions in his suite did work, however he was only able to access limited channels. We offer... More 

indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

Poor conditions all around. Staff rude, beds are horrible, air did not work properly. Reminded me of a poor motel wanting to be a resort. There is no resort about this other than the roach resort. You pay 5 times too much for this resort than it is worth. Drive 10 miles away and stay for less and much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
shar75, Hotel Manager at O'Brien Inn & Resort, responded to this review

In response to this review I would like to take the time to post a management response. This guest states that the A/C unit in their assigned guest room was not working properly. We have qualified maintenance staff on site or on call at all times. I wish this guest would have reported this major inconvienence as we are very... More 

Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

I am not one for bad-mouthing, but this serves as a warning to others to pass on this one. It was by far the filthiest hotel room that I have ever been in. When we arrived, the clerk told us we had no room. However, I had our confirmation # and after about 15 minutes of panicked discussion, they were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
shar75, Hotel Manager at O'Brien Inn & Resort, responded to this review

As manager of this property I would like to point out this guest did not leave a post until after almost a year from the date she stayed, so therefore the review is dated June of 2008, when she actually stayed in August of 2007. As I have stated in previous responses to reviews of the inn we are under... More 

Chicago
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

Do not waste your money at the O'Brien Inn. The water smells so strongly of sulfur (like rotten eggs) that we couldn't stand to even brush our teeth with it, and a shower was completely out of the question. They make you pay when you check in, and refused to refund any portion of the rate because they said that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
shar75, Hotel Manager at O'Brien Inn & Resort, responded to this review

As I stated in my previous management response, much effort has been put forth with our new staff and management to improve this property. One of the major renovations includes a new water filtration system and softner. Since this system has been installed, there are no longer issues with water. In regards to our customer service policy, we are more... More 

Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

Dirty! The hotel room was very dirty, the water came out of the faucet black and smelly, and there were scorch marks on the walls from the outlets. There were bugs in the bathroom. The beds were hard as rock, the staff was inadequate (that's putting it polietly), and the "breakfast" that is complimentary consisted of a plate of thawed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
shar75, Hotel Manager at O'Brien Inn & Resort, responded to this review

I would like to bring anyone reading these reviews of O'Brien's Inn and Resort of New Buffalo up to date with the improvements made at the property since this review was posted. I started as manager of this property in February of 2008. A new cleaning and maintenance staff along with myself and ownership have been very committed to making... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to O'Brien Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Brien Inn & Resort

Address: 11539 O_Brien Court, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Brien Inn & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your O'Brien Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Brien Hotel New Buffalo
o`Brien Inn And Resort

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay