We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Muskegon Heights hotels

Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Seaway Drive, Muskegon Heights, MI 49444 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
54%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
mcblcurtis
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    16
    14
    20
See reviews for
43
17
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a room and tried to keep an open mind after reading the reviews. The pros are the staff is very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast had a nice variety. But my husband and I couldn't get past the smell and dinginess. When we walked through the halls and into our room there was a very strong odor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience with others. I am glad to hear that the staff was very friendly and helpful during your stay. I would like you to know that we currently have our new hallway carpeting, which is stored in our front room waiting on contractors for installation. I would... More

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a nice time in clean and nice rooms the staff was very helpful in finding place and would print out direction for us. The ice machine stop working but the staff had ice for us.The outside was not something to complain about but it was clean, safe NO loud noises. The Jazz venue was right down the street which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I want to personally thank you for sharing your recent experience with other travelers regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you were able to enjoy one of our clean rooms, and that the staff was very helpful throughout your stay. I would like to thank you again for your feedback, and we hope... More

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a really nice hotel! New rooms, clean, great staff. We stayed in a regular room- didn't have a refrigerator is my only complaint- only in the deluxe. All rooms getting upgrade deluxe in near future. Otherwise, really pretty, clean, safe and quiet. Well the outside is a bit dingy, but its in process of facelift- got there after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review

To our valued guest, I would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience with others. I am very pleased to hear that you were very satisfied in one of our clean, safe, and quiet rooms. I am glad that you noticed our progress with the exterior of the property, as we are continuing to update. I would like... More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights with our kids because we had our dog with us - that was the only reason. We were going to Michigan's Adventure nearby and needed someplace and this definitely fit that description - it's someplace. Kind of dingy on the outside and creepy looking, it's not a very hospitable looking hotel. We wouldn't dare... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am glad to hear that the staff was very friendly and helpful during your stay. I would like you to know that we are continuing to make updates to the hotel. Thank you again for your feedback, and please... More

Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was...not the best. I had just spent three weeks at the holiday inn in Grand Rapids and I guess that spoiled me. This place looks run down outside and inside. The front entrance for check in is clean and that's it. The hallways were DISGUSTING. There was something sticky on the floor in my room, the room stank,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I would like to thank you for your recent feedback, and I am very sorry that you had such a bad experience during your recent stay. We have been continuing to make many updates to the hotel, and many guests have been very satisfied with our high level of customer service and quality here. Please contact me... More

Bay City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

For the price and photos of the rooms, I thought the hotel would be at least decent, but it failed to meet our expectations. The hallways were disgustingly dirty. The room was clean, but it smelled gross and was visibly shabby - just covered up with paint. The bathroom floor was grimey/sticky. The bed appeared clean and fresh, and was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review

To our Valued Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share you recent experience with us. I am glad that you felt the staff was very friendly, and that you were satisfied will all of our new mattresses. I would like you to know that we have been continuing to make updates to the hotel,... More

Detroit, Mi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We traveled 3 hours to attend a wedding. There were 2 festivals in the area and hotels were slim picking, naturally red roof inn would not have been my first choice. But the pictures I saw online e convinced me otherwise. The rooms looked remodeled, and they were... we walked into the room and it was very nice ar first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry that you had such a bad experience during your recent stay. I appreciate the fact that you contacted me at the hotel directly, and am very happy that I was able to resolve the problem to your satisfaction. Thank you again and we look forward to accommodating your needs in the future. Sincerely, Darrick... More

Stow, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I had to book a hotel at the last minute and this Red Roof Inn had vacancies. The outside is run down, paint peeling and overgrown weeds all around the perimeter. The hall carpet is stained and there is a bad smell as you head to your room. Our bedspread was stained and when I moved the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that you had such a bad experience during your recent stay. We have been continuing to make updates, and many other guests have been very pleased with our high level of customer service and quality here. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel at any time as I would like the chance to... More

Wayne, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The place looked clean but the overpowering smell of air freshener made you wonder what was being covered up. Booked three rooms, one room had blood and hair on the bedding. Called the front desk they sent someone to change all bedding. Bathroom floor in another was so sticky had to be washed. All rooms mattresses were urine and blood... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that you had such a bad experience during your recent stay. We have been doing a lot of updating to the property, and are continuing to do so. Please contact me at the hotel at any time as I would like the chance to discuss this matter with you further. Sincerely, Darrick Stopczynski General Manager... More

Jackson, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Out of necessity due to traveling with our dog; we chose the RRI-Muskegon Heights. Reviews were mixed from other raters; however they are accurate. The management has painted and made obvious upgrades. However their intentions to dress the facility up aren't enough. As other TA raters have mentioned the lobby, pool and breakfast area a nice, but that's as far... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review

Valued Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share you recent experience with us. I am glad that you felt the staff was very friendly, and that you were satisfied will all of our new mattresses. I would like you to know that we have been continuing to make updates to the hotel, and are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights

Address: 150 Seaway Drive, Muskegon Heights, MI 49444 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights Hotel Muskegon Heights
Red Roof Inn And Suites Muskegon Heights
Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights Muskegon County, MI

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)