We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel El Convento

#4 of 12 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Two Blocks West From Parque Central | Next to San Francisco`S Church, Leon, Nicaragua
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Convento
Expert photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel El Convento
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    80
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
25
79
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are clean, very well appointed and comfortable. Didn't have time to use the pool area but it was nice. Breakfast was a little average. It was better on the day a coach of American guests stayed! We ate in twice but whilst the decor was nice there are better local restaurants nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

unique hotel, it was an old convent. If you love the old world places to stay, this is it. Lots of wood, beautiful art on the walls, tiled floors, big ceilings. The rooms are nice but the rest of the place makes up for the rooms. The pool is amazing! quite tucked away in the back so no one is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Desert Hot Springs, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found my roon to be fresh and lovely. It was near the front entrance, but was not at all bothered by any noise. The linens were immaculate, the lighting, hot water, etc were all fine. The antique objects displayed around the corridors were very interesting; the fountain in the courtward was gorgeous and surrounded by perfectly trimmed hedges &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
445 reviews 445 reviews
89 hotel reviews
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a large suite but since it's only the ground floor our room has no windows you can see out of plus it's on the street so there was noise. The main light in the room is part of the fan which only operates at a speed fast enough to get an A380 off the ground. There was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is lovely, as many have stated, with a gorgeous patio and refreshing pool. The decorations are museum quality; what isn't displayed here is at Museo de Arte Fundación Ortiz-Guardián. We had a problem with our air conditioner (a necessity in León's heat). The staff immediately attempted to remedy it, and when that proved futile, we were moved to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

This is the place to stay. It is a great location and very affordable. The rooms are spacious, well managed and the hotel provides excellent room service. Guests safety is a priority. There is an outstanding restaurant staff. They are most attentive to all guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
adminconvento, Gerente at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Dear Mr CowboyJosh, Thank you very much for your comments, I will share your words with the rest of the staff so they know that they are doing things well. We hope to serve you again soon and to continue providing the best alternative of accommodation in León. More 

Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I were here for two nights. It is a perfect location for exploring Leon. The grounds are gorgeous and the appointments throughout the hotel are really interesting. We enjoyed the food in the hotel restaurant both nights. The pool area is small but nicely done. Choose a room facing the courtyard to avoid street noise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback. I am pleased that you found our location and rooms to your liking. I hope the minor inconvenience did not detract from the overall positive experience you had with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with... More 

Stockholm
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel which is very well situated in the centre of Leon. Don´t be afraid of city alarm that goes off every morning at 7am! Nice and clean hotel with a small pool, we didn´t use it though. Decent breakfast, didn´t try the restaurant at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
117 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

This hotel located very centrally in old Leon was, in reality, only built less than 20 years ago on the site of the old Franciscan convent. It has been done very well, however, & captures the feel of an old colonial building around a pretty garden courtyard. I think the best rooms are those that face that courtyard. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

We started our 8 day Nicaragua vacation in Leon, and were recommended the El Convento by Nicaragua Adventures. The hotel used to be a convent (hence the name), and the interior courtyard and hallways were all beautifully decorated with religious art, sculptures and figurines. Our room had a very comfortable bed and ice cold A/C, which were welcome after a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Dear PJPHughes Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and thrilled to hear the location met your needs. We apologize for any inconvenience may have caused you during your stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

177 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (75)
Viewed
Executive Room (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (11)
Viewed
Suite (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question