We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
East Hwy 28 and Federal Hwy 13, PO Box 160, Munising, MI 49895
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    39
    21
    4
    8
See reviews for
35
51
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel was amazing! Everything is super clean and the beds are so comfy I woke up thinking I was still at home. You also get a 10% off discount at a local restaurant which is nice! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming through the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband & I stayed here for one night, on our roadtrip to Minnesota. No frills, and not a five-star fancy hotel, but a pleasant, restful stay, as a haven from the road. Even though we weren't there long, we were pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. We arrived around 8 after driving for 14 hours and did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie S, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The corn beef hash is a hugh hit. We serve Folgers coffee and the scrambled eggs and bisquits are baked daily. Hope to see you again. More 

Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We called the day we needed a room during fairly high tourist season and got the last room available (due to a cancellation). The woman working the front desk was very friendly and gave me some restaurant suggestions-- she even went so far as to call a restaurant to see if they still had veggie pasties in stock! The pillows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie S, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay , we try our best. I get alot of people who love our pillows and mattresses and recliners and It makes me feel good when people tell us everyday how they enjoyed the room. Hope to see you again when visiting Munising. More 

Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I realize that "you make hay while the sun shines" but this goes too far. Hotel is very basic. Standard room. Shower was equipped with a foam soap dispenser like you would find in a gas station bathroom. No shampoo. No lotion. Breakfast was very basic. Mystery eggs with hash. Then the assortment of cold offerings. Coffee tasted like instant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie S, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. If it was to pricey why did you stay? I know why ours hotel is the Best value in the area! We are doing our part to save the earth, it is amazing of how many bottles are in the garbage from thousands of hotels and motels in the the world and this helps. Sorry... More 

Cinnaminson, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is great. I always look at the parking lot very clean and well kept and landscaping too! That way I know the inside will be clean and cared for . The beds and pillows super comfy and anyone saying breakfast ok is nuts theirs is very good! Front desk very informative and housekeepers very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie S, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. of course we love reviews like this. We try to make our rooms as comfortable as possible and breakfast has something for everyone .. Come visit us again when coming to Munising, Michigan. More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice place to stay in Munising. Clean, comfortable but a little pricey for the offerings. I would suggest trying a mom and pop smaller one if you are looking for a more economical stay, but if price for value is not a worry then this will do fine. Close proximity to a lot of food and attractions. The staff is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie S, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Because a lot of people have never been to Munising, we try to be as knowledgeable as possible to make you see and do as much as possible while visiting here. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a clean but smelled like smoke when we first got there. It was through the whole building. The rooms were typical size with double beds. The whirlpool area was nice and clean. The breakfast was a good offering. They had a popcorn machine but no popcorn. My daughter was not impressed with that. Frankly I think I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie S, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The smell of smoke could have been from someone was smoking outside the building by the entrance .. Our beds are Queens and Kings . We go through alot of popcorn and try to keep as much in stock as possible, if we happen to run out its because it is good and you can... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We picked to stay here based on other review and were quite pleased. I would have given them a rating of five except for two things. The hot water was not regulated (I hate cold bursts during a shower) and the king room we reserved 5 months previously was not available. The room was quite large and comfortable. The breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marie S, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry about the burst of cold not sure why but I did have it checked out . The reservation you made on line was for two queen beds. and we didnt have the king available when you checked in, we can only go according to the reservation you made on line. We are... More 

Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two nights on the weekend, the room was quiet, no sounds from the other rooms or upstairs at all. The room was smokefree but apon entering it smelled of smoke , the desk worker came down immediately and used a machine to clean the air while we went to dinner and it was fine when we came back.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie S, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. As housekeeping cleans rooms, we often open the windows for freshen the air in the guest room and sometimes someone will walk by smoking a cigarette. It is frustrating. I am happy you enjoyed breakfast we offer something for everyone. More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
190 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is a joke, starting with the smell of all the rooms (we experienced 3, as we had 2, plus had to be moved from one as the smell was overwhelmingly horrible). The lady at the front desk was nice enough, but her excuse for the odor was bad. We came to understand the smell must originate from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie S, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising, responded to this review

Thank you for your review ,, But I dont understand why would you stay if it smelled bad?? You definitely are very wrong . Our beds are top of the line of serta and 99% will agree, sorry you like hard mattresses. The rooms don t smell because if they did sir then you would have left and you didnt... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
0.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 10 in Munising
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge - Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 8 in Newberry
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay