We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Munising hotels

Sunset Motel on the Bay

Save Saved
You added Sunset Motel on the Bay to your Saves list
1315 Bay St., Munising, MI 49862
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (233)
  • Photos (108)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (2)
  • Room tips (41)
  • Location
  • More
Sunset Motel on the Bay
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    66
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
105
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice view, friendly staff and a good location right across the street from some small falls. However, the rooms are dated and our bathroom smelled moldy. Also, the tub is only accessible if you approach it sideways (and I'm skinny)- would stay again though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our room was very clean when we arrived. The view was great. The rooms are so close to the water you can hear the waves crashing into the shore-this place is quiet enough where a window or door can actually be left open. The motel is very close to Sand Point, Munising Falls, and the Twin Falls. It was nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel had a nice view from the lawn, but, that was about it. Bugs were awful….hotel cannot control that, of course. The room was musty,dark, very crowded, and there was mold around the tub. The noise level was high with other guests slamming screen doors at all hours of the night. The price was definitely too high for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

Our number one goal is to ensure that every guest at The Sunset enjoys their stay. Unfortunately, we did not obtain our goal with your stay. On behalf of the entire staff, I extend our sincerest apologies. If you would like to discuss your issues please contact our office at any time. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're looking for a place with character, this is it. Nothing cooky-cutter here! We had a clean room with comfortable king bed, mini-fridge and microwave. Enjoyed sitting on the lawn in the adirondack chairs watching the sun set. Staff even called us after we checked out to let us know that we forgot an article of clothing. Now that's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for noticing the character and charm that make The Sunset a special place. We want all of our guests to feel welcomed and have an enjoyable and comfortable stay when they visit us. We are so glad your stay with us was a pleasant experience. The view from our front lawn is incredible at any time of the... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I rounded out our "honeymoon" with a two night stay in room 220 in this motel. It was great! This room is the only one that has it's own private balcony and the view is awesome! It costs a little more, but it's still a great value and totally worth it. The view from this location is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

Happy Honeymoon! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We may have to name Room 220 the "honeymoon suite". We've had several honeymooning couples stay in Room 220 this summer. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing with our TripAdvisor readers. We hope you'll visit us again (perhaps on... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was amazing and just what we needed after a long drive. We were given room 220, which just happened to be on a floor above all the other rooms. It took a bit of effort to get all our luggage up the stairs (no elevator), but it was so worth it. This room was beyond any expectation I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your terrific review of your stay at The Sunset and for sharing it with our TripAdvisor readers. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Room 220. With it's comfortable king bed, private balcony and spectacular view, it's our most requested room. You do have to carry your luggage upstairs but our staff is always willing... More

Keego Harbor, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very pleased with our stay here! The motel itself was very well-kept, clean, and charming! The two-bedroom room we stayed in almost reminded me of being at a cabin. As other reviewers have pointed out, the bathroom is a bit on the small side, but that was not a major issue for us. All rooms face Lake Superior... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Sunset. Thank you for not only sharing your thoughts with our TripAdvisor readers, but also for recommending us to others! We love it when guests check in and tell us The Sunset was recommended to them by friends, neighbors, family or even people they met on The Pictured Rocks Boat... More

Howell, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms were clean and well maintained, for an older property. The view was so nice, the property goes right to the shore of the lake. They provide charcoal for grilling, seats to relax by the lake and enjoy the sunset, and bags of ice, huge bonus. This was my first solo trip... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

We think all of our guests make the perfect choice when they decide to stay at The Sunset! We are so pleased that you believe you also made the perfect choice. Our goal is to have all of guests feel welcomed, comfortable and relaxed. We invite you to visit us again soon to sit back, relax and enjoy the view.... More

Portage,IN
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First, room was spotless. Felt very clean. All the dishes, pots, refrigerator, utensils, etc were perfect. Nice chairs along lake to relax. Yes, it's a bit dated, and I wouldn't want it any other way. Free bags of ice a huge plus, as were the free charcoal for the grill. Would stay there again. While there, if you're able, you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sunset. Thank you for sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor readers. By looking at the great picture you attached, you were able to take advantage of our front lawn and the amazing view it offers. If you're planning to spend a day exploring Chapel Falls, Chapel Rock and Chapel Beach... More

Iowa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the perfect getaway for my husband and me along with another couple who are close friends of ours. I am giving the motel a five-star review simply because I didn't think of work once while we stayed there. Everything about this hotel makes you forget the stress you may have back at home. The motel is situated right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of your stay at The Sunset with our TripAdvisor readers. I believe you've captured the true essence of what The Sunset has to offer. The Sunset is certainly not fancy but it is welcoming, comfortable and relaxing. Many of our guests comment that once they arrive at The Sunset their stress level diminishes... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sunset Motel on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunset Motel on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel on the Bay

Address: 1315 Bay St., Munising, MI 49862
Location: United States > Michigan > Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel On The Bay Hotel Munising
Sunset Hotel Munising
Sunset Motel Munising

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Munising with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Munising's best waterfront motel invites you to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! All rooms have a spectacular view of Lake Superior. One, two and three room spacious units are available with Lake Superior just steps away! All rooms include microwave/refrigerator/coffee maker or full kitchen and are smoke free. Wifi is available. Use our complimentary outdoor grills and picnic tables to enjoy a lakeside dinner while savoring the dazzling sunset. If staying for a week or more, take advantage of our fully furnished 3 bedroom vacation homes. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
19

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Sunset Motel on the Bay and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Motel on the Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer