We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Munising hotels

Sunset Motel on the Bay

Save
You added Sunset Motel on the Bay to your Saves list
1315 Bay St., Munising, MI 49862
Hotel amenities
Sunset Motel on the Bay
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    71
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
80
116
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (256)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

You can’t beat this location. Sitting outside by the water was a lovely way to spend the evening. The rooms were quite basic and the bathroom was really tiny, but it was clean. When I booked, I was looking for two separate rooms, each with a queen or king bed. Only one room was available and so we opted for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I read reviews before booking reservations and thought this could work out. We've stayed at small motels before and had good experiences. To be fair, perhaps some of the rooms have been remodeled/updated and those are what received good reviews. I should have cancelled on the spot as soon as we walked in - the smell of mold and Pine-Sol... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
up of michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location was great. The room was so so! Our TV was not working and it would have been nice to be able to watch The Weather Channel before going out on Lake Superior. The boat tour of Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore was the highlight of the trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sunset Motel in Munising is east of town and directly on the bay. The view is great but our weather was very windy. We enjoyed the clean room and the comfortable bed. We were unable to take the Pictured Rocks Boat Tour because of storm warnings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for my husband's fiftieth birthday party. Three other couples joined us. The kitchenette came in handy for our "happy hour" before we went out for dinner. We had fun hiking to the Au Sable lighthouse. We also saw Miner's Falls and Miner's Castle rock formation. Can I just say that this area is so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canton, MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed in the upstairs room with a balcony. The weather was not great for our two night stay, but the room was clean and comfortable. The views can't be beat from this motel. The only negative was on our first night, the desk called our room at 5:30 am to see if we were playing the radio. Turned out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Baltimore, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the sunset and was a wonderful visit again. We got the two bedroom with full kitchen. The rooms are so cozy with their knotty pine walls and kitchen is stocked with all the utensils you would need. Big picture window looking out on Lake Superior and the fall colors made for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

What a great place – very close to the Pictured Rocks National Park and ALL the waterfalls. Nice location on the lake and run by a very nice family who seems to really care about the property and their guests. We were greeted by a very nice young lady at check-in with a great attitude, it was very refreshing after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Sorry, I relied on these Tripadvisor reviews to select this hotel, and I tried to like it. I knew it wouldn't be a chain hotel, and was hoping that would be part of its charm. The rooms were cramped and dated (1970s fake wood paneling, and carpet that should have been replaced years ago), but that alone would have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you were unable to enjoy your stay at The Sunset. We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We thank you for your review and hope that you will give us a future opportunity to meet your lodging needs. If you would like to discuss this in further detail, please contact our office at... More

East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
41 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed at the Sunset Motel,on the Bay in September. I could visualize what it was like 50 years ago. Not much has changed. It has a great location, it is quiet, the rooms are clean and I slept pretty well. It is quirky because clearly the owners need some help with basic maintenance of rooms. The rooms are beautifully... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sunset during your visit to Munising. We also thank you for sharing your thoughts with our TripAdvisor readers. We are very pleased you found your room to be very clean. Our hardworking housekeeping staff takes great pride in their work. The Sunset is an older property that definitely includes some quirks. We... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunset Motel on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel on the Bay

Address: 1315 Bay St., Munising, MI 49862
Location: United States > Michigan > Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel On The Bay Hotel Munising
Sunset Hotel Munising
Sunset Motel Munising

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay