We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Munising hotels

Sunset Motel on the Bay

1315 Bay St., Munising, MI 49862
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (213)
  • Photos (106)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (35)
  • Location
  • More
Sunset Motel on the Bay
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    62
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
70
94
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in one of the houses (Bayview because it had a dishwasher) and was completely satisfied. So-o-o clean and peaceful. Kitchen had everything you needed to cook/dine in with a family, even a crockpot. Friendly and easy check-in. Short walk to the shoreline. Lots of space for a young married couple, a baby, a teenager, and two other adults. Washer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A friend suggested this motel. It has a great view of the water. The sunsets are amazing. Unfortunately, the room was only mediocre. We had a two room, two bed room. It was small but we expected that. What we did not expect was a bed that we could not sleep on. We switched beds with our sons. Their bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warren, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One word Wow !!!!! I traveled a lot and have stayed at lot of hotels from one star to five star It's the cleanest motel/ hotel I have stayed in. Very friendly people, Pam is the best. It's right on Lake Superior, mile away from the city, very quiet and peaceful. House keeping deserves 5 stars. If you are in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice lakefront location - great sunsets. We got stuck in Room 101, which is small, has poor ventilation and is right next to the office - so close that someone actually opened our door looking to check in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mobile
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The property is lovely and the owners went out of their way for us at check in. Our fights were delayed and we didn't get in until well past midnight so the owners were gracious enough to leave our key taped to the office door. That wouldn't happen in a big city! We had a two bedroom unit and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with our TripAdvisor readers. We were very happy to arrange a late check in for you. We always try our best to accommodate early or late check ins. We are glad you enjoyed a good night's sleep after your late arrival! Our cozy and comfortable two bedroom units with a queen bed in each... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Motel was very clean and it was really nice to have the kitchen. Views were amazing and the staff was friendly and helpful. They even let me check in early so my daughter could nap. Would definitely stay here again. Motel overlooks the water with grills and plenty of chairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

Sometimes there's nothing like an afternoon nap! It was our pleasure to have you check in early. Our check in time is 3 p.m. If any of our guests arrive earlier than 3 and we have a room available, we are happy to check them in early. Our popular kitchen rooms are perfect to prepare breakfast, lunch or dinner. Our... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I drove in at 10 am, and my room wasn't ready, but Peggy at the desk was able to suggest several activities. After a full day I came back, and found a great room, and truly the name of the hotel represents its best quality. Amazing views, and a great way to start my vacation. I will tell everyone to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay at The Sunset and that you plan to visit us again! Our check in time is 3 p.m.. Check out is at 11 a.m. We do our best to accommodate our guests with early check ins and/or late check outs. As you mentioned, there are several great activities to do until your room... More

Bradenton, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You can't beat the view from the motel. We booked the Sunset because of the location. I wanted to be on the water and close to everything to maximize sightseeing and the Sunset fit the bill. We were in the single story rooms #107 to be exact. Good room however the bathroom is not user friendly because it is very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

We are in complete agreement with you! The view from The Sunset cannot be beat! We are so pleased you enjoyed our location. Thank you for sharing your great description of Room 107 with our TripAdvisor readers. We're so glad it worked for you other than the bathroom being small. Other rooms with two bedrooms do have larger bathrooms. Our... More

Glen Ellyn, IL
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked the Sunset because of its proximity to Pictured Rocks, where we enjoyed some nice hikes. This worked well in reducing the drive time, as the park is rather spread out. We stayed in the large room with the private balcony...a great place to unwind before the mosquitoes came out. The king bed was very comfortable. Sink is in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Room 220. It's one of our most requested rooms. Guests love the private balcony and the great view it provides. The Sunset is the perfect location for exploring the Munising area and the Pictured Rock National Lake Shore. We are less than five minutes from the Pictured Rocks Boat Cruise and... More

Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Comfortable, clean lodging on the shore of Lake Superior. Chairs to watch the sunset, grills to make meals, and kitchen facilities in rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. Single story building so cars can park close to room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your gracious description of The Sunset and also for sharing it with our TripAdvisor readers. We especially like the word "comfy". We want all of our guests to feel comfy and right at home when they stay with us. I don't think there can be a more relaxing place than our front lawn. All you have to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sunset Motel on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunset Motel on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel on the Bay

Address: 1315 Bay St., Munising, MI 49862
Location: United States > Michigan > Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel On The Bay Hotel Munising
Sunset Hotel Munising
Sunset Motel Munising

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Munising's best waterfront motel invites you to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! All rooms have a spectacular view of Lake Superior. One, two and three room spacious units are available with Lake Superior just steps away! All rooms include microwave/refrigerator/coffee maker or full kitchen and are smoke free. Wifi is available. Use our complimentary outdoor grills and picnic tables to enjoy a lakeside dinner while savoring the dazzling sunset. If staying for a week or more, take advantage of our fully furnished 3 bedroom vacation homes. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
19

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Sunset Motel on the Bay to your Saves list