We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Munising hotels

Sunset Motel on the Bay

Save Saved
You added Sunset Motel on the Bay to your Saves list
1315 Bay St., Munising, MI 49862
Hotel amenities
Sunset Motel on the Bay
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    68
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
78
109
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (244)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Fremont, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Please read between the lines, or at least read the fine print in their advertisements. I called to make reservations for two rooms in the motel part. This would indicate we would not be bringing our own toiletries, etc. In the conversation with the front desk on the phone, she mentioned they also had two houses which would be available... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here in August 2014. It has a beautiful view directly overlooking Lake Superior. There is a small beach and a grassy area where you can sit and relax. Our room had two bedrooms, with the bathroom off the back bedroom. The rooms were a little tight, and the bathroom was very narrow. It was clean. Overall, I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The reviews I read raved about this motel which is why I selected it for my overnight in Munising. Unfortunately I cannot rave about it. Altho the staff was very friendly and helpful, I was disappointed in the room. Seemed shabby and very definitely dated. There are many perks, however, that include a full kitchen complete with cooking utensils and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented the Bayview Cottage that sets directly behind the motel for a few days. It was wonderfully clean and well equipped. It has three bedrooms, all upstairs, making it not a good choice if anyone has mobility issues. However, the bedrooms each have a comfortable queen bed with lots of pillows making it perfect for 6 people and possibly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sister and I spent a couple of days at the hotel, renting a room with a fully furnished kitchen (appliances which are bit basic, but kitchen was well stocked, allowing to even bake!). The 500 ft shoreline of the Motel was the highlight as you can see from the pictures I took under nice weather conditions. There are couple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My teenage sons and I stayed here in August. The view is spectacular and front desk receptionist was friendly. There were not enough motel rooms so we stayed in one of their on site rental houses. The home is next to two others (one of which looks condemned). Our house was quite dated. I would not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing with our TripAdvisor readers. We are saddened to know you were disappointed with your stay in one of our vacation homes. Please contact our office at (906)387-4574 if you wish to discuss this matter in further detail. More

Waite Park, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm a completely brand-name only hotel person who is very leery of booking motels but when I read the reviews of Sunset Motel, I had to try it. We loved it like nothing else. The hotel is beautifully located right on Lake superior. They had so many personal touches. I think that's what we loved the most. Litle things -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sunset! We agree we have a perfect location with an unbeatable view! We strive to give all of our guests an excellent lodging experience. Thank you for noticing the small touches we love to add to enhance your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at... More

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The good: Good location, friendly customer service, newer stove and refrigerator. The bad: Over-priced. Room smelled musty, air conditioner "change filter light" was on, a floor fan provided was necessary to properly condition the room, lumpy pillows with a inexpensive slippery nylon bed spreads, small flat-screen television, overstuffed, worn out, and dirty sofa. We were surprised and feel misled by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

Our goal is to always provide our guests with a great stay. We are saddened to know that we were unable to do that for you. Thank you for your feedback. All of your issues have been discussed with our entire staff. You have our heartfelt apologies. Please contact our office at (906)387-4574 if you would like to further discuss... More

Parker
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I were lucky enough to get a room here during a holiday weekend. The only room left was the two bedroom suite. I'm not sure if all the rooms had it, but we also had a kitchenette and dining table in the common area. The beds were just doubles in this suite, we used them both for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with our TripAdvisor readers. We are glad you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that you were able to enjoy the view despite the rainy weather. We have several room types. Not all of our rooms have kitchens. Many of our guests find having a completely furnished kitchen very convenient. The... More

Baden, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I enjoyed one night stay. Our room was clean, comfortable king size bed, bathroom was large. I have not complaints on the size of the bathroom, ours had plenty of space. Quaint lawn chairs, tables, picnic tables to sit by the water. We enjoyed our evening with a bottle of wine watching to the sun set -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing with our TripAdvisor readers. We are so pleased you found your room to be comfortable and clean. We do offer several room types including rooms with one king bed, rooms with two queen beds or a unit with two bedrooms with either a queen or full size bed in each room. All of our rooms include... More

Do you own or manage Sunset Motel on the Bay?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunset Motel on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel on the Bay

Address: 1315 Bay St., Munising, MI 49862
Location: United States > Michigan > Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel On The Bay Hotel Munising
Sunset Hotel Munising
Sunset Motel Munising

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (112)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Sunset Motel on the Bay

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Miners Castle Rock
Miners Castle Rock
Geologic Formations