We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Trincomalee hotels

Chaaya Blu Trincomalee

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sampative Post, Uppuveli, Trincomalee, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Chaaya Blu Trincomalee
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chaaya Blu Trincomalee to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Trincomalee
A recent review
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    271
    110
    27
    16
See reviews for
231
247
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (646)
  • Mar-May only
    (131)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (193)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (189)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (133)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife & I were so very pleased we stayed at Chaaya Blu this time on our visit to Sri Lanka, we found the accommodation excellent, better than expected, the STAFF were fantastic, we could not have wished for better, they were there at our every wish, which included all members, from Room assistant to senior management. All were of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lankesha, Manager at Chaaya Blu Trincomalee, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely 5 star review over Christmas. We are happy to have made your stay memorable. We are happy to note you were satisfied with our facilities and services. We hope you will return on your next vacation planing for better weather and more sea action with Whales from March to July, Dolphins and Pigeon... More 

Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They mark all there dishes halal , except poke , they had also marked a chicken dish with wine sauce halal , seriously this people themselves mark the halal logo not having any certification from any authority , they don't know anything about halal preparations , they said they have Muslim staff working , when I asked why you mark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lankesha, Manager at Chaaya Blu Trincomalee, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your 2 star review. Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay at Blu. Your concerns are noted and will be immediately action will be taken to improve upon. We hope that you were satisfied with rest of our facilities and services, and hope you will visit to experience the improvements. More 

London
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
85 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here twice in December and had a fantastic experience. I find the complaints of other reviewers a bit disconcerting. This is a country just emerging from 25 years of vicious civil war, part of which took place right here and it is also part of the Indian Sub Continent. One would expect a few minor problems but for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lankesha, Manager at Chaaya Blu Trincomalee, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the 5 star review during your stay at Chaaya Blu. We are happy to note that you had a good stay and await your return for memories worth repeating. More 

Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got a good deal on Agoda and decided to stay, look for good deals as it is not worth to pay the full quoted price. It used to be an old hotel which has recently been renovated. It is thus clean, the decor is nice, rooms are a bit small but you have a nice view on the Ocean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lankesha, General Manager at Chaaya Blu Trincomalee, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your 4 star review of Blu during your recent stay. We are happy to note that you have been satisfied with our facilities and services. March to October are the best months when considering sea and beach conditions. Although the numbers increase during the season there is still enough peace and serenity as the beaches... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I planned a two day trip to Trincomalee and booked at the Chaaya Blu. Unfortunately I had to return in one day due to work requirements. The hotel is easily located and has a very good proximity to the beach. The staff were super helpful. The room was decent sized, with good amenities. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lankesha, Manager at Chaaya Blu Trincomalee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5 star rating during your brief stay with us on your recent visit. We are delighted to have been able to satisfy your needs. We await your arrival at Cinnamon Hotels for memories worth repeating. More 

Trincomalee, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an awesome time at Chaya Blu. The highlight of the trip was the amazing lagoon crab curry at the "CRAB" restaurant. A must try if you visit this family...The staff were very friendly and food was very good.. Rooms need to be refurbished a bit better though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lankesha, Manager at Chaaya Blu Trincomalee, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the 5 star review of Blu during your recent stay. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your holiday with us. We are 45 years old and improving daily for the satisfaction of our guests. We are delighted to note you have tried our signature dish and been happy. Await your arrival for... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family group of seven were treated and looked after for four days & were spoilt like very special guests at this hotel! The Team made our holiday very relaxing and enjoyable. Our nephew celebrated his birthday during our stay there and they made the evening extra special for him. Thank you! A special mention must be made about hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lankesha, Manager at Chaaya Blu Trincomalee, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your 5 star review during your stay. We are delighted to have been able to meet your expectations. We strive to improve to serve you better and create memories worth repeating. We hope to see you back during the season for whale watching between March and July More 

Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for three nights in January, 2015. Our experience was, overall, very positive. We're told the hotel is from 2010, so quite new. The rooms are nice - simple, yet comfortable, and you have all the basic amenities, including air condition that works, TV, minibar, and a comfortable bed. Internet works fine. Service is very good, and staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lankesha, Manager at Chaaya Blu Trincomalee, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the 4 star rating during your recent stay at Blu. We are happy to note that you were satisfied. We are continuously improving our products and services to meet the guest needs. We await your next arrival for memories worth repeating. More 

Caen, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had hoped that by staying in this supposedly more upmarket hotel, the Internet would be good. In fact, the Internet was awful, almost as if they have a dial-up residential connection for the entire hotel. The connection was not even strong enough to handle Skype voice calls. The room was a little tired looking, with chips in the walls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lankesha, Manager at Chaaya Blu Trincomalee, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your 3 star review of Blu during your recent visit. We appreciate your feed back and will towards improving our services and products. We are continuously improving and changing for the needs of our clients. Blu is a very popular destination and which requires constant maintenance. We hope to see you return during the season... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect place for relax band Stay far from The stress, my room was clean and tidy, all the services was complete and functionals, good tasty kitchen for the dinner and lunch..good presentation of the dishes and good presence of the staff..perfect for all the stressed people's and the family..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lankesha, Manager at Chaaya Blu Trincomalee, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for the 5 star review during your stay in December. We are extremely happy that yo were satisfied with your stay even with the worst weather in the last 5 years. Kind words on staff are appreciated and we will strive to do better for your next visit. Plan your next visit during the month of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chaaya Blu Trincomalee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Blu Trincomalee

Address: Sampative Post, Uppuveli, Trincomalee, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaaya Blu Trincomalee 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chaaya Blu Trincomalee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Blu Trincomalee Hotel Trincomalee

491 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (479)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (98)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (111)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay