We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe

1885 Welcome Way, Monroe, MI 48162
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
329 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

Not really cheap after they add the taxes ($72), but that's the nature of motels these days. We found this place by a internet search and GPS, but we were really looking for the Days Inn. The two are side by side and share the same large sign. So we entered this ABVI actually by mistake. The clerk on duty... More 

Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld012
ABVI1885, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe, responded to this review

I do apologize, that your stay was not 100%. I just took over this location and do appreciate you letting me know the things that I will have to improve on. I hope that in the future that you will give us another chance. More 

American Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

I have stayed in America's Best Value Inn and Suites prior to my booking this via getaroom.com and have always had a good experience. But, this was horrible! My husband and I arrived one hour past the cut off time for cancelling and I was afraid that I was going to be stuck with this crappy place. From the moment... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine T
ABVI1885, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had that experience, I will be looking into this matter. I just recently took over this location and appreciate you letting me know the things that I need to work on and fix. Yes currently both the Nuclear and the Coal Plant's are shut down and we do have a lot of workers. Smoking in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Monroe hotels

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We were traveling through the area and wanted to stop to see some local sites the next day. Apparently it was a busy night and all hotels were booked. When we made a reservation through TripAdvisor that was then unavailable, bookings.com worked hard to find a substitute for us. After 30 mins of trying, she sent us to this hotel,... More 

Helpful?
Thank MMsFromDayton
Blind River, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Called when we were about an hour away, and was quoted one price. Got here and the price was higher, but finally the night clerk honoured the price. The room was beyond disappointing. The carpet is stained and stretched out. The smell is atrocious, you can certainly tell that it pet and pot friendly... The mattress is awful, and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank oldrezgurl
Cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

nothing special, cheap and just a place to rest your head. They need to have more parking for semi's. The breakfast was horrible. Like I said its a cheap place to rest your neck! I would stay again but i would make sure I brought breakfast from burger king on the corner, cause their BREAKFAST SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Boyne City, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Great price - Terrible room. The Monroe, MI hotel was the worst America's Best Value Inn I've ever stayed in. The "non-smoking room" smelled like an old ashtray, the smoke detector was hanging by a wire (looks like someone disabled it), the sink drain stop didn't work and was stuck in the shut position, and the drapes were hanging from... More 

Helpful?
Thank BARRY H
Jennifer H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe, responded to this review

I apologize that you were unsatisfied with your stay. We do have a strict no smoking policy in place that we do enforce, and as soon as my maintenance man came in for work in the morning he fixed the drain stopper. I hope next time your in the area you will allow us another opportunity to show you we... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

if you want to sleep with bugs, dirty everything, and get attitude from staff this is your place. Value - verb 1.estimate the monetary worth of (something). This place is cheap but hardly a "value" considering what you get.

Helpful?
Thank travelingwillberries
Jennifer H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe, responded to this review

Im sorry your stay with us was unsatisfactory . We strive to maintain a clean affordable product. Since all of are rooms are outside access it is possible for a bug to get in your room when you are entering in and out. I hope we have an opportunity in the future to better serve you. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

All I can say is that I hope that they've done some MAJOR rennovations since I stayed here, uncluding fumigating. Chose to stay here for business, so I did't have to make an hour and a half drive, and so I could bring my dog. The first room I was given still had dirty towels in the bathroom. The second... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank bleighb77
Jennifer H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback about your last stay with us. I do apologize that your previous stay with us with unsatisfactory. We have completed are renovations, including new carpet. I hope to have another opportunity to display to you the changes we have made. Thank you again for your feedback. More 

Holt, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

January 24, 2015 - booked room in advance, arrived and checked in paying an extra 10 bucks for our cat. after unloading, my wife turned the temp up on the heater, it continued to blow cold air. we went out to get fast food and returned stopping at the office to complain about the heat problem. Night manager said... "well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindapatrick53
Jennifer H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologize for the difficulties during your stay. We do care greatly about are guests and their expectations. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. Thank you again. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

weve stayed at the one in livonia which was alot better and the staff was more accomodating. here we first started the jacuzzi tub plug was broke, they tried to fix it , couldnt but they said there were no more rooms, then the sink was clogged too. we didnt get a discount or anything. when told the front staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nanci S
Jennifer H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in providing feedback regarding your stay. I do apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. We strive to maintain a good product for are guests. I hope in the future you will allow us another opportunity. Thank you again for your feedback. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monroe hotels
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Monroe
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe
3.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites MONROE
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Monroe
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sterling
Hotel Sterling
#1 of 2 in Monroe
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay