We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Valley Plaza Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
5221 Bay City Road, Midland, MI 48642
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Valley Plaza Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    48
    51
    33
    29
    25
See reviews for
83
33
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (186)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here two nights with my family. The pool is great. Also have separate hot tub and sauna. Game room with air hockey and pool table and video games. Very light breakfast and the eggs were rubbery but better than some. PET FRIENDLY! Next door is a bowling alley, laser maze, game room, and bar with great burgers. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Plaza Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Oscoda, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Check in was quick. The gentlemen at the desk were both very nice and informative about the property. Pools were nice. Shallow pool was great for my 3 year old. Except for the pool bottom edges. They are curved and quite slippery. My son fell a few times until I figured out why. There is potential for a kid to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Plaza Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter is on a no grain diet and had to have a refrigerator, they were very helpful in making sure I got one in my room. We were in town for a basketball tournament and my son ended up hurting his ankle and when I checked in I had asked if it would be possible to get a first... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Plaza Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Harrison Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Maybe you don't think you're a hotel snob, but you might be. Think about this before you book a room here. Our room was not ready at check in time, but apparently they shuffled some things around and we did get a room. The front desk staff seemed stressed most of the time and rarely smiled. The housekeeping staff seems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachel L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Plaza Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Armada, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was OK for the price I guess but we were disappointed in some things. Lots of stains on the room carpet. Hotel maid didn't replace dirty towels with clean ones. Nor replace soap, shampoo, kleenex, even though we left a tip. Hallways smell really bad and they need vents put in. Breakfast ends at 9:00 a.m. way too... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Plaza Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Chesterfield, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Terrible location, was sort of just situated in the middle of nowhere it seemed. Pros: Speedy check-in, staff was very pleasant and professional. Very large property. Comfy bed! I stayed on a Monday night, but the hotel was very quiet. Cons: The hotel is SOOOOO outdated. It was like all exposed brick and like wood paneling. Also, the bathroom vanity... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Plaza Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Travelers are raving about these Midland hotels

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our group booked 9 rooms for a 4 day stay while traveling for a youth tournament. The location, next to a bowling alley, was perfect for our families and the outdoor courtyard was beautiful. Unfortunately, during our stay we had a multitude of problems including: rooms were ant invested and had to be vacated, 1 room with a water leak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Plaza Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we... More 

Warren, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed there for a friends wedding that was near by, there werent many hotel options. the room was a good size however dated looking, peeling wallpaper in the bathroom, poor lighting, etc. but my biggest complaints are that the bed was hard as a rock, not comfortable at all. felt like an over blown air mattress. awful...and i have switched... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Plaza Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we... More 

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We lost an expensive I Pad and Pitcher and left the hotel and when we were driving in Lansing, we noticed that those things were not with us, so we called the hotel and they immediately told us that they already found an I Pad, but not the pitcher. However, when we arrived at the hotel, we found that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Plaza Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were touring the Highway of the Lakes and needed a hotel. As we were going inland from this point on decided to give this hotel a try. It was very nice and the staff was polite, accomodating and we found the hotel to be a great value for the price charged. We will definelty stay again if in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Plaza Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midland
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Midland
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Midland
Holiday Inn Midland
#5 of 12 in Midland
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 12 in Midland
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The H Hotel Midland
The H Hotel Midland
#1 of 12 in Midland
5.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Midland
Hampton Inn Midland
#4 of 12 in Midland
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
5.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay