We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Marshall

Hotel website
Hotel deals
329 Sam Hill Dr, Marshall, MI 49068
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marshall
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Marshall
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    21
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
14
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Greater Cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was the biggest nightmare. What hotel schedules major construction on a holiday weekend? And have a manager that is not there, and cannot be reached for days? Checking in was an eye opener. You walk in, and the only thing you can see is the front desk. The rest was covered in plastic. The front desk clerk put our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Narvon Pa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

7-2-15 Room 318 This HIE is under construction and will soon be finished. Most rooms are already done and our room looks great. They are painting the pool area now and the breakfast room is under construction.. No pool to use but the exercise room is up. Alexis checked us in and was quite cordial. We said we were going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we booked we saw no warning or mention of major construction in the hotel. The lobby dining area and pool were closed. A key reason I booked here was to have a pool for our son. Denied. The first thing the front desk focused upon at check in was we would like a 10 rating from you. Anything less... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Dear Stephen L, Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and be the best hotel around. However, we sincerely apologize that your stay was a disappointment due to the ongoing construction of the property. I understand your frustration, and I am truly sorry for the overall dissatisfaction you may have experienced.... More 

Elk Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel lobby and breakfast area is under construction. Hotel is still charging prime rates. Construction noise is extremely loud with materials obstructing walkways. Could not hear receptionist at check in. Had trouble navigating hallways due to construction materials. Were told breakfast would be served in conference rooms. Went to room and found it very small and cramped. Internet was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen D, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Our fully renovated standard guest rooms and suites was completed as of January 2015, the rest of public... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

I reserved a King Room months before my arrival and got a confirmation number. When I arrived on May 28, I was given a Queen Room and was told that the hotel was "full" and no King Rooms were available. I checked the hotel's website when I got to my room and learned that they STILL had several King Rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Dear dsandy, Thank you for bringing your concern to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager... More 

South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Our stay was a continuation of what I have come to expect from the brand. There was a warm and friendly welcome at registration. When I returned to the desk to request a late checkout, there was no hesitation, and even an offer for an additional half hour. The room was in great condition and super clean. The common areas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
163 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

Front desk Kelly was on duty and saw to it that we were well taken care of. Helpful and energetic she was. Clean rooms reasonably priced. directed us to a nice restaurant. Thanks Kelly for your help. People have a look you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Was Clean, and welcoming..Has a Continental Breakfast, which was ok..Staff was friendly...A good place to stay when visiting Dark Horse Brewing Co. Also, Go Dad Cab will take you anywhere you want to go...Its a must use when visiting dark horse..

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Dear tommyz77, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is a pleasure to read about your positive experiences within our property. Your compliments regarding the amenities and our friendly staff are very comforting and will be shared with them. Our team's goal is to make sure our guests enjoy their stay at our property and we... More 

West Olive, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Very welcoming, friendly staff. My room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Pillows were awesome! I enjoyed the breakfast assortment, food was plentiful and delicious. I came for business and brought my husband along. He thought it was a great hotel also. It is near I-94, but we were on the opposite side of the hotel, and couldn't hear any expressway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan,Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I did not have a good first impression with this Holiday Inn Express.The entry had an odor the carpet was torn and exposed cement showing where the ragged edge of carpet was.The front desk rugs were dirty as well as the glass on the entry doors. We were given our room and upon entering the elevator a bad odor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Dear psa954, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It sounds like we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience because of the unpleasant smelt of smoke,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

214 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (214)
Viewed
Room/suite (95)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshall
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Marshall
Hampton Inn Marshall
#2 of 3 in Marshall
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Battle Creek
Holiday Inn Battle Creek
#3 of 19 in Battle Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Battle Creek
Hampton Inn Battle Creek
#1 of 19 in Battle Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
#5 of 19 in Battle Creek
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
6.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of Battle Creek
11.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Battle Creek Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay