We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Marshall

Hotel website
Hotel deals
329 Sam Hill Dr, Marshall, MI 49068
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Marshall
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Marshall
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
12
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
14 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Front desk Kelly was on duty and saw to it that we were well taken care of. Helpful and energetic she was. Clean rooms reasonably priced. directed us to a nice restaurant. Thanks Kelly for your help. People have a look you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Was Clean, and welcoming..Has a Continental Breakfast, which was ok..Staff was friendly...A good place to stay when visiting Dark Horse Brewing Co. Also, Go Dad Cab will take you anywhere you want to go...Its a must use when visiting dark horse..

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Dear tommyz77, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is a pleasure to read about your positive experiences within our property. Your compliments regarding the amenities and our friendly staff are very comforting and will be shared with them. Our team's goal is to make sure our guests enjoy their stay at our property and we... More 

West Olive, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Very welcoming, friendly staff. My room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Pillows were awesome! I enjoyed the breakfast assortment, food was plentiful and delicious. I came for business and brought my husband along. He thought it was a great hotel also. It is near I-94, but we were on the opposite side of the hotel, and couldn't hear any expressway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan,Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I did not have a good first impression with this Holiday Inn Express.The entry had an odor the carpet was torn and exposed cement showing where the ragged edge of carpet was.The front desk rugs were dirty as well as the glass on the entry doors. We were given our room and upon entering the elevator a bad odor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Dear psa954, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It sounds like we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience because of the unpleasant smelt of smoke,... More 

Angola, Indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Same as all the other modern Holiday Inn Express - clean, nice rooms, Good breakfast, small indoor pool, quiet, Close in parking, flat screen TV, restaurants close by. Reliably good. The only downside is the occasional youth sports teams which can be noisy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canton
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

The Holiday Inn Express in Marshall is under renovation, the entire 2nd floor is being remodeled. The rest of the hotel is lovely. Small pool, no hot tub, but nice interior. Directly off the freeway I-94, the city of Marshall is just down the street. Marshall is a quaint historical town. The Holiday Inn Express meets all of the traveler's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josh D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Hi Phyliss! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel; we truly appreciate you taking the time to rate us and choosing our hotel to be your choice of stay while in the Marshall area. We try and do our best to make sure all of our guests have the best experience as possible no matter... More 

Glen Ellyn, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

The place is fine. Nothing special. You get what you pay for, which in my case, wasn't a whole shed load. Which is good. The rooms are what you expect and somewhat in need of an update, but they are clean. The AC unit works very well, which is key. And the bathroom soaps and shampoos actually smell, well, decent.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josh D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Hi Ken, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate all the feed back we get from our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed the cleanliness of the room and AC working well. I apologize for the renovation noises one of the unfortunate side effects of upgrading. We've recently opened our third floor with the newly renovated... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Needed a place for weekend stay. Booked online. Motel was conveniently located in area and very clean. Staff very helpful with directions to area locations. Gave me a voucher I used at a very good local resturant. Currently renovating but, it was not a distraction. Small indoor poor and decent breakfast. Would return,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josh D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Hi Nick, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and choosing us as your place to stay while you were in town. I'm glad you enjoyed Schuler's it is definitely one of the best places in town. Hopefully the rest of your weekend was great as well. We look forward to seeing you the next... More 

CRYSTAL LAKE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Our experience at this motel was extremely good. The front desk administrator (Coral Brown) was so helpful in letting us do an early check-in so we could attend a wedding at 3:00 and 1 hour from Marshall. The rooms were very clean (especially the bathroom) and the breakfast was outstanding with a huge selection of food. Everyone was friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josh D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Hi Patsy, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for our hotel. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate you to get in early for that wedding; I know those kind of days can be a bit hectic AND fun! We do hope to see you again the next time you're in... More 

Dayton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Did not pre-book, and we arrived late in the day. This hotel runs on a bare minimum of staff, as was evidenced at check-in and no front desk help. I called out a greeting, to no response, waited, shouted again. Finally I reached over the counter, picked up the front desk phone and called the front desk (as if I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josh D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Hi Sallie, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Marshall, MI. We do our best to make sure our guest enjoy their stay from check-in to check-out. I'm sorry that the desk attendant wasn't there when you first arrived, unfortunately it was due... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question