We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Marshall

Hotel website
Hotel deals
329 Sam Hill Dr, Marshall, MI 49068
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marshall
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Marshall
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    20
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
13
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When we booked we saw no warning or mention of major construction in the hotel. The lobby dining area and pool were closed. A key reason I booked here was to have a pool for our son. Denied. The first thing the front desk focused upon at check in was we would like a 10 rating from you. Anything less... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel lobby and breakfast area is under construction. Hotel is still charging prime rates. Construction noise is extremely loud with materials obstructing walkways. Could not hear receptionist at check in. Had trouble navigating hallways due to construction materials. Were told breakfast would be served in conference rooms. Went to room and found it very small and cramped. Internet was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I reserved a King Room months before my arrival and got a confirmation number. When I arrived on May 28, I was given a Queen Room and was told that the hotel was "full" and no King Rooms were available. I checked the hotel's website when I got to my room and learned that they STILL had several King Rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Dear dsandy, Thank you for bringing your concern to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager... More 

South Lyon, Michigan
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Our stay was a continuation of what I have come to expect from the brand. There was a warm and friendly welcome at registration. When I returned to the desk to request a late checkout, there was no hesitation, and even an offer for an additional half hour. The room was in great condition and super clean. The common areas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
17 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

Front desk Kelly was on duty and saw to it that we were well taken care of. Helpful and energetic she was. Clean rooms reasonably priced. directed us to a nice restaurant. Thanks Kelly for your help. People have a look you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Was Clean, and welcoming..Has a Continental Breakfast, which was ok..Staff was friendly...A good place to stay when visiting Dark Horse Brewing Co. Also, Go Dad Cab will take you anywhere you want to go...Its a must use when visiting dark horse..

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Dear tommyz77, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is a pleasure to read about your positive experiences within our property. Your compliments regarding the amenities and our friendly staff are very comforting and will be shared with them. Our team's goal is to make sure our guests enjoy their stay at our property and we... More 

West Olive, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Very welcoming, friendly staff. My room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Pillows were awesome! I enjoyed the breakfast assortment, food was plentiful and delicious. I came for business and brought my husband along. He thought it was a great hotel also. It is near I-94, but we were on the opposite side of the hotel, and couldn't hear any expressway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan,Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I did not have a good first impression with this Holiday Inn Express.The entry had an odor the carpet was torn and exposed cement showing where the ragged edge of carpet was.The front desk rugs were dirty as well as the glass on the entry doors. We were given our room and upon entering the elevator a bad odor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Dear psa954, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It sounds like we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience because of the unpleasant smelt of smoke,... More 

Angola, Indiana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Same as all the other modern Holiday Inn Express - clean, nice rooms, Good breakfast, small indoor pool, quiet, Close in parking, flat screen TV, restaurants close by. Reliably good. The only downside is the occasional youth sports teams which can be noisy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canton
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

The Holiday Inn Express in Marshall is under renovation, the entire 2nd floor is being remodeled. The rest of the hotel is lovely. Small pool, no hot tub, but nice interior. Directly off the freeway I-94, the city of Marshall is just down the street. Marshall is a quaint historical town. The Holiday Inn Express meets all of the traveler's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josh D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review

Hi Phyliss! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel; we truly appreciate you taking the time to rate us and choosing our hotel to be your choice of stay while in the Marshall area. We try and do our best to make sure all of our guests have the best experience as possible no matter... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (128)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay