We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
32650 Stephenson Highway, Madison Heights, MI 48071
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    19
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
11
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Shanghai
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

This is a very old property which has been poorly renovated and poorly maintained. I stayed here for a month. Each day when housekeeping came to "clean" the room they would take our dirty towels - but not replace them until 5pm. I finally asked one day and they said they had to wash them! They didn't have enough towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Dear PPour, I am very sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience, we have unfortunately did not deliver on your most recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the housekeeping issues. We have shared your feedback with the management team to ensure things like this... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

This was the most unclean hotel I've ever stayed in. I'd rather stay at the EconLodge! It was that bad, if it wasn't past 10 and snowing I would of stayed in my car! There was hair everywhere, used soap in the shower, the sheets were yellow, red stains on the drapes... I could go on!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Dear Melissa S, I am so sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory stay. I have reviewed your comments with my management team to help us determine your room was not cleaned properly proir to your arrival. I sincerely apologize and we are working to ensure that other guests do not have the same experience. I truly... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

The hotel is in a great location, right off of the expressway, by the Oakland Mall and many restaurants. The rooms were "roomy" and had a nice size kitchen. The hotel is pet friendly, so this was great for us, since we travel with our dog. The hotel was reasonably priced and had a great selection of food in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience. We do have a renovation in the future, but not until 2016. We hope to still see you again soon if your travels bring you back to the area. Regards, Justin Morandini More 

Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I generally like Residence Inn, but this property is below par. The closet door fell off when I tried to open it. it seemed like things in the room seemed very worn. The breakfast room is quite small - one morning I just had to pass it by as there was no where to sit or even get in to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Thank you DJ, for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry that you feel as if we are not on the same level as other Residence Inn's. Although we are an older property, we have undergone several renovations. Our rooms were last renovated in 2010 and are scheduled again in 2016. The Gatehouse and entire exterior was... More 

Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

My 2 teenage children and myself stayed at the Residence Inn Detroit/Troy/Madison Heights for close to 3 months, just checked out a few days ago. I can't say enough positive things about the management, friendliness of the staff and everyone's desire to make sure that our stay was as comfortable as possible. Having to leave our home while it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Thank you Pam for taking the time to share your experience while staying at the Residence Inn. We enjoyed being your home away from home during unfortunate circumstances. Being able to create a sense of comfort to you and your children was a pleasure. You, sunshine and the boy were always a bright spot in our day. We hope to... More 

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

I stayed at the Residence Inn Detroit/Troy Madison Heights over the Thanksgiving Holiday and all I can say is AWESOME! The manager Giuliana, Antonia, Justin, and the entire front desk staff were GREAT! Giuliana is by far the BEST hotel manager I have ever met! She's very polite, kind and professional and has trained her staff to be the same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We hope you come back soon and spend some time with us. Regards, Justin More 

Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

My husband and I checked in at 10:00 pm on a Monday. We were tired from a long day of traveling and went right to bed. Only I could not sleep one wink. There was people above who sounded like a herd of elephants. Later there was some domestic issue in another room filled with yelling. Then you also have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Erin, I am so sorry you did not have a satisfactory stay with us. We definitely want our guest to get a good night sleep, and if there is any disturbance, we would have taken care of it if it was brought to our attention. We would have been more than happy to move your room to another location or... More 

Southfield, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel back in Sept 2014 while my home was being painted. The manager, Giluiana was awesome! She was kind and professional and sincerely cares that the guests who stay at that hotel are completely satisfied. The rest of her staff were all professional too. I highly recommend staying at this hotel when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We love making our guests feel at home while away from home. We hope to have you back at our location soon. Regards, Justin More 

Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We recently stayed here during the August 15-16 weekend. I highly recommend staying here..the beds and pillows were very comfortable. All the staff were very friendly, and the rooms very clean and huge. The rooms are equipped with a nice kitchen, utensils etc..the fridges even have an ice maker which was great for our beverages! We have stayed at much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day. We hope to see you back with us soon so you can see our newly renovated exterior buildings. Have a wonderful day! More 

Port Neches, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Yes, you can sleep 6 in the "penthouse" but I hope you're all planning on going to sleep at the same time because there aren't any interior walls--just partial ones. Sleeper sofa and fold down bed downstairs and loft with half wall upstairs. No handicapped access. Hotel is being remodeled and looks AWFUL--they recaulked around the upstairs window, but didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do understand that the appearance of the hotel is currently less than appealing, but it is all in an effort to improve the hotel as a whole for the future. I have gone over your list of items with my maintenance department and executive housekeeper to find out what... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison Heights
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit North - Troy
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Detroit Troy / Madison Heights
Fairfield Inn Detroit Troy / Mad...
#3 of 9 in Madison Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Troy
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Madison Heights
Red Roof Inn Detroit Madison Hei...
#4 of 9 in Madison Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay