We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
32650 Stephenson Highway, Madison Heights, MI 48071
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Residence Inn to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Residence Inn Detroit Troy\/Madison Heights
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sheridan, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you for making a stressful situation, less stressful. Being that we're from Troy (moved 2 yrs ago) we have always heard that this place was nice, but we never expected this. Everyone we talked to from the front desk staff to the awesome people who serve the food, we're so kind & helpful during our stay. Barbara is the... More 

Helpful?
Thank pittzburgh7
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

Stayed in a Bi Level Suite. Kitchen had been renovated which was nice. Would have been nicer if it had been clean. Old foodstuff under the counter. Rest of the room was in need of renovation badly - worn and dirty carpets, older furniture, etc. Location is good and staff is great but the property is not. A renovation would... More 

Helpful?
Thank FollowMyGPS
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry that the room was not clean upon your arrival; we will be discussing this with our housekeeping department to ensure that it was an isolated incident. Also, we are excited about our upcoming renovation that will be taking place in the spring/summer of this coming year.... More 

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

My wife and I spent nearly 60 days here after moving back to the US from several years overseas for work. In that time, we searched for a house and prepared to have our first child as well - clearly a stressful time! From the first day, however, Justin and the entire staff made us feel welcome. They were immediately... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick S
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Nick, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so happy that we were able to help make your transition to Michigan smoother. We hope you are settling in well. Be sure to come back and visit us when the baby gets settled in. Best Regards, Justin More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

The rooms were not fancy but plenty of room and well kept. The rooms were also very clean (something I check for). We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast which was more than just pastries and cereal and had plenty of hot selections. The young lady at the desk when we checked in very pleasant and also very helpful. In the morning,... More 

Helpful?
Thank jpmbk
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and staff at our location. We hope that your travels bring you back to the area and we are able to have you stay with us again. Best Regards, Justin Morandini More 

Leonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

We actually stayed here a couple of weeks ago, so this review is a bit overdue. We were very happy with the accommodations. The room was spacious and pleasantly decorated. The kitchen was well appointed. The highlight of our stay was the customer service. The property is managed by a young man named Justin, who was born to host. He... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire516
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Claire, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. What can I say except, I love what I do. I am glad that we are able to help start your day off on the right foot. We hope your travels bring you back to the area and we have the pleasure of serving you again. Best regards, Justin... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Our home owners insurance put us up here when we had a plumbing emergency. I didn't want to go to a hotel, but they made an unpleasant situation much nicer. They staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. It showed some wear and tear, but was clean. We were able to keep our small dog... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary Ruth D
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Dear Mary Ruth D, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our location. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again soon. Best Regards, Justin Morandini More 

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

I went in just because it was recommended by colleagues but personally had a very bad experience. The aircon did not work for two days, did not get repaired till multiple follow ups were done and again failed the night before I left:-( The housekeeping staff do not seem to be cleaning every room every day. So they conveniently skipped... More 

Helpful?
Thank Capri67
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience. I would first like to say that I am very sorry that you had a negative stay at our location. At Residence Inn, we pride ourselves on our service and standards but have failed to deliver on this trip for you. Please know that what you... More 

Shanghai
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

This is a very old property which has been poorly renovated and poorly maintained. I stayed here for a month. Each day when housekeeping came to "clean" the room they would take our dirty towels - but not replace them until 5pm. I finally asked one day and they said they had to wash them! They didn't have enough towels... More 

Helpful?
Thank ppour
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Dear PPour, I am very sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience, we have unfortunately did not deliver on your most recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the housekeeping issues. We have shared your feedback with the management team to ensure things like this... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

This was the most unclean hotel I've ever stayed in. I'd rather stay at the EconLodge! It was that bad, if it wasn't past 10 and snowing I would of stayed in my car! There was hair everywhere, used soap in the shower, the sheets were yellow, red stains on the drapes... I could go on!

Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Dear Melissa S, I am so sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory stay. I have reviewed your comments with my management team to help us determine your room was not cleaned properly proir to your arrival. I sincerely apologize and we are working to ensure that other guests do not have the same experience. I truly... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

The hotel is in a great location, right off of the expressway, by the Oakland Mall and many restaurants. The rooms were "roomy" and had a nice size kitchen. The hotel is pet friendly, so this was great for us, since we travel with our dog. The hotel was reasonably priced and had a great selection of food in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience. We do have a renovation in the future, but not until 2016. We hope to still see you again soon if your travels bring you back to the area. Regards, Justin Morandini More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison Heights
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
2.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Troy
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit North - Troy
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Madison Heights
Red Roof Inn Detroit Madison Hei...
#4 of 9 in Madison Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay