We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thunderbird Inn

146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel amenities
Thunderbird Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012
Mary H Mackinaw City
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    29
    16
    15
See reviews for
47
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (134)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Inn
See the most recent reviews
Calumet, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My friend and I just returned from Mackinac City. We stayed at the Thunderbird on 9/ 15 & 16th. We had a nice clean room, great breakfast, big clean pool! I only have 1 complaint and that is towards the housekeeping. When we checked in we didn't have any towels in our rm. We called the desk in which we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay, I do apologize about the housekeeping and will work very hard to see that that does not happen to anyone else. I will also get some new towels ordered so people arn't having to wait. I hope you enjoyed Mackinaw. Sincerely, Teresa Anderson/GM More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We pulled in just before midnight looking for a clean motel at a good price. We usually stay at larger chains but find the price high in tourist areas. They had a king available at a great price. The room was very clean and in good condition with the room amenities found in chain Boyle's. The hot breakfast was tasty.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you on your next trip to Mackinaw. If I may be of any further service please don't hesitate to let me know. Thank you, Teresa Anderson/GM More 

South Lyon, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Location was good.room was clean,towels and linens could be updated.could have gotten a better rate as a walkin because end of season. Breakfast was good. Bed to soft for me but overall nice place

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay I apologize if the beds were to soft. I hope we will see you again when you come through the area and we will work on a better price for you. Thank you, Teresa Anderson/GM More 

Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My boyfriend picked the hotel on our recent weekend getaway to Mackinac. He was drawn in by the price, the fact that there was a "indoor pool", and that they offered a continental breakfast. When we pulled in to the motel I didn't have high hopes. Walked in to the lobby to find every surface covered in cat hair and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Once again I would like to apologize for the cart. There was not a hurricane but it was a very windy day. We have taken way more preventable measures to ensure this does not happen again. If you are still having issues with the insurance company please call me and I will do whatever I can to assist you. Sincerely,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Farmington Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The word "Inn" should be exchanged with "Motel". That is exactly what this place is. Small to average size room. Table top surfaces looked clean but it could have used a more thorough vacumming. Few updates have been made but this place definitely could use a few more. Hairdryer is availble but it is ancient. Bathroom was clean. My husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a comment for our hotel and being honest. We know we are not brand new but we strive to be clean, comfortable, and affordable. We are making more and more improvments everyday the hairdryers have already begun to be changed out. I hope you enjoyed Mackinaw City and your vacation. Thank you, Teresa Anderson-DItta/GM More 

Ringgold, GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This "hotel" had so many good reviews, we decided to stay here for our anniversary weekend. I have to say I was disappointed. This is a motel not a hotel. If I knew that, I would have adjusted my expectations. here is a list of the highlights. - The first thing to greet me were 3 bats living on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Let me start with apologizing for your stay, I would love it if you could call me to speak directly with you about it, as I don't know your full name or what room you were in so i can start correcting the issues you had. The bats get removed on a daily basis but sometimes they fly right back... More 

Coopersville, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had made reservations at a different motel and when we got there it was such a dump we couldn't stay so we came over to this motel and were glad we did. The price was reasonable for someone like us who cannot afford the luxury places and the room was a lot bigger than we expected for the price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind and honest words. I am glad we will see you again in the future and if I can be of any further service please don't hesitate. We are working on the water situation as well.:) Teresa Anderson/GM More 

Michigan
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed two nights w/ a package from Pure MI website. It was within walking distance from the chain of hotels along the water,restaurants & ferry docks. The hotel was very accommodating, lots of parking and coffee w/ a lite breakfast in a.m. Rooms were clean and pretty big. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning someday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you again for choosing us. I am so glad you enjoyed your package I hope you got to do everything you wanted and it went smoothly. I f I can be of any further service please let me know. Teresa Anderson/GM More 

Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel provided us with an adequate room at a reasonable price but the breakfast was somewhat disappointing. Apparently a lot of tour buses use this place and they may have used up all the hot water because on the first morning our room had none. Luckily we were able to make do without it as we had planned a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay here and that you will choose to stay else where next time. I never enjoy hearing that. I will work harder to try and make the breakfast and hot water issues corrected. Teresa/GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay