We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Mackinaw City hotels

Thunderbird Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Inn to your Saves list
Thunderbird Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
58%
Ranked #19 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013
Robert P Chesterfield, Virginia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (122)
  • Photos (18)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    45
    25
    16
    12
See reviews for
41
49
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Inn
See the most recent reviews
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Thunderbird Inn in 2010 when it was a Best Western facility. We booked it again in July 2013 as a one-night stopover on our way to a Canadian vacation. Therefore, our comments about the Inn are limited. The Inn is actually a two-story motel. There is adequate parking. The front desk clerk was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am glad to see you returned and enjoyed everything we had done to improve things. I appriciate the honest reveiws about everything. I have spent alot of time picking out and training my staff and its nice to hear so many nice comments about how well they are doing. I hope to see you again in the future. I... More

BAY CITY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night this past weekend and we had a great experience. We found the staff to be friendly, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower had great water pressure. Really, what else do you need? . The breakfast was a little thin but honestly, they did have a waffle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you choose us and enjoyed your stay. I love to hear when a guest enjoyed everything. We try very hard to ensure every guest experience is the best. I wish you safe travels home, see you next time. Teresa More

Port Hope, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice, clean and affordable! The only disappointment was the WiFi very bad reception. This is a place we will visit again next year. Hopefully next time the internet will work better. The pool was great it even has a deep (9 foot end).

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and will be returning. I am sorry about the WIFI we have had a lot of troubles with that this year, and yes hopefully next year you will have great reception. Teresa More

Shippensburg
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here recently for several nights. Requested very quiet room and did get one. It was clean enough but I am guessing no one stayed here for a while before us and they didn't do a re do. Some dead bugs when we entered and it took a LONG, LONG time for water to get hot. But once it did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry about the bugs and hot water. This should have never been missed in the room. And the internet is up and running now I am just so sorry for all the things wrong with you room. I am glad you enjoyed the quietness of your location and the staff and the ac...We try very hard to... More

Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. At the price, we expected a motel that we could tolerate for one night before staying on the island for several days. Instead, we found a comfortable, clean room with air conditioning and a refrigerator. The room was quiet even though it had an outside entrance door and it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I also am a big fan of our location. It is great being so close, yet feeling so far away. I am gald you enjoyed it as well. I wish you safe travels back home and hope to see you again in your travels... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff convenience of parking in front of your door Throwback pricing fridge in room Cons: Wireless just didn't work Breakfast is just not very good tough to maintain comfy temp in room using AC unit Overall, it is tough to ask too much of the hotel given the VERY low price we paid. The front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay, I do apologize for the wireless we were battling it out with att.. I did get it working the next day, but I am sorry we didnt have it during your stay. Teresa More

Kentwood, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The staff was very friendly and courteous. The complimentary breakfast was very good. I just loved the fact that they have a printed list of the channels available on TV. It's small things like these that make the stay at this inn very pleasurable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the channel guide. We try very hard to make the hotel as enjoyable as possible. I hope to see you again in the future in your travels to mackinaw. Teresa More

Redford, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have looked over many reviews for hotels in Mack city and this one had the best reviews I've seen. I love how attentive the GM is and she seems to really make herself available which is really awesome! We are coming in today to stay here before we head out to the island for the next night and I'm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am glad you choose our hotel, and I truly hope you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me with any comments you might have about your stay. :) Teresa 800-633-1515 More

Taylor, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Loved it on our trip up north and loved it on our way back home. I will try to stay at this type motel where you park directly in front of your door. It's so easy to unpack and pack the car. When I made a mistake, they went out of their way to help me. On our next trip... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you returned and enjoyed your stay once again. I hope you have safe travels home and come see us again soon. If I can be of any further service please don't hesitate. :) Teresa More

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have been here for one night and this hotel is marvelous. We are staying 3 nights. It was the best price when I booked and Theresa is the best General Manager we have ever seen. She goes out of her way to make everyone feel at home. She even offered to take someone to dialysis. She helped us with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also very happy that you enjoyed my personal touches around here, I try very hard to make everyone feel like there at home at the hotel. I hope to see you again in the near future. :) Teresa More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Thunderbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Inn

Address: 146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Mackinaw City with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Beautiful Boutique Property completely devoted to customer service and clean rooms. We provide all the things you have grown to love and trust from a hotel including free WIFI, free breakfast, an indoor pool, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, cable TV and much more. We are AAA approved, Pet friendly, AARP accepted, along with many other discounts and very close to all local attractions including the ferry lines and water park. Here at the Thunderbird Inn we welcome everyone with a smile and we are confident you will leave with one. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
48

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Thunderbird Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer