We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Mackinaw City hotels

Thunderbird Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Inn to your Saves list
Thunderbird Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
58%
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014
talltree24 Chicago, Illinois
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    46
    26
    16
    13
See reviews for
43
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Inn
See the most recent reviews
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

First off I would like to say that the male front receptionist was great, the female not so much. I found her to be rude. We stayed for 3 nights in July. We arrived to only a couple of towels (that you could almost see through) and a moldy smell in the room. To top it off I went to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We weren't willing to pay the price of other hotels around Mackinaw City, so the Thunderbird Inn was a nice little find. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable with plenty of pillows. Even with the sink not in with the shower and toilet, the bathroom was nice sized. Breakfast had a lot to offer and the area was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. One of our main improvements this year was to offer a hot breakfast and it seems like you enjoyed it. Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you stay in the future. More

Montague
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Upon arrival we were initially charged twice and extra! Once confronted about being charged twice the front desk was very unorganized and confused on what to do. Room was small and dingy it was a king size room. Sheets were not changed when we left the sign off it. There were only two towels and they smelled sour and gross.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the double charge; I am glad we were able to sort that out before your left. We did find that our heater for our pool went down for a period of time and it is now corrected. Our goal is to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable stay and I am disappointing to... More

Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

After 6hr drive got to the Thunderbird to see if we could check in early. The answer was "No, you can come back at 4." She had quite the attitude. Then asked if I could use the restroom. Answer was "no". Wow! How accommodating! Got to the room at 4...very shabby and dirty. Towels so thin you could almost see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I completely understand that after a long car ride you want to kick back and relax. Unfortunately, we cannot always accommodate our guests with an early check-in. Our check-in is stated on all of our websites as 4pm. I do apologize for the issues with your stay, customer service is one of our main goals, and it is my job... More

Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

After a 12 hr car ride with 2 year old twins, we arrived to a dirty room with only 2 sets of towels, old food on the floor (blueberries/cereal), and NO toilet paper in the bathroom. Was concerned about the germs we were being exposed to. FILTHY coffee pot/maker with old coffee stained on the sides and an actual cobweb... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I want to apologize for the issues of your stay. After your mother stopped up to let us know of the issues with your room, I personally serviced your room. We were told the next morning that everything in the room was fantastic. We did offer a $20 refund for the issues with your room, but also gave the option... More

Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Just your average drive-up motel with no complaints. Quiet, comfortable, clean and meets basic needs for someone who does not plan on spending much time in the room other than to wind-down and sleep. The staff was very kind, helpful and accommodating when we realized we needed a different room with an additional bed rather than the one we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. While we do not advertise ourselves as a 5 star hotel, we strive to offer clean, comfortable rooms with exceptional customer service. Thank you for your review. More

Mackinac
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The room had a real bad stench to it like rotten meat,the bed sheets were stained with who knows what I just stripped the bed.For the price I would have rather stayed at a Knights Inn . Don't suggest it !'!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you had issues with your room. I wish you had told us about the smell and sheets while you were staying so that we could have moved you to a new room. If we don't know about the issue when you are here, we cannot fix it. More

Eastpointe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We booked our anniversary stay here based off the reviews of our friends stay for their honeymoon from last year. We choose to ignore tripadvisor reviews! We booked the king romance package and went expecting the best, romantic room the hotel could offer but discover mediocrity. We were definitely let down. It was a first floor dark, dingy, out of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I want to apologize for issues you had while staying at our hotel. We strive to ensure our guests satisfaction and I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations . Our romance package has been upgraded from previous years. Last year, our romance included a bottle of campaign and the dinner voucher to Audie's. This year we decided... More

Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The rooms are somewhat basic, but were very clean. We arrived after the reception had closed, but the woman who came down to greet us was very helpful. The breakfast was good, but we didn't get to try the pool, but it looked nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to having you stay again with us. More

Portage, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Not Handicap Accesible Receptionist was rude. Water got hot very fast and stayed hot. Wont stay again the Cleaning people were prompt and very nice. Breakfast area was not handicap nor was the pool and the parking lot was small and could not even get the wheel chair up to the room cause of the cement block for the parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry for your experience at our hotel. We do try to accommodate all of our guests needs and requests, however sometimes we cannot fulfill them. Unfortunately handicap accessible rooms is not one of them. Our property does not offer handicap accessible rooms nor does it advertise them. Our property is just not equipped to offer ease of... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Thunderbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Inn

Address: 146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Mackinaw City with
any amenities