We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Mackinaw City hotels

Thunderbird Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Inn to your Saves list
Thunderbird Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
58%
Ranked #19 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
TrekkinDs Lino Lakes, Minnesota
  • Overview
  • Reviews (122)
  • Photos (18)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    45
    25
    16
    12
See reviews for
41
49
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Inn
See the most recent reviews
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a 12 hr car ride with 2 year old twins, we arrived to a dirty room with only 2 sets of towels, old food on the floor (blueberries/cereal), and NO toilet paper in the bathroom. Was concerned about the germs we were being exposed to. FILTHY coffee pot/maker with old coffee stained on the sides and an actual cobweb... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I want to apologize for the issues of your stay. After your mother stopped up to let us know of the issues with your room, I personally serviced your room. We were told the next morning that everything in the room was fantastic. We did offer a $20 refund for the issues with your room, but also gave the option... More

Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just your average drive-up motel with no complaints. Quiet, comfortable, clean and meets basic needs for someone who does not plan on spending much time in the room other than to wind-down and sleep. The staff was very kind, helpful and accommodating when we realized we needed a different room with an additional bed rather than the one we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. While we do not advertise ourselves as a 5 star hotel, we strive to offer clean, comfortable rooms with exceptional customer service. Thank you for your review. More

Mackinac
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room had a real bad stench to it like rotten meat,the bed sheets were stained with who knows what I just stripped the bed.For the price I would have rather stayed at a Knights Inn . Don't suggest it !'!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you had issues with your room. I wish you had told us about the smell and sheets while you were staying so that we could have moved you to a new room. If we don't know about the issue when you are here, we cannot fix it. More

Eastpointe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We booked our anniversary stay here based off the reviews of our friends stay for their honeymoon from last year. We choose to ignore tripadvisor reviews! We booked the king romance package and went expecting the best, romantic room the hotel could offer but discover mediocrity. We were definitely let down. It was a first floor dark, dingy, out of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I want to apologize for issues you had while staying at our hotel. We strive to ensure our guests satisfaction and I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations . Our romance package has been upgraded from previous years. Last year, our romance included a bottle of campaign and the dinner voucher to Audie's. This year we decided... More

Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The rooms are somewhat basic, but were very clean. We arrived after the reception had closed, but the woman who came down to greet us was very helpful. The breakfast was good, but we didn't get to try the pool, but it looked nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to having you stay again with us. More

Portage, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Not Handicap Accesible Receptionist was rude. Water got hot very fast and stayed hot. Wont stay again the Cleaning people were prompt and very nice. Breakfast area was not handicap nor was the pool and the parking lot was small and could not even get the wheel chair up to the room cause of the cement block for the parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry for your experience at our hotel. We do try to accommodate all of our guests needs and requests, however sometimes we cannot fulfill them. Unfortunately handicap accessible rooms is not one of them. Our property does not offer handicap accessible rooms nor does it advertise them. Our property is just not equipped to offer ease of... More

Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Okay, so this hotel was nothing to write home about, but would I stay again? Probably. The price was excellent for location. The kids loved the pool and the rooms were clean. Yes there are issues with the hot water, but it wasn't bad. We never made the breakfast, but our friend took his kids and said it was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. Our main priority is to offer clean, comfortable rooms and superior service. We look forward to having you stay with us again so you can try our hot breakfast. More

LAKEVILLE
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here one night for the Minis on the Mac event last August. The beds were nice and firm and I did sleep well which I suppose is the main thing. However, there was a brown scum line on the sink where the faucet attaches, also the bathroom floor wasn't super clean, the thing that got me the most was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Whether you stayed a week ago or months ago we still appreciate the feedback. All of your concerns have been addressed. We have undergone a management transition from last year and my main goals are to provide clean rooms and great service. Thank you once again for your feedback. More

Niles, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here last fall and enjoyed the location. We got a steal towards the end of the season and couldn't have been happier. The only complaint was how quickly the shower temp changed from ice cold to scalding hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last fall. I look forward to having you stay with us again. More

Flatwoods, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel was simple and clean and served its purpose. We did not go to the pool or eat the breakfast so I have no opinion of either of those things but the room was nice and clean and there wasn't any noise issues. The hotel staff was friendly and it was located close to downtown within biking or walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try very hard to ensure everyone has a great vacation while here in Mackinaw. I'm sorry you didn't get to enjoy our pool or breakfast. Maybe next time. :) Thank you fro the nice review. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Thunderbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Inn

Address: 146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Mackinaw City with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Beautiful Boutique Property completely devoted to customer service and clean rooms. We provide all the things you have grown to love and trust from a hotel including free WIFI, free breakfast, an indoor pool, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, cable TV and much more. We are AAA approved, Pet friendly, AARP accepted, along with many other discounts and very close to all local attractions including the ferry lines and water park. Here at the Thunderbird Inn we welcome everyone with a smile and we are confident you will leave with one. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
48

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Thunderbird Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer