We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thunderbird Inn

146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel amenities
Thunderbird Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014
Theresa L Cadillac, Michigan
Add Photo

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    49
    29
    16
    15
See reviews for
47
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Inn
See the most recent reviews
Gibson City, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This is an older hotel but that is no excuse for its condition. The bed was old and very uncomfortable. Linens (bed and towels) were of poor condition. The first room we were put in had stained sheets. I complained about this and the guy at the front desk couldn't even make a decision as what to do about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

While we are an older hotel, we work at trying to provide clean rooms and friendly service. Unfortunately, it looks like we dropped the ball this time. I can assure you that we take each and every comment and complaint to heart and work towards fixing it for future guests. Please rest assured that your comments will not be tossed... More 

Cadillac, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

The room was super clean, the staff was courteous and helpful, breakfast included hot eggs & sausage, and the price was more reasonable than most other hotels in the area. We'd definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I'm pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was enjoyable. We look forward to having you stay again! More 

Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

For a 2-star hotel, this is very nice! It was easy to find - close to the highway exit. We were mainly concerned about having a clean place to stay, and this was great! Granted, the TV was an older model, the towels were a little thin, and the mattress wasn't a pillowtop like at an expensive resort - but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad you found your accommodations enjoyable. While we do not offer everything a 5-star property might, we try to meet basic necessities with a few bonuses such as our hot breakfast. A comfortable, clean room is what we try to give all of our guests. We look forward to your future return. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 2 year wedding anniversary. It was a wake up and drive kind of trip and it was great that we stumbled upon this gem. They were clean and comfortable rooms with super friendly service! I would recommend to anyone looking for a cheap getaway. It's also close to the island ferry and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We strive to provide the best possible amenities while still remaining within our guests budget. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future. More 

Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I was nervous before coming after reading the recent reviews. The place was average. It was clean. The bed was pretty comfortable. We weren't in the room much so it worked ok for us. We were able to walk to town. The water in the shower did take a while to heat up and some of the towels smelled moldy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The hot water fluctuations are something we fight with and try to control; however, in an older property such as ours, its one of the issues we have not been able to completely dial into. My apologies for the issues of your stay. Hopefully on your next trip to or through the area we will... More 

Lansing
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Our Girl Scout troop (6th-grade girls) stayed at the Thunderbird Inn and it was everything we hoped it would be. We were looking for economical accommodations, and were very pleased with what we got for the price. We really enjoyed the indoor pool. The temperature was perfect (cool but not cold upon entry), there was adequate seating, pool towels were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I'm pleased to hear that your trip to the Mackinaw area was a success and that we were able to accommodate you. We hope that on your next girl-scout troop trip we can help make it another success. More 

Central Vermont
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were in Mackinaw City for a reunion of the crew of the icebreaker Mackinaw and lodgings were arranged by others. While the discounted price was attractive the "Inn" wasn't so hot. It's basically an older motel with thin walls between rooms and a sign in the shower that warns the water temperature may change unexpectedly. Rooms are on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coopersville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here two years ago and really liked it. This year we didn't. The room was not clean. It was a dark dingy room. Had a strange smell. The bed sagged really bad. Very uncomfortable. We had no hot water at night for a shower or washing my face. They do have a sign telling you the water flucuates,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Check in was fine and easy. The location is near many other hotels. Our room was tidy, but the hot water was a serious issue (as noted in other reviews). I had booked online because I figured it would be the cheapest and easiest way to ensure we had a place to rest our heads. It wasn't! The paper in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

First off I would like to say that the male front receptionist was great, the female not so much. I found her to be rude. We stayed for 3 nights in July. We arrived to only a couple of towels (that you could almost see through) and a moldy smell in the room. To top it off I went to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay