We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thunderbird Inn

146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Thunderbird Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    50
    32
    16
    17
See reviews for
49
56
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here on a recent trip to Mackinac Island. The hotel is conveniently located, though not on the water. It was clean, and the breakfast was OK, though not great, and not much variety. The biggest downfall was that the shower had a HUGE and INSTANTANEOUS fluctuation in temperatures almost always, no matter when we used it. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Room smelled like mold sheets were not clean no hot water very bad hotel! Disgusting. We went to stay over night so we our family could rest we were all very disappointed. We will never stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry about your recent stay at our property. I wish you would have brought this all to the attention of our front desk staff when you checked in; we would have done everything in our power to remedy the situation. More 

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here for 3 nights. The rates were great. My room was lovely, very clean, and had everything I needed. The property was well kept, the housekeeping staff was wonderful, and Steven, the manager, was very courteous and friendly. Next time I visit Mackinaw City I will definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived late Friday, and the manager was very accommodating. Got settled in right away. The room was clean and neat, with no smells that would be offensive. That air conditioner was cold, but a little on the loud side. Breakfast left something to be desired, and service is from 6:30 to 9:00 sharp. But, you couldn't go wrong with biscuits... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. Our breakfast does change depending on the day. We may do biscuits and gravy one day, and provide eggs and sausage the next. We try to give variety to those staying for an extended period of time. Again, thank you for the feedback; we look forward to having you stay with us in the future. More 

Appleton, Wi.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All in all good location and good price. They only give you 2 sets of towels, however will give you more but you need to ask daily or grab some from the pool for use in your room. There is a sign in shower stating "water temp may fluctuate" - pay attention, because it does and will. Though we didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for providing feedback, we like to know where we can improve and what we are doing right. More 

Allen Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I chose this place based on the internet. The pictures looked nice and the property seemed clean and the price was right. When we got to the hotel we entered our room and the smell was so musty/pee it made us sick. We told the front desk we would not be staying here, they gave us another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize for the smell of your room. Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable environment and it looks as if we dropped the ball on this one. More 

State Line, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was very clean and a roomy size with a refrigerator & table with 2 chairs. It is an older facility but nice for the price. Breakfast had a variety of items and changed menu which was a nice surprise. Breakfast service is closed promptly at 9 a.m. so you don't want to get there at 8:50!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back in the future. More 

Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Pro: Clean and efficient motel. Yes, a bit outdated but in maintained and and in working condition. Not far from the attractions and cheaper than other motels closer to the city. Great hot continental breakfast, some of the better ones i had on the trip. NIce large pool as well. Con: It took a long time to get the hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; we appreciate the feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay, and I do apologize for the water issue you were having. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015 via mobile

We were very happy with the cleanliness of the room as well as the staff. Clean, very comfortable beds and the staff were beyond friendly and accommodating! We needed a roll away and had a pet and they were so nice about everything we needed!! Would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future! More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We have stayed here before and never any problems. We stayed here on Memorial Day weekend. Saturday morning we left room at 9:00 AM. We returned at 4:30 PM to find our room had not been touched. Dirty wet towels on floor bed unmade. I contacted the front desk and was told house keeping had left for the day. He... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I do apologize for us missing your room when cleaning. As you indicated, you did have to leave early as you had an emergency to attend to at home. Upon your departure, you notified our staff that your room had not been serviced. We would have gladly gone in and cleaned your room and gotten new towels, but with you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn Mackinaw City
Baymont Inn Mackinaw City
#3 of 41 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parkside Inn -  Bridgeside
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
#23 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#12 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
0.7 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 41 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay