We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Mackinaw City hotels

Thunderbird Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Inn to your Saves list
Thunderbird Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
Ranked #17 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Robert H Dearborn, Michigan
  • Overview
  • Reviews (109)
  • Photos (18)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    42
    21
    13
    9
See reviews for
34
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastpointe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked our anniversary stay here based off the reviews of our friends stay for their honeymoon from last year. We choose to ignore tripadvisor reviews! We booked the king romance package and went expecting the best, romantic room the hotel could offer but discover mediocrity. We were definitely let down. It was a first floor dark, dingy, out of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are somewhat basic, but were very clean. We arrived after the reception had closed, but the woman who came down to greet us was very helpful. The breakfast was good, but we didn't get to try the pool, but it looked nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portage, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not Handicap Accesible Receptionist was rude. Water got hot very fast and stayed hot. Wont stay again the Cleaning people were prompt and very nice. Breakfast area was not handicap nor was the pool and the parking lot was small and could not even get the wheel chair up to the room cause of the cement block for the parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry for your experience at our hotel. We do try to accommodate all of our guests needs and requests, however sometimes we cannot fulfill them. Unfortunately handicap accessible rooms is not one of them. Our property does not offer handicap accessible rooms nor does it advertise them. Our property is just not equipped to offer ease of... More

Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Okay, so this hotel was nothing to write home about, but would I stay again? Probably. The price was excellent for location. The kids loved the pool and the rooms were clean. Yes there are issues with the hot water, but it wasn't bad. We never made the breakfast, but our friend took his kids and said it was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. Our main priority is to offer clean, comfortable rooms and superior service. We look forward to having you stay with us again so you can try our hot breakfast. More

LAKEVILLE
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here one night for the Minis on the Mac event last August. The beds were nice and firm and I did sleep well which I suppose is the main thing. However, there was a brown scum line on the sink where the faucet attaches, also the bathroom floor wasn't super clean, the thing that got me the most was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Whether you stayed a week ago or months ago we still appreciate the feedback. All of your concerns have been addressed. We have undergone a management transition from last year and my main goals are to provide clean rooms and great service. Thank you once again for your feedback. More

Niles, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here last fall and enjoyed the location. We got a steal towards the end of the season and couldn't have been happier. The only complaint was how quickly the shower temp changed from ice cold to scalding hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last fall. I look forward to having you stay with us again. More

Flatwoods, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel was simple and clean and served its purpose. We did not go to the pool or eat the breakfast so I have no opinion of either of those things but the room was nice and clean and there wasn't any noise issues. The hotel staff was friendly and it was located close to downtown within biking or walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try very hard to ensure everyone has a great vacation while here in Mackinaw. I'm sorry you didn't get to enjoy our pool or breakfast. Maybe next time. :) Thank you fro the nice review. More

Flatwoods, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were worried because when we booked our stay we were taking our parents with us. The hotel was a nice older one but it was fine for one night. We were within walking distance of downtown where the shops and marina are and the land is flat so the walking was great. If I had to give it one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed everything at the hotel. I wanted to let you know I have received other comments on breakfast and we are looking into what we will do differently this next season. Any recommendations would be great. Thank you again Teresa More

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Perfect for the one night we stayed. Priced right. Room was clean and bed was great. Breakfast was ok. Just the regular stuff you see at most hotels. No meats. Pool was closed for season. Would stay here again. Good in/out place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in your travels to Mackinaw in the future. I do apologize for the pool being closed we try and leave it open till the last possible day we can but some seasons it just gets to cold towards the end and its impossible... More

Grand Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This motel was a very fair price. I have stayed here twice. The rooms were large, clean, and in good shape. The beds were comfortable. There is very little road noise. There is a separate room by the pool where a breakfast buffet is available, 6:00 to 9:00 AM. There is a small nature center across the road, the McRae... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

As always we are happy you returned and enjoyed your stay and the price. I do apologize about the adjoining doors and the hot water we did have a circulating pump that quit working we were unaware of. This has since been fixed and I hope to see you again in the future. Thank you Teresa More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Thunderbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Inn

Address: 146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Beautiful Boutique Property completely devoted to customer service and clean rooms. We provide all the things you have grown to love and trust from a hotel including free WIFI, free breakfast, an indoor pool, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, cable TV and much more. We are AAA approved, Pet friendly, AARP accepted, along with many other discounts and very close to all local attractions including the ferry lines and water park. Here at the Thunderbird Inn we welcome everyone with a smile and we are confident you will leave with one. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
48

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer