We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thunderbird Inn

146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel amenities
Thunderbird Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Michael A Colorado
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    49
    29
    16
    15
See reviews for
47
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pro: Clean and efficient motel. Yes, a bit outdated but in maintained and and in working condition. Not far from the attractions and cheaper than other motels closer to the city. Great hot continental breakfast, some of the better ones i had on the trip. NIce large pool as well. Con: It took a long time to get the hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were very happy with the cleanliness of the room as well as the staff. Clean, very comfortable beds and the staff were beyond friendly and accommodating! We needed a roll away and had a pet and they were so nice about everything we needed!! Would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We have stayed here before and never any problems. We stayed here on Memorial Day weekend. Saturday morning we left room at 9:00 AM. We returned at 4:30 PM to find our room had not been touched. Dirty wet towels on floor bed unmade. I contacted the front desk and was told house keeping had left for the day. He... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I do apologize for us missing your room when cleaning. As you indicated, you did have to leave early as you had an emergency to attend to at home. Upon your departure, you notified our staff that your room had not been serviced. We would have gladly gone in and cleaned your room and gotten new towels, but with you... More 

Cincinnati
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

In an area that modest hotels are pretty pricey, this was a great value. The was definitely no frills, but it was clean, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The breakfast had variety. The pool was rather run-down and cold . There was a playground for the kids. As a "home-base" (for sleeping and showering) while enjoying the attractions of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

First the positive..they allow pets and the staff was ok. Other than that, there are not many other good things. It was EXTREMELY noisy (it rained while we were there and it sounded like we were sleeping in the middle of a rain forest, not to mention whenever someone opened and shut their door it sounded as if they were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

frankenmuth, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

my wife and I go to Mackinaw City every fall and travel with two of our Basset Hounds. The hotel we have stayed at for several years decided to not allow dogs anymore(American Inn Boutique). Money talks I guess so we looked around and most hotels that allow dogs are under 20 pounds. A dog is a dog! Anyway Thunderbird... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Olive, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We had a later checki in, the staff was very nice and made sure we knew what was available to us. Clean rooms comfortable bed, breakfast was hot and Coffee was good, what more could you ask for. The price was very reasonable. The only thing watch out for is the shower water does not regulate well. There is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Staff was nice but didn't go out of their way for you. The coffeemaker was missing out of our room. I was told just go across to the breakfast room and get some. Breakfast was not very good...the eggs were terrible, the bread was dried out. Also one chair in our room had a cracked back so we told them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Smelly, dirty, no hot water. Staff...well as unprofessional as you could possibly imagine. They need another gathering area in the morning if they are going to dress unprofessionally. Real turn off to guests are staff members who are wearing dirty, stained, and worn clothing. They need to insitute some sort of uniform to staff memebers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Evansville
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

First, I want to say that we stayed here the day before the Mackinaw Bridge Walk so all hotels in Mackinaw were crowded. The Inn is an older hotel. The room was clean. We tried to check in at 3:30pm and were told that check in was at 4pm and the room was not ready. We returned at 5pm and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the issues with your stay. Labor Day weekend is one of the busiest weekends for the area and people do tend to stay up late and wake up early as the excitement of walking the bridge draws near. Hopefully you will consider us for a future stay to show you the level of customer... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay