We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Mackinaw City hotels

Thunderbird Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Inn to your Saves list
Thunderbird Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
64%
Ranked #14 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
A recent review
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    20
    11
    8
See reviews for
32
44
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flatwoods, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was simple and clean and served its purpose. We did not go to the pool or eat the breakfast so I have no opinion of either of those things but the room was nice and clean and there wasn't any noise issues. The hotel staff was friendly and it was located close to downtown within biking or walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try very hard to ensure everyone has a great vacation while here in Mackinaw. I'm sorry you didn't get to enjoy our pool or breakfast. Maybe next time. :) Thank you fro the nice review. More

Flatwoods, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were worried because when we booked our stay we were taking our parents with us. The hotel was a nice older one but it was fine for one night. We were within walking distance of downtown where the shops and marina are and the land is flat so the walking was great. If I had to give it one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed everything at the hotel. I wanted to let you know I have received other comments on breakfast and we are looking into what we will do differently this next season. Any recommendations would be great. Thank you again Teresa More

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Perfect for the one night we stayed. Priced right. Room was clean and bed was great. Breakfast was ok. Just the regular stuff you see at most hotels. No meats. Pool was closed for season. Would stay here again. Good in/out place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in your travels to Mackinaw in the future. I do apologize for the pool being closed we try and leave it open till the last possible day we can but some seasons it just gets to cold towards the end and its impossible... More

Grand Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This motel was a very fair price. I have stayed here twice. The rooms were large, clean, and in good shape. The beds were comfortable. There is very little road noise. There is a separate room by the pool where a breakfast buffet is available, 6:00 to 9:00 AM. There is a small nature center across the road, the McRae... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

As always we are happy you returned and enjoyed your stay and the price. I do apologize about the adjoining doors and the hot water we did have a circulating pump that quit working we were unaware of. This has since been fixed and I hope to see you again in the future. Thank you Teresa More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I chose this hotel in the last minute but It was a great choice. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The start offering the breakfast at 6:30 am so if you plan to travel early you can still enjoy your free breakfast. I was happy that they have Belgian waffle for breakfast. The pool is the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review. I am glad you enjoyed the 24 pool hours and everything else. If I can assist you any further in the future please don't hesitate. Thank you Teresa More

Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent the weekend here in August. We had one of the spa tub rooms and it was very spacious . Everything was well kept and clean. The room included a small mini-frig which was great for keeping things cold. The staff was cheerful and polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed the room and your stay with us. Please never hesitate to let me know what I might do differently or how I can help during your visits. Thank you Teresa More

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Over Labor Day Weekend, which I know is a big weekend for people to walk over Mackinaw Bridge in Michigan. Room was clean, but there was mold on the ceiling of the bathroom. There was a warning that there would be fluctuation is the temperature of the water when showering and they weren't kidding. It went from mild to HOT... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us as much as you would have liked. The bats are a constant issue as they are protected and we cant do much besides put up a bat house which we have done and it doesn't seem to help much. I do apologize. I assure you though the breakfast staff steps... More

Livonia, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Myself and my family stayed this past Labor Day weekend in room 124. First off, let me say that the property owner Teresa was very pleasant when I booked my room, considering all the rest of the Big chain hotels wanted atleast double what her rate was, and they wanted a minimum 3 night stay. She quickly took my reservation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize about breakfast, but we offer a basic free breakfast, we leave the big breakfasts to the professionals at the fantastic restaurants we offer in town. I do take all guest comments very seriously and breakfast needs to be upgraded this is something I am looking into for the... More

Washington, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose to stay here b/c other Trip Advisor ratings and we were very disappointed by the poor conditions of this hotel. First, the "heated" pool wasn't...more like ice cold. Second, the shower in our room couldn't decide if it wanted to give cold or hot water...leading to both my husband and I getting scalded on two separate occasions. Finally,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. However the pool is very much heated it is checked and regulated on a daily basis. I apologize if you thought it was cold. Also we order our food from Gordons food service not the "discount market". We offer a basic free breakfast. I am sorry you didn't enjoy it.... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a Saturday night that was pretty busy. The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were big and clean. As other people stated the shower had hot water that fluctuated slightly. The breakfast was fine including fruit, waffles, bagles, and cereal. The pool was nice as well. We would stay here again. Close to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice comments. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. :) Teresa More

Been to Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel
Address: 146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Beautiful Boutique Property completely devoted to customer service and clean rooms. We provide all the things you have grown to love and trust from a hotel including free WIFI, free breakfast, an indoor pool, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, cable TV and much more. We are AAA approved, Pet friendly, AARP accepted, along with many other discounts and very close to all local attractions including the ferry lines and water park. Here at the Thunderbird Inn we welcome everyone with a smile and we are confident you will leave with one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.