We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Mackinaw City hotels

Thunderbird Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel amenities
Thunderbird Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014
Travelmama13 Cincinnati
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    48
    28
    16
    15
See reviews for
45
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (132)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Cincinnati
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

In an area that modest hotels are pretty pricey, this was a great value. The was definitely no frills, but it was clean, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The breakfast had variety. The pool was rather run-down and cold . There was a playground for the kids. As a "home-base" (for sleeping and showering) while enjoying the attractions of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

First the positive..they allow pets and the staff was ok. Other than that, there are not many other good things. It was EXTREMELY noisy (it rained while we were there and it sounded like we were sleeping in the middle of a rain forest, not to mention whenever someone opened and shut their door it sounded as if they were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
frankenmuth, Michigan, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

my wife and I go to Mackinaw City every fall and travel with two of our Basset Hounds. The hotel we have stayed at for several years decided to not allow dogs anymore(American Inn Boutique). Money talks I guess so we looked around and most hotels that allow dogs are under 20 pounds. A dog is a dog! Anyway Thunderbird... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Olive, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We had a later checki in, the staff was very nice and made sure we knew what was available to us. Clean rooms comfortable bed, breakfast was hot and Coffee was good, what more could you ask for. The price was very reasonable. The only thing watch out for is the shower water does not regulate well. There is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden City, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Staff was nice but didn't go out of their way for you. The coffeemaker was missing out of our room. I was told just go across to the breakfast room and get some. Breakfast was not very good...the eggs were terrible, the bread was dried out. Also one chair in our room had a cracked back so we told them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bay City, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Smelly, dirty, no hot water. Staff...well as unprofessional as you could possibly imagine. They need another gathering area in the morning if they are going to dress unprofessionally. Real turn off to guests are staff members who are wearing dirty, stained, and worn clothing. They need to insitute some sort of uniform to staff memebers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Evansville
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

First, I want to say that we stayed here the day before the Mackinaw Bridge Walk so all hotels in Mackinaw were crowded. The Inn is an older hotel. The room was clean. We tried to check in at 3:30pm and were told that check in was at 4pm and the room was not ready. We returned at 5pm and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the issues with your stay. Labor Day weekend is one of the busiest weekends for the area and people do tend to stay up late and wake up early as the excitement of walking the bridge draws near. Hopefully you will consider us for a future stay to show you the level of customer... More 

Gibson City, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This is an older hotel but that is no excuse for its condition. The bed was old and very uncomfortable. Linens (bed and towels) were of poor condition. The first room we were put in had stained sheets. I complained about this and the guy at the front desk couldn't even make a decision as what to do about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

While we are an older hotel, we work at trying to provide clean rooms and friendly service. Unfortunately, it looks like we dropped the ball this time. I can assure you that we take each and every comment and complaint to heart and work towards fixing it for future guests. Please rest assured that your comments will not be tossed... More 

Cadillac, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

The room was super clean, the staff was courteous and helpful, breakfast included hot eggs & sausage, and the price was more reasonable than most other hotels in the area. We'd definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I'm pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was enjoyable. We look forward to having you stay again! More 

Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

For a 2-star hotel, this is very nice! It was easy to find - close to the highway exit. We were mainly concerned about having a clean place to stay, and this was great! Granted, the TV was an older model, the towels were a little thin, and the mattress wasn't a pillowtop like at an expensive resort - but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad you found your accommodations enjoyable. While we do not offer everything a 5-star property might, we try to meet basic necessities with a few bonuses such as our hot breakfast. A comfortable, clean room is what we try to give all of our guests. We look forward to your future return. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Inn

Address: 146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay