We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
112 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    21
    15
    20
    31
See reviews for
41
35
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Adrian, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we have stayed at your hotel 3 different times and love it!! yes your hotel is older as is most in Mackinaw City and sure everywhere could be updated in Mackinaw City but to us that is half the charm !! our rooms have always been very comfortable,clean and affordable,the staff is great ,breakfast in the morning ROCKS!! friendly workers,who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good sized hotel with easy close parking. Just a few blocks from the main "strip" of the city. This is a seasonal hotel but has several rooms for the off season. Jacuzzi suites are very spacious and enjoyable to stay in. Breakfast offers several hot choices and cold items as well and a very large pool is available in-season. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you Eric for the great review. I'm glad that my staff was helpful and knowledgeable. I'm also glad to hear that your room was clean and that you enjoyed the pool and breakfast. I hope that you'll choose us again on your next visit to Mackinaw City. More 

Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Badly need of remodeling. Bed was uncomfortable. Asked for more pillows. Thankfully I didnt need more than two towels, because thats all you get! Breakfast was surprisingly good. We received a discount on dinner and a discount for ferry ride to Mackinaw Island also a free shuttle service to ferry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you Colleen for the review. I'm sorry that your stay wasn't up to your expectations. We would have been happy to run you out more towels had you let us know. We do try to call the room with in about 10 minutes after you check in to make sure the room is up to your expectations. Please let... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Freeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First staff was superb. They really seemed to care. But, property itself was old. Porcelain worn off bathtub so it looks dirty. Beds adequate. Older TV. Very basic. But, if you just need a bed for a quick sleep over. It works. Nice to have a table and refridge in the room. Would recommend for a low budget sleep over.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you Kim for the review. I'm glad to hear that my staff was superb. We are an older property yes and we do work to try and make sure that we provide clean rooms at an affordable price. If there is anything we can do for you please feel free to let me know. More 

Grand Cayman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros Warm pool, clean sheets, clean tub. Carpet not vacuumed, dust behind the tv and my grand daughter found a dirty bra under the bed when she dropped her cookie. When I took it to the office manager, he apologized and told me it was a "honest mistake". Not a mistake cause she purposely did not clean under the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. More 

FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To start, the staff members were very nice and helpful. That is where the positive ends. When we got to our room we tried to find enough outlets for our phones computer etc. moved a nightstand and there were condoms behind the nightstand. The bed was very uncomfortable, able to feel the springs in the mattress. We were only given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you for writing the review for us. I apologize that you had problems in your room. We do only stock the room with two towels however we would have been more than happy to run you out more had you let us know. As to the unopened and unused condom wrapper that was underneath the night stand I do... More 

South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I went on a family trip and figured we only needed a beds to sleep in for the night so we could go for a budget hotel solution. Since I was also bringing along my nephews, I liked that they had triple rooms with three queen beds. The room did not smell bad and the beds and bathroom seemed clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations. For breakfast I'm not sure what you saw but we do offer sausage, hash browns, biscuits and gravy, muffins, bagels, toast, three kinds of cereal, yogurt, apples, bananas, oranges, orange bread, donuts, coffee, and juice. In regards to the carpets we did have them cleaned since then and also... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

This is a great place. The staff is so friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay the best. In fact, they even purchased a brand new gas grill for the deck because the others were out of order! Room was very clean and the three beds were perfect for us. Breakfast is good. Wifi is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. I apologize that the WiFi wasn't working properly while you were here. We did have Charter come out and had it fixed since then. I hope that we will see you again on your next trip to Mackinaw City.. More 

Tecumseh, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Our first impression was that this hotel was older and could be a huge disappointment. Boy was I wrong (well it is an older establishment but who cares). The front office staff was exceptional. They helped us several times with directions, discounts, ideas, & calling for shuttles to the Mackinac Island ferry. The breakfast is a great way to start... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you in the future. More 

Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

This was our 2nd visit to this motel. The room was clean and neat. The breakfast was wonderful and the hostess was wonderful as well. Appreciated that the breakfast buffet did not close exactly at 9am, they stayed open for those late arrivals. Price was reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us as I love to hear that the rooms were clean and that your experience was good. We look forward to seeing you again. Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#22 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parkside Inn -  Bridgeside
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
#21 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Lakes Inn
Great Lakes Inn
#27 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Starlite Budget Inns
Starlite Budget Inns
#18 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Bridgeview Lodge
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Mackinaw City / Bridgeview Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay