We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Mackinaw City hotels

America's Best Value Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added America's Best Value Inn to your Saves list
America's Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
39%
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
bigsablept
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    14
    17
    25
See reviews for
30
27
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent five nights here on our family vacation. The staff is friendly. The rooms are quite large. If you're willing to give up the couch you can get three queen size beds which worked well for our family. The pool is quite large. We had one day where it seemed like our room cleaning was interrupted and things we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loudonville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very dated, bed is old and hard, the room smells like urine. The only redeeming feature is we could bring our small dog. Very close to downtown and ferry service as well as easy highway access. People were nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in this Hotel with a bus tour August 2014. If I had a car I would have driven away FAST! Rooms were musty, Mattresses lumpy, Towels thin, Pool filthy, Hot tub pump did not work. We survived, but I would have rather been camping. Breakfast room was clean and nice but food was so-so. They obviously aren't going to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent four nights here as part of a group tour. This hotel needs some major work to bring it into the 21st century. The rooms are old and depressing, fixtures are very dated. Our room had a large jacuzzi in the middle of the room, it and all of the bathroom fixtures were a light cocoa color. Towels were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly staff and it ends there. Shower head was very low, and shower surround was coming off wall. There was only a sheet and small blanket for bed, and bed was nothing but springs. There were foot prints on the carpet at the end of the bed like someone was electrocuted. Very "Bates Motel." Conitnental breakfast was warmed up microwave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zachary C, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Jennifer I want to apologize for your stay with us not meeting your expectations. I wish you could've told us about the issues while you were staying with us so we could have fixed the issue or move you to a different room. I unfortunately can't fix something unless it's brought to our attention. Yes we do some of the... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 3 nights here last week. I thought that I had made a reservation weeks ago....no confirmation...no reservation. Thursday night was available..and as luck would have it when I checked in Friday & Saturday became available. This Inn is adequate if you're not worried about frills. It could use little updating, new carpet, new bathroom fixtures. But for the price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zachary C, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review we definitely appreciate the feedback. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate you during your vacation. If there is anything we can do in the future feel free to reach out to me. More

Ashland, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff very friendly and helpful. Julie went out for her way to get us reservation at another hotel because I reserved room for wrong dates. Staff helpful with finding attractions and great places to eat. Breakfast was complete with sausage and eggs and French toast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zachary C, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Sharon for the great review I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again. More

Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a nice hotel. The rooms were very clean and the service from the front desk was very friendly. Nice location and the way the hotel is set up makes you feel very secure. The breakfast room is nicely located as well. Thanks for everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zachary C, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review Shannon I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you'll choose us again next time your in Mackinaw City. More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Close to downtown without downtown prices. Staff was friendly and helpful. Made room for us to park our trailer and gave us extra blankets and towels without us asking. Have Rooms where clean and breakfast was good, there was sausage and eggs offered with all the regular stuff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zachary C, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Tonya thank you for the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Providing rooms that are clean, safe, and affordable are what we strive for. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Everything about this joint screamed health code violation. Let's start off with what the sign read pulling up to the place,"Come as guest leave as friends". That should've been the first red flag, but there's many more. Many rooms weren't ready on time. I was staying in a room of 5 and there was only 1 towel. The beds had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zachary C, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Lauren I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with us. I would definitely like to talk to you more in depth about your stay and what happened if you could contact me directly. My name is Zach and I'm the GM for this property. My number is 231-436-5544. I hope to hear back from you soon. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to America's Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn

Address: 112 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your America's Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Mackinaw City with
any amenities