We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Mackinaw City hotels

Starlite Budget Inns

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   116 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel amenities
Starlite Budget Inns
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Starlite Budget Inns to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014
Mary M Watford, Ontario, Canada
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    8
    10
    2
See reviews for
13
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Watford, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Plan to stay here again. Very clean, neat room with fridge, TV etc. Allowed pets which was great. Pleasant person greeted me. I felt safe and secure. Also in a great tourist area. Would have seen much more except the weather was not great. Recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Keep in mind that this is a smaller older 'Mom & Pop' type motel. But it has been well maintained. Small bathroom but that did not bother us. We really don't spend much time in the room as we spend the day & evening siteseeing. The bagels (for breakfast) were nice and fresh; they had other offerings but I stuck... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

What a great find..... we headed up north on a whim with no reservation. When arriving in Mackinaw City late in the afternoon we began looking for a great value and clean place to be and that is what we found. Rebecca at the desk was very inviting and a delight to talk to. We checked into our room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
winnipeg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The check in staff was nice and the rooms were very average for this type of hotel. There had been a few improvements in the bathroom (new flooring) which avoided it being grimy, although the fixtures were old. Hot water took awhile in coming, but after running the water for a minute or 2 it heated up. No grounded/3-prong electrical... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Walked into a very outdated room even for the price. Advertised wi-fi was non-existent in the room. When asked about the wi-if, was told I shouldn't be using my phone on vacation. Chairs in room had residue from previous residents. There was a small hole in the wall above the bed...camera? The 13" tube tv was pretty sweet. If you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed here for one night on my way up to Munising. The manager was very nice despite my late arrival. It is located right off the highway and close to the downtown area. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Mackinaw.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartland,Mi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband planned 5 days at this hotel from 7/31-8/5/2014.Rooms were always kept clean and staff made us feel welcomed.We traveled with our lab Lizzy and they adored her.Our housekeeper Casey was super friendly and always stopped to say hello and to chit chat a bit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Bathroom is tiny and cramped and TV works about half the time on a good day. Pool and hot tub are hooked up to the same heating system so if the pool breaks down so does the hot tub. During my families stay the hot tub jets broke and the hot tub was cold and the pool heating system was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
16 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Bonnie is gone and so is the friendly service. We have been going here for years and liked the friendly service, but that is now gone. You can't even call the hotel, you have to come through a central reservation desk that supports multiple hotels. The prices have also gone up from the previous years. I doubt that we will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review

We are so sorry you were dissatisfied with your stay. I do want to explain that our prices have been the same for several years with no price increase even though costs have risen. However, prices are different for different times of the year and Friday and Saturday is always more than Sunday Through Thursday. The off-season prices are in... More

Daggett, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My Wife & I stayed here this past weekend 6/21/14 the rooms were clean and nice we had no problems friendly guest' grounds where clean and nice[ price was right ]'the hotels down by the city I think are a little over price but what do you expect for 52.00 a night great job starlight we will be back had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our friendly staff all try very hard to please all our customers by provided a clean, comfortable environment at a very reasonable price. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Starlite Budget Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Budget Inns

Address: 116 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Budget Inns 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Starlite Budget Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Budget Inns Hotel Mackinaw City
Budget Inn Starlite

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay