We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Mackinaw City hotels

Starlite Budget Inns

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   116 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Starlite Budget Inns to your Saves list
Starlite Budget Inns
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
55%
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014
Gina R
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    7
    10
    2
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Walked into a very outdated room even for the price. Advertised wi-fi was non-existent in the room. When asked about the wi-if, was told I shouldn't be using my phone on vacation. Chairs in room had residue from previous residents. There was a small hole in the wall above the bed...camera? The 13" tube tv was pretty sweet. If you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed here for one night on my way up to Munising. The manager was very nice despite my late arrival. It is located right off the highway and close to the downtown area. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Mackinaw.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartland,Mi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband planned 5 days at this hotel from 7/31-8/5/2014.Rooms were always kept clean and staff made us feel welcomed.We traveled with our lab Lizzy and they adored her.Our housekeeper Casey was super friendly and always stopped to say hello and to chit chat a bit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Bathroom is tiny and cramped and TV works about half the time on a good day. Pool and hot tub are hooked up to the same heating system so if the pool breaks down so does the hot tub. During my families stay the hot tub jets broke and the hot tub was cold and the pool heating system was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
14 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Bonnie is gone and so is the friendly service. We have been going here for years and liked the friendly service, but that is now gone. You can't even call the hotel, you have to come through a central reservation desk that supports multiple hotels. The prices have also gone up from the previous years. I doubt that we will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review

We are so sorry you were dissatisfied with your stay. I do want to explain that our prices have been the same for several years with no price increase even though costs have risen. However, prices are different for different times of the year and Friday and Saturday is always more than Sunday Through Thursday. The off-season prices are in... More

Daggett, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My Wife & I stayed here this past weekend 6/21/14 the rooms were clean and nice we had no problems friendly guest' grounds where clean and nice[ price was right ]'the hotels down by the city I think are a little over price but what do you expect for 52.00 a night great job starlight we will be back had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our friendly staff all try very hard to please all our customers by provided a clean, comfortable environment at a very reasonable price. We look forward to seeing you again. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The service was good, but my room was dirty. Slugs climbing on walls, flies, spiders, cobwebs, finger smears on walls and water smelled like sewage. Room smelled musty and breakfast was pretty much first come first serve, stale bagels. Will not return to this motel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review

The manager in charge at that time and her housekeeping staff are no longer working for the Starlite Budget Inn. As you can tell from the more current reviews the new resident manager offers a much more clean, comfortable, friendly lodging facility. We are truly sorry the problem was not corrected earlier and that your stay was not a pleasant... More

Mackinaw City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Came here because the other nearby hotels were full. Regret ensued. The first room that we were assigned to was a mess - first and foremost, the electricity was completely dead. Two beds were crammed haphazardly into a tiny room, hardly bigger than a walk in closet, and one of the beds had no bedding. We were transferred to a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review

The manager at that time is no longer employed by the Starlite Budget Inn and we are very sorry you had such a bad experience. The reviews from the next season show the improvements. More

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here only because we had been traveling all day and were tired from driving and driving around trying to find a place to stay. It was Labor Day weekend so most places were charging WAAY too much for a basic room. We got a room that had dirty fingerprints alllll over the walls (would be so easy to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review

Again, the manager at that time was not doing the proper job. The new manager makes sure the rooms and property are clean and comfortable. More

Palos Park, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Highly recommended. Bonnie, the owner/manager, does a great job and gives recommendations for the area. rooms were clean, breakfast was excellent. Outdoor pool was nice and there were bar-b-q grills for guests to use on the spacious grounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Starlite Budget Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Starlite Budget Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Budget Inns

Address: 116 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Budget Inns 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Starlite Budget Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Budget Inns Hotel Mackinaw City
Budget Inn Starlite

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Mackinaw City with
any amenities