We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Mackinaw City hotels

Starlite Budget Inns

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   116 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Starlite Budget Inns to your Saves list
Starlite Budget Inns
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
54%
Ranked #28 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Brendan P
  • Overview
  • Reviews (35)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (14)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    7
    10
    1
See reviews for
12
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bathroom is tiny and cramped and TV works about half the time on a good day. Pool and hot tub are hooked up to the same heating system so if the pool breaks down so does the hot tub. During my families stay the hot tub jets broke and the hot tub was cold and the pool heating system was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bonnie is gone and so is the friendly service. We have been going here for years and liked the friendly service, but that is now gone. You can't even call the hotel, you have to come through a central reservation desk that supports multiple hotels. The prices have also gone up from the previous years. I doubt that we will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review

We are so sorry you were dissatisfied with your stay. I do want to explain that our prices have been the same for several years with no price increase even though costs have risen. However, prices are different for different times of the year and Friday and Saturday is always more than Sunday Through Thursday. The off-season prices are in... More

Daggett, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My Wife & I stayed here this past weekend 6/21/14 the rooms were clean and nice we had no problems friendly guest' grounds where clean and nice[ price was right ]'the hotels down by the city I think are a little over price but what do you expect for 52.00 a night great job starlight we will be back had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our friendly staff all try very hard to please all our customers by provided a clean, comfortable environment at a very reasonable price. We look forward to seeing you again. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The service was good, but my room was dirty. Slugs climbing on walls, flies, spiders, cobwebs, finger smears on walls and water smelled like sewage. Room smelled musty and breakfast was pretty much first come first serve, stale bagels. Will not return to this motel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review

The manager in charge at that time and her housekeeping staff are no longer working for the Starlite Budget Inn. As you can tell from the more current reviews the new resident manager offers a much more clean, comfortable, friendly lodging facility. We are truly sorry the problem was not corrected earlier and that your stay was not a pleasant... More

Mackinaw City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Came here because the other nearby hotels were full. Regret ensued. The first room that we were assigned to was a mess - first and foremost, the electricity was completely dead. Two beds were crammed haphazardly into a tiny room, hardly bigger than a walk in closet, and one of the beds had no bedding. We were transferred to a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review

The manager at that time is no longer employed by the Starlite Budget Inn and we are very sorry you had such a bad experience. The reviews from the next season show the improvements. More

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here only because we had been traveling all day and were tired from driving and driving around trying to find a place to stay. It was Labor Day weekend so most places were charging WAAY too much for a basic room. We got a room that had dirty fingerprints alllll over the walls (would be so easy to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review

Again, the manager at that time was not doing the proper job. The new manager makes sure the rooms and property are clean and comfortable. More

Palos Park, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Highly recommended. Bonnie, the owner/manager, does a great job and gives recommendations for the area. rooms were clean, breakfast was excellent. Outdoor pool was nice and there were bar-b-q grills for guests to use on the spacious grounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Starlight budget inn two nights. The pool was filthy. The WiFi wasn't working. The room had an old stale musty smell. No coffee in room as advertised. We found numerous spiders in the room. Shower pressure was a trickle and not very warm. Snack room only had pop. Thought we would save some money, lesson learned.

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. It was old, but very clean. The room smelled a bit musty but we were not in it that much. Just at night to crash. Bonnie, the manager or maybe owner, was awesome. She was very helpful with any questions. The free breakfast was ok but small. Mostly oatmeal, cereal and bagels. The water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Austin, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked this room as one of our stops on our way to the UP for a vacation. It is important to us to have a CLEAN room and we thought it would be after reading some reviews; however, our room WAS NOT clean! There was a "distinctive" unpleasant odor as soon as you entered the room and the "free"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review

We are sorry about the unpleasant experience. Wish you could smell the clean, fresh rooms presented by the new manager!!! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Starlite Budget Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Mackinaw City with
any amenities

Been to Starlite Budget Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Budget Inns

Address: 116 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Budget Inns 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Starlite Budget Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Budget Inns Hotel Mackinaw City
Budget Inn Starlite

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Up-north hospitality at an affordable price. Close to downtown, entertainment, shopping, restaurant, island ferries and Mackinaw bridge. Free breakfast, playground, heated pool, jacuzzi and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
36

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer