We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Murray Hotel

Main Street, P.O. Box 476, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Murray Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

The rooms are small, but comfortable. Great location on the Main Street. A quick walk from the ferry to the hotel. The price was moderate for the Island. The dinning room was a step back to 1970. A very disappointing breakfast. Don't waste your money to eat there, too many other restaurants to choose from.

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mary H, Thanks so much for taking time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the price of the hotel. We are sorry to hear that we dropped the ball on breakfast. We hope that you will give us another chance in the near future. Thanks again for taking time to... More 

Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

For the price we paid, this was a perfectly fine hotel. Our rooms were the smallest I've ever stayed in, but we weren't looking to hang around the hotel anyway. Despite being old, the hotel was clean. Some idiot put soap in the hot tub, so it was mostly out of commission during our stay, but the outside patio was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marc F
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Marc F, Thanks so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you were happy with the value you received. We are sorry that you did not get a chance to fully enjoy the hot tub during your stay with us. We apologize that the desk clerk on duty did not seem friendly.... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

I Love going to the Murray Hotel... For One they have the Best Fudge,nice and creamy...Two the place is very clean,and the Beds are very comfy!!The Hotel is very HOMEY.... Everyone is so nice and the food I got for breakfast was really good and not expensive at all....I mean it is a old hotel but it is comfortable I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheila E
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Sheila E, Thank you so much for mentioning our friendly staff. We like to think our hotel is home away from home for our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and the kind words about our fudge and how comfy the beds are. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Thanks! More 

Hartland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

We cannot say enough good things about our recent stay at The Murray Hotel. We stayed there years ago in one of the less expensive rooms, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay then, so we knew for our landmark anniversary trip, this is where we wanted to stay again. We paid for a front-view room this time and were given Room... More 

Helpful?
Thank YvonneGreg
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Hi YvonneGreg, We are so happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us! We are so excited to hear that your anniversary trip with us was a great one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thanks so much for taking the time out of your busy day to review our hotel. More 

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

Located right across the street from the Arnold Ferry Dock (Cheapest but slowest way) the hotel has nice rooms, a great breakfast, and super selection of fudge in its own fudge shop in the lobby. Moderately priced compared to other lodgings, I would recommend staying here,

Helpful?
Thank readthis2015
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Hi readthis2015, Thanks so much for choosing the Murray Hotel for your visit to Mackinac Island. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed rooms, fudge, and breakfast buffet. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thanks so much for taking time to review us! More 

Caro, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

To spend the night on Mackinac Island was my husband's bucket list item. Murray Hotel made that possible! A nice, friendly hotel. People helped us out. Always willing to answer our questions. Thanks a ton!

Helpful?
Thank connie1223633
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, We are so happy that we could help make your husbands bucket list item possible! Thanks for the kind words about our staff and the hotel and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future! Thanks! More 

oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

we booked this hotel because of the great price... the room price came with breakfast, ferry passes and a pound of fudge... the hotel was right downtown, but we had no noise problem. the room was super small, it measured about 10 by 12 not including the bathroom, but since we spent so little time there it really didn't matter.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcboyd
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Hi mcboyd, Thanks so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that we could offer you a package at a reasonable price. We hope that you will consider us next time you are on the island. Thanks so much! More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

We stayed for our 1st time ever on the Island overnight and picked the Murray Hotel for the price and the reviews. Right on Main Street which we liked, it is at the far end of Main Street. Had a street view room on the corner, so I think our bathroom was bigger because of that. Very clean, had a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank beachboysbabe
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Hi beachboysbabe, Thanks so much for taking time out of your day to write a review about our hotel. We are really happy to hear that we were able to make your first overnight stay on the island a good one. We look forward to your return next time you are on the island. Thanks again! More 

MICHIGAN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Stayed one night here and it was a good experience. It was like you stepped back into days of long ago. Loved all the old pictures on the wall. Very interesting. My room was great, The room was clean. The matress was so comfortable. After walking all day it felt wonderful! There was plenty of towels. The staff was fantastic.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SNOWLOVER
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Hi SNOWLOVER, Thanks so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate all the wonderful comment about our staff and hotel we will be sure to share them. We hope to see you again in the near future! Thanks again! More 

Hudson, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Murray has people carry your luggage from the ferry to the hotel. It has its own hotel "news paper" with hotel info, local weather and activities around the town along with the reprints of NY Times Digest.

Helpful?
Thank YXiao2015
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Hi YXiao2015, Thanks so much for staying with us, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the wonderful comments about our Murray Hotel cover page for the NY Times Digest. We look forward to you staying with us next time you are visiting the island! Thanks again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay