We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Viking Arms Inn

Certificate of Excellence
2.0 of 5
Hotel website
930 East Ludington Avenue, Ludington, MI 49431
Viking Arms Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
Add Photo

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    42
    24
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
24
27
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found this Inn while planning a trip out west last month. I had read a few Google+ reviews from dissatisfied customers but decided to book anyway regardless of what the internet said. Well! I am so glad that I did! Dave and his Wife are awesome people. Very accommodating, friendly and a real pleasure to meet. The property was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Wife and I stayed here for a night over the Memorial Day weekend after arriving on the S.S.Badger from Wisconsin. This is the kind of place you rarely find anymore. The owner was extremely nice and the room was exceptional. I was told it was an older hotel, but you can tell the owner has gone to extraordinary lengths... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auburn, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Room was very clean and comfortable. Owner was very accommodating with clearing of the snow in front of our room and around our vehicle. The owners were great host during our visit, very friendly. We us to stay at other motels in Ludington, MI and decided to try the Viking Arms and we are glad that we did. When staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
davidbourgette, Manager at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words. We appreciate very much. More 

Covington, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I spent four and a half months at the Viking Arms Inn from 12/1/13 - 4/14/14. It was the slow season (winter) and David, the owner, was very accommodating. If it needed to be done he got it done that day. Room was nice and comfortable, which was important because I would be there a long time. Had a storm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much Mike, It was a real pleasure meeting you. Sorry that you had to be here during one of the worst winters in years. Take care, David More 

The Moon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Clean, great people, easy and in a great location. I have been staying here for several years, While I have stayed at some of the other places in town in the past, I won't stay there anymore. IF you want a clean friendly place, this is it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Over many years, we have traveled to Ludington Mi., more than any other city. The Viking Arms is the place we like to stay in. We have tried others, but always return to where it is clean and comfortable. The owners are kind, friendly and professional. It is not right in the hub of the city but is located close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time to review us and to say so many kind things about our area and your visit. More 

Bay City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Stayed here 10/11/4 and bed was terrible. Wife and I woke up with very sore backs. Felt like the bed had busted springs. Asked for partial refund and was totally shot down. Will never stay here again. There are other much nicer places to stay so PLEASE look around and avoid this crap hole. Manager was a douche bag. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you weren’t comfortable during your stay. As many compliments as we get for a comfortable stay there is a few as with any business that are not satisfied. From what you told me the other couple where happy with the room they had. A room that had the exact same bed just a king instead. Perhaps you have a... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Stayed only one night on our way to Manitowoc. Easy on and off highway, close to ferry, friendly and knowledgeable proprietor, comfortable room and bed AND reasonable rate. You can get a good prime rib at Scotty's just up the street. Ludington is a lovely town. Wish we had more time. Breakfast was adequate for us as we were at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We're glad you had a comfortable stay. More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

After a poor experience at Vista Villa, we drove the block to Viking Arms...should have gone here first. Value: the rate was better than expected especially when it included a continental breakfast. Continental Breakfast: Coffee/tea; oatmeal (add hot water) in several flavors; packages of Sara Lee danishes and those General Mills breakfast bars. Room: room was large as well as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you giving us a try and taking some of your time to chat with us. Hope to see you the next time your in town. More 

Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My wife and I booked a room here for a Saturday night in early August, and were happy with our accommodations, Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and everything worked as it should in the room. The cost was also reasonable given the location and season. If we had any complaints, they would be as follows: The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay