We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Viking Arms Inn

Certificate of Excellence
2.0 of 5
Hotel website
930 East Ludington Avenue, Ludington, MI 49431
Viking Arms Inn
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
SleepingGoose Indiana
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    43
    27
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
27
28
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy to book. Friendly owner was present at check in. Room was fine. Helpful hooks in shower for swimsuits. (But more for family with kids would be great.) Pool may have had too much chlorine? My daughter lost the purple in her hair and she said the water tasted bad. Might need checked? Appreciated the juice, oatmeal, danish and granola... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, SC, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Drove from Niagara Falls, after staying in a "name" hotel. What a difference here. Hospitable, very clean (no bad odors as reported by a previous rating), Air Conditioner functioned well, rates are very reasonable and the continental breakfast was as described the night before, juice, coffee, rolls. (definition of continental). No negative comments

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dayton, Ohio
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was dark (poorly lit) and smelled musty with the noisy AC running. Much early morning noise from the maid station next door. Continental breakfast is a joke with plastic-wrapped gas station equivalent, tasteless items. This place is over-priced and not worth the rate charged.

Was this review helpful? Yes
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you giving us try. Sorry you weren't satisfied with what we set out in the morning for our guest. Due to our limitation on space we make our continental breakfast a simple one so that guest can take the items with them to the rooms or with them on there days journey. Yes the danishes are a prewrapped... More 

Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
274 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I live out of Hotels and Motels and 99% of the time they are a major brand. I almost never stay at a "Mom and Pop" type hotel. To be honest, I could not get into the Holiday Inn. That being said, I was pleased with this hotel. I was staying only one night, I was taking the SS Badger... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your remarks and review. It is greatly appreciated. More 

Westland, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After checking in our room a barely unpacking we were told that our 10 year old was not allowed there. We were relocated to a less attractive room, and our daughter for no reason was told "in this room she could kick and scream all she wanted". We were also told the room was the same price but in checking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review

On the contrary, family are more than welcome here at the Viking Arms Inn. We have plenty of rooms that can accommodate families of up to six people. The problem that had happened is that you reserved a room that has an in room whirlpool for which is limited to adult couples only. To have a young child in a... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the cleanest and comfortable places I've ever stayed. Owners really take pride in providing quality accommodations for travelers. We will definitely stay here again. They have a very nice outdoor seating area with a gazebo if you just want to kick back and enjoy the day. I can't forget the pool with nice warm jacuzzi, just what we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review

Ahh guys, thank you so much. Dawn and I really appreciate the kind word. More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

I found this Inn while planning a trip out west last month. I had read a few Google+ reviews from dissatisfied customers but decided to book anyway regardless of what the internet said. Well! I am so glad that I did! Dave and his Wife are awesome people. Very accommodating, friendly and a real pleasure to meet. The property was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review

It was really a pleasure meeting you. I cant tell you how jealous I am when I hear of your journeys. More 

Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

My Wife and I stayed here for a night over the Memorial Day weekend after arriving on the S.S.Badger from Wisconsin. This is the kind of place you rarely find anymore. The owner was extremely nice and the room was exceptional. I was told it was an older hotel, but you can tell the owner has gone to extraordinary lengths... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your remarks and sorry it took me this long to respond. I do wish we had more room for a fuller breakfast, although with the limited space we are forced to keep it simple. We'll always be looking for something that we can give to our guest that'll add a little variety. More 

Auburn, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Room was very clean and comfortable. Owner was very accommodating with clearing of the snow in front of our room and around our vehicle. The owners were great host during our visit, very friendly. We us to stay at other motels in Ludington, MI and decided to try the Viking Arms and we are glad that we did. When staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
davidbourgette, Manager at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words. We appreciate very much. More 

Covington, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I spent four and a half months at the Viking Arms Inn from 12/1/13 - 4/14/14. It was the slow season (winter) and David, the owner, was very accommodating. If it needed to be done he got it done that day. Room was nice and comfortable, which was important because I would be there a long time. Had a storm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much Mike, It was a real pleasure meeting you. Sorry that you had to be here during one of the worst winters in years. Take care, David More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludington
1.4 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#9 of 16 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ludington
1.4 mi away
Ludington Pier House
Ludington Pier House
#4 of 16 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ludington
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Ludington
9.5 mi away
Days Inn Pentwater
Days Inn Pentwater
#1 of 1 in Pentwater
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay