We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

University Quality Inn

#13 of 24 Hotels in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3121 East Grand River, Lansing, MI 48912
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
University Quality Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
University Quality Inn
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    48
    27
    16
    20
See reviews for
57
43
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (199)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Oakland Township, MI
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is an older hotel building, but many of the rooms are in the process of being updated. A big plus was the new and wonderfully firm mattresses in our room. The drawback or snafu? The sheets were on inside-out. The 2nd floor facing the back (next door bowling alley) is an extremely quiet area at night, with really good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria T, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Beth! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the new amenities within the guest rooms and our breakfast. More 

USA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed only 1 night first week of April. I would say it's 3.5 stars hotel. Room was good with 2 double beds, though I didn't like interior color choices: grey-ing walls, grey carpet, dark blue bed covers. Also, room had sink area open into the room, only bathtub and toilet behind the door. There is nice pool area, open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria T, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are currently renovating multiple rooms. Please come back and stay with us again to see the color changes within the room. More 

Marquette, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Staff was friendly, helpful and outstanding. But they were the only thing good about this place. Stains on the carpet. A hot tub that wasn't hot and didn't bubble, a grimy pool area, rusty gates, bathrooms you could barely turn around in, postage stamp sized towel, dirty air filters and if you want to plug in your phone and laptop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melissa W, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and taking the time to compliment the staff of the hotel. I am very sorry you encountered these issues during your stay. I have personally reached out to the housekeeping and maintenance staff to correct the items you pointed out during your stay. Please contact me to discuss the issues you had during your stay,... More 

Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

The manager here, Pedro, is dishonest and unfriendly. I came into town for a local weekend convention, and found that the hotel didn't have convenient access to the convention -- not their fault, obviously -- and decided to book a room at a separate hotel. We checked into the new hotel, and called to cancel our reservations at this hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chue Y, General Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear williamforest, I have reviewed the circumstances regarding your cancellation at our hotel and would like to make sure I understand them correctly. Even though you were attending the convention, you were not booked in the convention room block. The room you reserved allowed for cancellation without penalty if give 24 hours’ notice. Since you called to cancel your reservation... More 

Hersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Room was clean, comfy bed. Loved the make-up remover towelette! Friendly staff. It was a treat to get 2 free drinks from the bar. However the hot tub was a mess, light was out, not all of the jets were working and those that did were going at about 40% . There was caulking missing raw wood showing in places.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melissa W, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed some of the amenities our hotel has to offer. I apologize for the issues you had with the Jacuzzi tub within your room. I have brought them up to the housekeeping and maintenance staff to correct. Please contact me personally regarding any future stays with the... More 

Adrian, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I don’t ever remember staying in a filthier hotel than this one. I knew we were in trouble the minute we talked in the back door to the hotel and the cement pad by the doors had been heaved from the winter and you could barely open the door. The inside of the hotel looked old, extremely old with all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melissa W, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am very sorry you encountered these issues during your stay. We understand your concerns regarding the condition of the room and we do follow a deep cleaning and preventative maintenance schedule to prevent our guests from any inconveniences. I have addressed these issues with our maintenance and housekeeping to ensure the room... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

This was by far the worst hotel stay my husband and I have ever had and first time I've ever complained about a hotel. Upon arrival into our room 122 the so called “suite” we immediately knew we should had booked somewhere else. I did not think that our room would be so disgusting! Yes it had been cleaned but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Victoria T, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am very sorry you encountered these issues during your stay. We understand your concerns regarding the condition of the room and we do follow a deep cleaning and preventative maintenance schedule to prevent our guests from any inconveniences. I have addressed these issues with our maintenance and housekeeping to ensure the room... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

I have twin 7 month old boys who crawl. One of them was roaming around and next thing you know he has a beer bottle cap in his hand. I know it did not come from us since we are non drinkers I pulled back the sheet on one of the beds and it is dirty Pulled the shower curtain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Victoria T, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry you and your family experienced an issue with your room during your stay. Cleanliness is very important to us and I have spoken with our housekeeping department to ensure proper cleaning procedures are being followed. I also apologize for any problems with parking, during the winter and busy weekends the parking... More 

Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Horribly outdated. Many of the rooms we rented had no heat despite 5 degree outdoor temps. While they have TRIED to improve it with fridges and microwaves there and MANY things that make this a property to NEVER stay at again. If you are a family who has no desire for the better quality I can see this as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Victoria T, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. We are constantly working to improve the hotel and renovate our rooms. We do have heat in every room, so please let us know if you your room is cold or you think the heat is out and we can come fix it for you. Please... More 

Swannanoa, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting family and going to a cousins 99th Birthday Dinner. We were given a room which had a broken clothes rod. They changed us to another room and the manager said he would reduce our rate because of the inconvenience. He did not say anything about the new/lower rate not qualifying for points.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Victoria T, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! I am so glad we were able to correct the issue and get everything taken care of. We hope we see you again for your cousin’s 100th birthday and anytime you visit the Lansing area! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question