We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

University Quality Inn

#13 of 24 Hotels in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3121 East Grand River, Lansing, MI 48912
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Quality Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
University Quality Inn
Share an Experience

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    47
    26
    16
    19
See reviews for
57
42
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The manager here, Pedro, is dishonest and unfriendly. I came into town for a local weekend convention, and found that the hotel didn't have convenient access to the convention -- not their fault, obviously -- and decided to book a room at a separate hotel. We checked into the new hotel, and called to cancel our reservations at this hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was clean, comfy bed. Loved the make-up remover towelette! Friendly staff. It was a treat to get 2 free drinks from the bar. However the hot tub was a mess, light was out, not all of the jets were working and those that did were going at about 40% . There was caulking missing raw wood showing in places.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adrian, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don’t ever remember staying in a filthier hotel than this one. I knew we were in trouble the minute we talked in the back door to the hotel and the cement pad by the doors had been heaved from the winter and you could barely open the door. The inside of the hotel looked old, extremely old with all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was by far the worst hotel stay my husband and I have ever had and first time I've ever complained about a hotel. Upon arrival into our room 122 the so called “suite” we immediately knew we should had booked somewhere else. I did not think that our room would be so disgusting! Yes it had been cleaned but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Victoria T, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am very sorry you encountered these issues during your stay. We understand your concerns regarding the condition of the room and we do follow a deep cleaning and preventative maintenance schedule to prevent our guests from any inconveniences. I have addressed these issues with our maintenance and housekeeping to ensure the room... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have twin 7 month old boys who crawl. One of them was roaming around and next thing you know he has a beer bottle cap in his hand. I know it did not come from us since we are non drinkers I pulled back the sheet on one of the beds and it is dirty Pulled the shower curtain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria T, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry you and your family experienced an issue with your room during your stay. Cleanliness is very important to us and I have spoken with our housekeeping department to ensure proper cleaning procedures are being followed. I also apologize for any problems with parking, during the winter and busy weekends the parking... More 

Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Horribly outdated. Many of the rooms we rented had no heat despite 5 degree outdoor temps. While they have TRIED to improve it with fridges and microwaves there and MANY things that make this a property to NEVER stay at again. If you are a family who has no desire for the better quality I can see this as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria T, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. We are constantly working to improve the hotel and renovate our rooms. We do have heat in every room, so please let us know if you your room is cold or you think the heat is out and we can come fix it for you. Please... More 

Swannanoa, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting family and going to a cousins 99th Birthday Dinner. We were given a room which had a broken clothes rod. They changed us to another room and the manager said he would reduce our rate because of the inconvenience. He did not say anything about the new/lower rate not qualifying for points.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Victoria T, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! I am so glad we were able to correct the issue and get everything taken care of. We hope we see you again for your cousin’s 100th birthday and anytime you visit the Lansing area! More 

Battle Creek MI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

This used to be a nice motel but needs some major updating. The pool was nice, with an average free breakfast, but there were lots of cold drafts in the room and halls. It was difficult to open the exterior doors with the keycard, frustrating with the cold weather. The bathroom door would not latch, there was mold on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria T, Sales Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us while traveling through Lansing. I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and pool area during your stay. I am sorry your hallway and room was cold, I will check with maintenance to see what we can do to better prevent the draft from the entrances and in the hotel... More 

TORONTO
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night while passing through Lansing en route to Auburn. The rooms have windows but they look out into the hall. The room was clean, bed comfortable, and there was lots of hot water with good pressure. The staff at check-in and out were very pleasant. The room price was appropriate in the circumstances. A light... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria T, Sales Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us while traveling through Lansing. I am glad found us to be a good value and enjoyed our rooms, breakfast, and staff. I hope you will choose to stay with us during your future visits and give us a chance to exceed your expectations and provide you with an even... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

Wow really 8:30!!!!!!!!!!! What about a toaster!?!!!!!!!!!! And we would like a bed skirt without lamasery white male secretions. I paid this much for a room and didn't even get to enjoy my stay. The kids need to be better supervised in the pool and the cutoff time for children in the pool should be 8pm instead of 10pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Victoria T, Sales Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our quiet hours do start at 11:00pm on the weekend, so I apologize if you were asked to quiet down prior to then. Our staff does try to address requests and we only ask before 11:00pm if we had a request from another guest. I have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question