We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

University Quality Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
3121 East Grand River, Lansing, MI 48912
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
University Quality Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This was our third time staying here. Still happy! We love the pool, bar, clean room, and great staff....it's nice to always have someone at the front desk that is helpful. We will definitely stay again! Thanks Quality Inn! See you the end of March.

Helpful?
Thank pamr8844
Mattawan, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was perfect for our stay. The front desk greated us with smiles. They were very friendly and professional with our check-in and out. Our room was clean and comfortable. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank mama1724
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was apprehensive about this property because it is quite old, not one of the "new, modern properties", however it's location was perfect and easy access to the freeway. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and very comfortable(housekeeping staff does a great job), the indoor pool and bar area were a huge bonus!... More 

Helpful?
Thank SSexton0813
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for a week while house hunting from out of state-- we were trying to save a few bucks, but in retrospect we would have been better off paying for something nicer. Service: our room was only made up about half the time. By the time we returned from house hunting, it was early evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cait C
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Cait, I would like to apologize for the problems you faced while staying with us. Our maintenance team has been informed regarding the bathroom issues and is taking preventive procedures to ensure our drains are working properly. We are currently addressing the smoking areas for our guests to prevent the cigarette smoke being filtered into the hotel and rooms.... More 

Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

NO ELEVATOR!! You will have to carry your luggage up the stairs. The guy at the front desk was not even apologetic about it. It would be nice if they warned you of this on their website - only some vague comment about handicapped accessible rooms available. Neither the sink nor the bathtub drained well- there was still water in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth S
Melissa W, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Beth, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the look of our pool and hope you will be able to enjoy this amenity next time you stay with us. I would truly like to apologize for not having an elevator as I know carrying your luggage by stairs was not expected. Please know that in the future our... More 

Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

Right off the highway between the Capital and MSU campus. Clean, large, newer remodeled rooms w/ mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Indoor pool, small lounge w/ limited hours. Decent comp breakfast in the morning. No restaurant or room service but plenty of dining and delivery options nearby. Will stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank trappedinmichigan
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

A very comfortable, conveniently located all round nice place to stay. Very friendly staff, good bed, adequate breakfast, and workable internet. We would be glad to stay on our next visit to Lansing...

Helpful?
Thank andrewnp
Osceola, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015 via mobile

Victoria at the front desk is a gem. Very welcoming and helpful. The room was comfortable and we really appreciated being put in a quiet corner of the hotel to avoid noise. We were disappointed that room smelled like cigarette smoke in a non smoking hotel. It's unfortunate some former guest couldn't follow the rules. New bathtub would be great... More 

Helpful?
Thank newbysgirl49
Melissa W, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you were provided with great customer service. We are excited for the new room renovations that are beginning soon! We hope you come back in the near future and stay in a renovated room. Thank you for your review. More 

Mukwonago, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

Service staff was great....especially Victoria. Room appeared in nice condition upon entry. However, it smelled like a moldy towel once you settled in. Room temperature is not discretely controllable so you are at the mercy of the season and the central environmental control of the building.....my room was too hot in November. The internet connection is worse than dial up.... More 

Helpful?
Thank GandolfWizard
Melissa W, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about the internet service. I will be sure to have our engineer look into the internet reception in the area of the hotel you were in. Our hotel rooms are undergoing renovations early next year and we hope you will be back to experience the exciting new changes. Thank you for your review. More 

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

Generally, the facilities are good. Nice pool area with Foosball and pool tables. The staff is friendly and helpful. However, the place is really looking tired, especially the rooms. While it appeared clean, our room smelled bad and I tracked it down to the shower curtain which wasn't stained but had a mildew smell. The bathroom was pretty bad overall... More 

Helpful?
Thank etatk
Melissa W, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are currently renovating guest rooms and will be renovating common areas in the near future. We hope you come back to experience these exciting changes! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 27 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#5 of 27 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lansing
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol
7.6 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#2 of 27 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay