We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Lansing East

3615 Dunckel Road, Lansing, MI 48910
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Alpena, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nothing nearby - but room was clean and quiet. Breakfast consisted of toast, bagels, cereal and juice or hot and one of the better tasting hotel coffees. Easy on –easy off highway and easy on wallet. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Craig R
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Red Roof Inn located at the 496 West over past near the Jolly Road Exit is the comfort zone for those of you like myself that need peace and restoration. The continental breakfast is fresh, room service is good. The Staff is professional and polite . I highly recommend the Red Roof INN East Lansing , Michigan.

Helpful?
Thank Wendell P
Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable. Room appeared to have been recently renovated. Good shower. Good wifi. Other Red Roof Inns I have recently stayed at had a coffee maker in this category of room. This one did not, although the price was higher than I have paid elsewhere for the same category of room. The "continental breakfast"... More 

Helpful?
Thank gleweliz
Lauderhill, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room looks clean but the walls are peeling, the lights don't all work, the more just looks like it has cheap furniture. The air/heater when turned on had tons of dead bug parts fly out of it that I had to clean up, and was not pleasant way to start our stay. The shower is my BIGGEST complaint, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank randomstylez

Travelers are raving about these Lansing hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

An ok place to stay with no frills. However, it does take pets at no extra cost. Located next to the university campus and reasonably close to the freeway. The units have just been refurbished with a pair of comfortable queen beds. Breakfast is standard but delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Ian T
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

This hotel runs shady practices,rooms are extremely dirty, certainly not a hotel for a family or a respectable people. an in appropriate service was suggested by the night hotel staff, which we felt was quite disgusting and in appropriate.

Helpful?
Thank Vishal G
redroof29, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review

Dear Vishal G, Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We were appalled when we read this review and are very sorry for the experience that you had. I can assure you that nothing you described reflects the standards we have for our rooms or our Guest Service Representatives. If you have the time, we would like to... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

This is a 1-2 star hotel, its cheap & convenient if you have business in this area. Don't expect to much, mind your own business, lock your room, take your valuables with you when you leave. The inside of the room is not as bad as the outside, it was fairly clean and roomy. Remember your paying less than $50... More 

Helpful?
Thank AceJack73 .
Boyne City, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

This is one of those old style places that you just stop in for a nights rest and good shower then get back on the road to where you are going. It is close to Michigan State University It does not have a microwave, refrigerator or hair dryer in the room. Your door leads directly to the outside and there... More 

Helpful?
Thank worker b
redroof29, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Just to clarify, although our standard rooms do not come equipped with microwaves and refrigerators, we do offer Superior King and Deluxe Two-Full rooms that feature these amenities. Also, we do have hair dryers and irons available to... More 

Farmington, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

I really liked the place. It was clean and the staff was friendly. Just make sure you check with the front desk staff at different shifts if you want a late check-out. I got woken up twice by housekeeping who wasn't aware I was checking out late. The water heater could have been better. The sink didn't give me hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank thedriver82
redroof29, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our inn! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! As for the issues you had with the late check-out you requested being communicated to the housekeeping staff, I will make sure that our front desk staff receives the extra training necessary to... More 

West Lafayette, Ohio
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Booked the room for the Michigan State ,Air Force game. The location was good but the hotel wasn't. I'm not one to complain but I was not happy with my room. They would not let me use the senior discount or any other discounts. The room was small and the carpet was dirty and felt damp all the time. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen93_12
redroof29, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns regarding your stay at our inn. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. To your concerns regarding breakfast, our guests' safety is our top priority and that is why the cereal was immediately taken care of and milk disposed of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
8.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
#10 of 26 in Lansing
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
3.6 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#13 of 26 in Lansing
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 26 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson East Lansing
Howard Johnson East Lansing
#8 of 10 in East Lansing
3.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#4 of 26 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#