We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Lansing East

3615 Dunckel Road, Lansing, MI 48910
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    34
    17
    4
    19
See reviews for
20
13
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Castaic, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

"I never stay at these places," my wife says but this time, to save money and take advantage of a very low price, she reserved a room here so that we can move our Freshman into Michigan State University nearby. We are from out of state, but obviously she didn't read the online reviews. This hotel is probably the worst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
redroof29, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write in your concerns. I apologize that my guest service representative was not dressed properly, I will be discussing this issue with him immediately, as it is against our dress code. I would also like to reassure you that we do not allow our guests to take up residence... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In Lansing for a important exam. Relied on front desk for courtesy call in the morning. Didn't happen. Several staff apologized then explained that "that happens sometimes". Also morning meal was gross. Consumers beware! Definitely not worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
redroof29, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review

I am very sorry your wake-up call did not go through. While our wake-up calls are successful 99% of the time, there is a very small chance that technology could fail us. I did take action and called our phone company and performed several test calls in different rooms and it appears that it may have been a fluke, as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lansing hotels

Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely Disgusting. The sheets, comforter and mattress had stains. Worst experience in my life. I kept thinking someone was trying to come in my room. Hair was in the sink and on the toilet. Just bad...I would have preferred to stay at a deserted campground.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
redroof29, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review

I am so sorry for your terrible experience at our inn and I thank you for your feedback. The quality of stay that you have written about is not our Red Roof standard. I regret that we were unable to make your stay more enjoyable while visiting our beautiful city. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I have been staying in town for work I have been here for two weeks and yes there have been some ups and downs well here my door broke but jenna at the front desk was very sweet and went out of her way to try to get it fixed and ended up moving me rooms the only one I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
redroof29, Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! I am happy to hear that our staff, notably Jenna, was able to make you feel welcome. Our front desk staff works hard to resolve any issues a guest may have as soon as they are reported so that you can enjoy your stay. We... More 

Greater Cincinnati
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

A long story short...terrible experience. The first room we were given had hair in the sink and "pee" stained mattresses. The 1st receptionist was very kind and assigned us another room; however, the same thing hair in the sink, mold in the shower/bathroom, and very unclean. I should have known what we were getting ourselves into when we drove into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
redroof29, Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at our inn. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We strive to impress our guests, but clearly we came up short. I have shared your comments with my staff and we will address the issues that you mentioned. I hope... More 

Houghton Lake, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

I stayed for one night before I left for Texas. I would recommend everyone to stay at this Red Roof Inn. Gage was very helpful, he was very polite, and helped me with my directions. I can't thank him enough for helping me find my way to my destination. I wish more front desk staff were as kind as him.

Was this review helpful? Yes
redroof29, Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! I am that our staff, notably Gage, was able to make you feel welcome. Our front desk staff is always happy to help you with directions to where you need to go or for recommendations on attractions or restaurants in the area. We look forward... More 

Puerto Rico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

This place is great when you want something nice but under budget. People at the counter are polite and helpful. They even asked me if I wanted my room on the first or second level. The only thing I didn't like was the location, it's a bit hard to get anywhere from there without a car. There's a bus stop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
redroof29, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our inn! I am glad that your stay was pleasant and was up to your expectations. We are located right off of 127 and are not too far from many great places to eat and visit, but the area directly around our inn is nice and peaceful. Lansing does offer one of... More 

New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

The rooms are very outdated and a little gross. I would recommend taking a shower with your flip flops on. But the staff is very helpful and will try to do whatever they are can make things better. Our room had a clogged sink and a constantly running toilet so we went and complained and got moved to a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
redroof29, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at our inn. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We strive to impress our guests, but clearly we came up short. I have shared your comments with my staff and we will address the issues that you mentioned. I hope... More 

Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

This facility has been recently upgraded, not too shabby, my room could have used some sprucing up, but overall it was a pleasant experience. I had a standard room, which is somewhat small if you are planning to stay longer than a couple nights, I would recommend the King room, it has a fridge, microwave etc, the standard room does... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
redroof29, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review

Thank you for your great advice to our future guests! We are very close to MSU and conveniently located right off of exit 11 on 127. Our superior King rooms do offer more space, refrigerator, microwave, in-room hair dryer, and in-room iron with board. You are right, it is more ideal for the traveler who needs to stay more than... More 

Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

I have stayed here before, and I liked it. It is convenient to both Michigan State University and the highway system. there are travel services and restaurants nearby as well. If you are looking for a five star hotel experience, sorry, but you have to look elsewhere. This is a value hotel. You get a clean room, nice bed and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
redroof29, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience by giving a great review of our inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our inn. I am very sorry to hear that you had to drop our rating by a star due to the cigarette ashtrays outside of the rooms. I am not quite... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
8.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
#12 of 25 in Lansing
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
3.6 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Lansing
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson East Lansing
Howard Johnson East Lansing
#7 of 10 in East Lansing
3.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay