We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Lake Leelanau accommodations

Wild Cherry Resort

Save Saved
You added Wild Cherry Resort to your Saves list
8653 E Horn Rd, Lake Leelanau, MI 49653
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (13)
  • Photos (9)
  • Location
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • More
Wild Cherry Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Leelanau
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This place maybe good for RV camper but absolutely terrible for car or tent camper. We're touring cycles and stop here for one night. No washroom, shower room or even drinking water. Camping site was dirty and not enough maintain.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coopersville, Michigan, United States
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I agree with the reviewers complaining about no pool, no cable and a limited playground for kids. However, we are semi retired, travel in a motor home and have two small dogs. The park managers have never complained about our dogs or even mentioned a word about where to walk them. The park is quiet with a well maintained lawn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Very clean, that is the beat I can say. No bath facilities, no pool, no play area for kids. Very expensive for not providing anything. No cable, says pet friendly but ask you not to walk them around your camp site, they ask you to walk your dog in tall unmowed grass that has flea and tics.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

They promote an RV Resort, however, no bathrooms, no pool, they told us we could not bring our dog because he was too big. When we got here there were bigger dogs. ours is a lab. We spent $100 to board our dog at home. They said we had a lake lot, but it's a tiny pond. They say they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James S, Owner at Wild Cherry Resort, responded to this review

Sorry about your disappointment. In regard to dogs we do set some regulations regarding size and breed. But we also make exceptions if the dog owner asks, which would have been granted regarding a lab. Our park is located is in the heart of Leelanau County, 15 miles from Traverse City, or about a 20 minute drive. All of our... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

What a joke this place was. We rented the yurt with the hope it would be a nice difference from a tent. Turns out a tent would have been better. There was holes in the ceiling where bugs could fly in. The cob webs hadn't been cleaned in months maybe even years. We tried to tell the owners and all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
James S, Owner at Wild Cherry Resort, responded to this review

I'm not quite sure what these quests were expecting or looking for. The Mongolian Yurt is located in the woods and has a sky light that when closed rest on the ceiling. Bugs cannot fly in when closed as it was at the time of their arrival.. No holes in the ceiling. The lake can be seen on our web... More

Belmont, MI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We planned a 4th of July vacation in February '13. I emailed the resort because they have rules regarding what type of trailer and pets you can bring. They seemed very accommodating and friendly to speak to when I called to place the reservation. That is was the last pleasant encounter we had. We were given a nice big site... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
James S, Owner at Wild Cherry Resort, responded to this review

We have guest that hate fire pits and all the smoke and we have guest that won't camp without one. My advice is to make sure when you book your site you are booking a site with a fire pit. Many upscale RV campgrounds today don't have "any" sites with fire pits. 95% of our sites are 75 feet long... More

Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Upon arrival everyone was very friendly. Our site didn't have a fire pit so they found one for us and delivered it along with wood to our site. Our campsite was located on the top loop of the park right near the entrance. It was level and had a nice cement pad. Hook ups were convenient. Even though we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend at Wild Cherry Resort. We were pleased with the campground and will stay there again. The location is unbeatable. We did the wine trail to about 6 wineries and our favorite was right at the entrance to the campground! 45 North Winery was great. Really good wine, reasonable prices, friendly service and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Holland, Michigan, United States
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I took a risk and camped here on our first anniversary, because of its proximity to Leland and Suttons Bay. We're campers, so we wanted to tent camp. We were pleasantly surprised that our wooded tent site had a smooth patch of sand for the tent, a picnic table, and a log bench. The porta-potty was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
South Lyon, Michigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The website claims they have 4 acre lake. It is more like a small pond overgrown with scum, weeds,bugs, and goose turds. There is nothing for kids here. No playground,no pool,no store,no bathrooms,no cable,bad WiFi. They charge way too much,$59.00 per night. The owner complains about your dogs if they do there business on your site,even if you clean up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
James S, Owner at Wild Cherry Resort, responded to this review

Appreciate your coments. We do not cater to children but most find lots to do. The lake ( pond ) is not a swimming lake which it sounds you were looking for. Bugs have never been a problem yet you are camping so one needs to consider that. Weeds in the lake are "cat tails" this is nature at it's... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Wild Cherry Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Wild Cherry Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Cherry Resort

Address: 8653 E Horn Rd, Lake Leelanau, MI 49653
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Lake Leelanau
Also Known As:
Wild Cherry Resort Lake Leelanau, Leelanau County, Michigan

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (3)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (7)
Family/play areas (1)
View from room (1)
Business center/function rooms (1)
Other (4)

Near Wild Cherry Resort

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wild Cherry Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer