We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2747 South 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    81
    52
    25
    18
    15
See reviews for
62
24
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (191)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Harrison, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my first review of any kind, but I feel I need to chare this aweful experience. My family and I traveled to Kalamazoo for a wedding and pre-booked 3 rooms or a Friday/Saturday staty, 1 room my son and wife would pay for upon checkout (2 stays), I would pay for the other 2 rooms for Fri/Sat (4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review

George H, I apologize for the challenges during your stay with us. Please know that we are more than happy to review the billing errors and make the appropriate adjustments for you. This is generally quite easy to do. We do have a couple members of our team that are still in their final days of training. From your comments... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel does not put the best foot forward for the Holiday Inn chain. We arrived for a late-night arrival after a family wedding, were assigned to a second floor room, which opened to the pool atrium. The room was like a sauna and smelled very strongly of chlorine. It was clear the hotel was either full or nearly, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review

Kay M, We were disappointed to read about your experience at our Holiday Inn. Your candid comments are appreciated and will be taken into consideration as we continue the planning process for renovations. I do apologize that your experience in our restaurant was unpleasant. We did experience a high volume of diners that arrived at the same time for breakfast... More 

Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our friends and us were visiting a brewery in town for a friend's birthday party. We got a great deal on Priceline for this hotel. The hotel was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a free shuttle van that was helpful in getting us to the brewery. Unfortunately the shuttle transportation ends at 10:30 so we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review

MolineFamily95, We are thrilled that you decided to visit Kalamazoo and our thriving craft brewing industry. Equally exciting were your comments about your experience at our Holiday Inn! We do strive to have the friendliest and most helpful staff in the area. Discover Kalamazoo has just developed a new craft brewing tour with some fun and value added components and... More 

Belleville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice location that is tucked away off the street so no road noise. The staff was great. This is not a Holiday Inn Express so no continental breakfast. We ate at their on-site restaurant for dinner. Food and service were good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review

Jayne C, We are delighted to see your review and posting. Our location has a nice advantage to be so close to the major highways yet, have traffic noise that is quite minimal. We appreciate your dining in our restaurant and are happy to know that your experience was pleasant. We look forward to seeing you in the future or... More 

Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

This hotel meets holiday inn standards. The staff is friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean and the beds are comfortable. We ate at the restaurant on Monday night and the food was very good, salad was awesome! My only complaint, is that this place is a bit remote. There are no shops or restaurants nearby, nothing is in walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review

Sirlarry0674, Thank you for your review and 4 stars. Believe it or not, 4 stars are inspiring as it gives us an additional star to strive for! We were thrilled about all your positive comments from the friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms and excellent experience in the restaurant. Our location has its advantages and as you mentioned a challenge or... More 

Marquette, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Front desk staff was friendly. The restaurant did have some nice deals listed but we did not try anything as we ate out elsewhere. Beds were comfortable but upon further inspection of the beds it is definitely time to upgrade them. They were old and they had holes and stains. My daughter had an accident on one of the beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review

John R, Thank you for your review and posting. I was disappointed to see the items that impacted your stay. Please know that we have been working diligently to upgrade the pool and whirlpool, as well as, increase our linen inventory. Your critique of our service level had the most impact. We truly believe that when we provide timely, efficient... More 

Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015 via mobile

After having a bad experience at another hotel me and my bf checked in here at 3:30am. The man at the front desk was very nice. He told us that at that time they only had double beds available but in the morning we could switch to a king room. So in the morning we called the front desk and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review

LeCresha H, I am so sorry that you needed to move rooms a second time. The renovations that are occurring in the pool area will include some painting. Our concern was for our guests comfort during this process. We thank you for being so gracious with our request to move. Thank you again for your review and we certainly look... More 

Plainwell, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

I took my daughters and their children there for a spring break retreat. The older kids wanted to swim. We got checked in , got our suits on and went to the pool. It was so COLD that the Adults and babies wouldn't / couldn't stay in, of course the older kids swam blue lips and all. I called desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review

Tina L, Please accept my apologies for the frustrations that you experienced during your pool -get-way at our Holiday Inn. I appreciate your attention to detail in your review and will be using your comments and the feelings that they conveyed with my staff. We strive to provide excellent service to each of our guests and there is no doubt... More 

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

I was at the hotel last Saturday and saw a staff trying their very best to manage some large parties that had decided it was ok to rent 1 room and invite 30 to 40 of their friends to join them. The staff tried their best to explain that it is a maximum of 5 people per room so that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review

janplushtree, We cannot express how much we appreciate your kind words. In the hospitality field, we often find ourselves in a difficult spot. Our genuine intent and nature is to make each and every guests stay a pleasant one. Not every guest is considerate of others and understands the impact their actions have on the rest of our guests. No... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Ellen M., the manager, was sending bad vibes since we checked in. Her lack of respect and continued harassment was appalling. Upon arriving I walked in to hear her telling others 'We don't do parties here' and 'Starting soon people can't eat back there'. Ellen then went around the entire Holidome, becoming an antagonist, and telling everyone no gatherings or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review

Ajmmp1, Thank you for your review. It is always helpful to know how our interaction with guests impact their stay and overall impression of the hotel. We do understand your frustration with not being able to have guests visit you while you are a registered guest of our hotel. We have policies and procedures in place so that all of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay