We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Kalamazoo B&Bs / inns

Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast

3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   100 Monroe, Kalamazoo, MI 49006
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
61%
Ranked #5 of 5 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    18
    11
    17
See reviews for
22
65
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (118)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the castle for our 30th anniversary. We had a wonderful time. The staff was pleasant and helpful.We stayed in the Dutch room. It was large, with a lot of natural light. The woodwork and stained glass is beautiful. I so appreciate being able to stay in a place of that age and history.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fairplay, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reserved 1 room type but was given a very different type on arrival. Was told I could "upgrade" to a similar room as the one I had reserved but it would be more money. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. No light in the bathroom except one little one by the sink. No mirror except over bathroom sink. Will not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I appreciate your comment and understand you never stay in a B & B before and that is quite all right. To respond to your comment there is actually 2 light in the bathroom with wall switch. So I am not sure why you couldn't located them. The TV is wall mounted above an Antic armoire. Being an historical Landmark... More

Oak Park, Michigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My mother's office every year does a silent auction, they happen to buy gift certificates to Henderson Castle and my mother last year in November decided won the gift certificate. It was for a total of $150.00 off ($50.00 for the room, $50.00 for dinner, and $50 towards a massage). I happened to call on a Tuesday to book a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear madame, I have seen many review in my career but your will definitely stay in the records. I will answer it very clear and loud . We are not racist at the Henderson Castle . We cater to every one , from any ethnicity, religion, and sexuality. And have plenty of evidence on social media to support my statement.... More

Marcellus, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is the first time in my life I've ever written a negative review and I hate to do it. But I wish that I had found these reviews before we spent over $200 for a night that we would say was worth maybe $60, tops. Hopefully this will spare someone our disappointment. So before I get into the negatives... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Touche ! Thank you for your review. I take the blame for all your remarks They are may be not totally fondled but I got your point and will implement your suggestions as tomorrow I promise. Love, Francois Moyet More

Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent the night in the maple room, all the rooms in the house are being worked on so you will see plaster repair going on everywhere, our room was no exception, the paint on the walls did not match where repairs were done, light bulbs were missing from some of the lights, the TV turned on and off by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as i just mentioned earlier , I will address these issue as tomorrow Thank you so much. As far the AC is concerned I totally agree with you but cheesy is better than 95 degree room temperature. I'am working on a better solution for next year . The castle have a central AC in some... More

Kalamazoo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I used a easytobook.com to book with Henderson Castle, and was called to cancel with less than two weeks to find a new place to stay WITH a sold-out show in town. Poor service. If you want to go with this place, be sure to call and make sure that they haven't already booked the room that you are set... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I agree with you in general rules take my advice , shop online and call the hotel directly to make your reservation or go to them web site . Most of the time with the world wide web you will be directed to a third party web site who miss represent the establishment by booking blind because they... More

Stevensville, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

After over a year seeing the billboard on i94 in Michigan, my 76 year old mother asked me to take her there. I understood it was small but only 1 hour away it was worth the drive for mom, so we went today. The tour took maybe 20 minutes because my mom drug her feet, but so not worth the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Madame, Thank you for your comments.The 10 $ tours actually is little be over 35 minutes and is just the introductory tour . Please visit our web site for the tour menu. Being a national historical landmark we are not obligated to complied with the normal rules for handicap accessible bathroom. How ever we do have one available in... More

Deltona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Beds were comfortable. Rooms were roomy. & had window a/c. We had Victorian room which had a strange Toilet/shower. They were close so if you used the shower everything got wet. No elevator Front desk help were friendly. The young lady carried my husband 's suitcase up to the room. We were welcomed to explore the other unoccupied rooms. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Merci beuacoup madame for your lovely comments.Yes the shower is designed with an European flavor and I guarantee you than if you pull the shower curtain correctly all the water stay within. love, Francois Moyet More

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I chose this B&B because of the wonderful pictures of the building and grounds online. We reserved one of the coach rooms, because it offered a separate bedroom with a sleep sofa, our own hot tub outside the door, and seemed to be a little more spacious than the typical rooms in the castle itself. We were taken on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your review it is greatly appreciated.I hope to see you soon again. Best regards, Francois Moyet More

Vicenza, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed here a couple of years ago while visiting for my daughters graduation in May '12. I'm in the military and have lived overseas since 2001 and I love the decor and the ambience that Francois is trying to set here. I stayed three nights and was pleased when I asked for, and was given, a typical european-style breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your lovely comments. . I perfectly remember you and your daughter you did stay in the Tibetan room. please give your daughter my best regards and hope to see both of you soon and well. Sincerely, Francois Moyet More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 100 Monroe, Kalamazoo, MI 49006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Henderson Castle Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henderson Castle Hotel Kalamazoo
Henderson Castle Inn Bed And Breakfast

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay