We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Jonesville B&Bs / inns

The Munro House

2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   202 Maumee Street, Jonesville, MI 49250
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Munro House to your Saves list
The Munro House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
96%
Ranked #2 of 2 Jonesville B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014
JEB97 Delta Twp, Michigan, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (54)
  • Photos (9)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    12
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
28
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delta Twp, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our last minute holiday travel decision to visit Jonesville was one of the best; beautiful historic accommodations, walkable location, great hostess and host, good food, and interesting guests. There were great restaurants nearby as recommended by our hosts, and we found plenty of points of interest in the nearby towns of Hillsdale and Somerset Center.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike V, Owner at The Munro House, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to Jonesville. You are right. Jonesville is a gem in a non-touristy area of South Central Michigan. There is plenty to do, interesting sites, and excellent food in the area. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and the company of our other guests. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Absolutely incredible experience! My husband planned the weekend as a surprise for our 5th anniversary, so I had no idea what I was in for. It was incredible from the moment we arrived. Mike and Lori go way beyond any expectations you could ever have. The room was great, the breakfasts incredible, and Ozzy the dog (and official greeter) was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike V, Owner at The Munro House, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us organize your anniversary getaway. We try to make our guests feel comfortable. We are extremely proud of our spa staff and local eateries. We are happy that you were able to relax in our great old house. It was our pleasure to serve you a relaxing and memorable getaway. More

Flint, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

When I made the reservations I asked for a room with a fireplace and was told our room had one. When we arrived a friend of the inn keeper met us and said the fireplaces had been turned off. In looking around the room and the bathroom it was obvious why, walls, curtains and ceiling were covered in soot! Plus... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike V, Owner at The Munro House, responded to this review

We are sorry that we were not able to convince you to take a different room. The soot damage had just occurred and we were unable to correct the shortcomings before your arrival. The bedroom has been cleaned and the ceiling has been repainted. The bathroom is getting a complete makeover by the end of summer. One rule at our... More

Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Met my friend here for a girls get away weekend. We wanted a nice diversion from our crazy lives...and also wanted a little spa action (massages, mani, pedi). This place went beyond my expectations. Our hosts, Mike and Lori were incredible. Warm, engaging, fun, so accommodating. I can't say enough about them. By the end of our weekend, we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike V, Owner at The Munro House, responded to this review

We love it when people are able to come here and relax. Meeting new friends is the bonus that our B&B experience tries to provide. Our spa services are based on comfort. Our techs take extra time to give a superior service that does not have stringent scheduling constraints. Our staff is encouraged to be thorough, friendly, and attentive in... More

Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
61 hotel reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very pleasant hard working owners....most affable. Room was quite pleasant and attractive. My reason for not rating the inn higher than a 4 star was that the lighting with incredible low wattage bulbs was so dim that it was really difficult to read and that the price...above 180..seemed rather high considering it being April and that I was in Jonesville,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike V, Owner at The Munro House, responded to this review

Thank you for appreciating the work we do. We reviewed our rooms to be sure recommended 100 watts of lighting is available in reading areas. The market dictates the cost of our rooms, and is competitive in this region for similar properties. Life is good in Jonesville. We are glad you stayed with us. More

Harbor Beach, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at the Munro House for a couple of days in March while in town for a meeting. Everything about my room was extremely comfortable and I slept like a baby. Breakfast was perfect and my dietary concerns were nicely accommodated. I look forward to staying there again when I am in the area and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike V, Owner at The Munro House, responded to this review

I used to travel for a living. If I had found a place like this to stay while I was traveling, I might still be on the road. We know what business travelers want and need, so we try to accommodate them. Single rates, cable TV, free wi-fi, free snacks, free beverages, free big breakfast, and just enough company is... More

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife and I are not typically "B&B people." But the chains have invested so heavily and universally in "plush" (read "mush") mattresses, that our spines can no longer tolerate the bedding they provide. Terrible. Staying at the Munro House was great, and not simply because of comfort. Mike and Lori are great hosts. The breakfasts are famous, as others... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike V, Owner at The Munro House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We were happy to switch you to an available room with a bed more to your liking. When you are comfortable, we are happy. We love telling the cool stories that go along with living in this great old house and enjoy sending people out in our great little town to find interesting things... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We were made to feel at home from the moment we walked in. Do NOT miss breakfast .... The food and "show" were both amazing ;). The town is very small so we brought our own food and snacks into the room. The 12 fireplaces are beautiful and the entire house is warm and inviting. Rumored to have ghosts ...... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike V, Owner at The Munro House, responded to this review

We take our hospitality as a top priority when guests arrive and are glad you enjoyed your time with us. The ghost stories are just rumors--not told by me--no ghosts in our house. I know. I live here. More

East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Munro House for a murder mystery weekend just after Thanksgiving. Mike and Lori were so kind and accommodating. Mike is very knowledgeable about the history of the home, Lori is a great storyteller, and both were exceptionally hospitable. The lodging was very comfortable, and the food was just AMAZING. Don't sleep through breakfast, you'll... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike V, Owner at The Munro House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Munro House. November is murder mystery month, and it sounds like you were able to take advantage of our GOBBLER discount over Thanksgiving weekend. It is our pleasure to provide a quality experience and fun time for all of our guests. Our recipes have been very well received. We are proud of our signature items.... More

Flint, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at The Munro House last weekend and had a great time. The owners, Mike and Lori, were a delight and very accomodating. The food they prepared was plentiful and delicious. The rooms all have fireplaces, which added to the peaceful ambiance and were quaint and very clean. We went for the Murder Mystery Weekend and had a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike V, Owner at The Munro House, responded to this review

November is murder mystery month at Munro House. We judge the quality of the event by the amount of laughter coming out of the dining room. It sounds like you had a good time, and that makes us happy. Thank you for staying with us. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Munro House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Munro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Munro House

Address: 202 Maumee Street, Jonesville, MI 49250
Location: United States > Michigan > Jonesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Munro House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Munro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Munro House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer